Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Reagents
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts."
"In the Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis series, you'll find the entire contents of all print volumes, including an A to Z listing of all reagents cited in synthetic literature with concise descriptions and illustrations of chemical reactions. To save you time in researching, all information about a particular reagent is collected in one single article." (publisher's description)
"The in-lab preparation of certain chemical reagents provides a number of advantages over purchasing various commercially prepared samples. This is especially true in isolated regions where acquiring the necessary substances from overseas can cause undue delay and inconvenience due to restrictions on the transportation of hazardous chemicals. An invaluable resource for chemists in a variety of environments, Small-Scale Synthesis of Laboratory Reagents with Reaction Modeling presents efficient, sensible, and versatile methods for the laboratory preparation of common chemical reagents. Rapid, reliable synthesis Designed to facilitate smooth experimentation in the lab, this volume presents preparations chosen for their short duration, availability of apparatus, high yield, and high purity of the product. Adding an educational component, the book also discusses fundamental processes in inorganic chemistry, presenting original modeling of reactions and their practical implementation. Theoretical aspects are discussed to a greater extent than is usual in synthetic literature in cases where there is a direct impact on experimental parameters, such as the reaction time, yield, and purity of the product. More than 30 convenient, time-saving preparations Focusing on simple synthesis of high-purity reagents, the book contains over 30 presentations, a substantial number of which are mathematically modeled for the first time. Most syntheses can be carried out in one day using common laboratory equipment, making this volume a valuable and time-saving tool." (publisher's description)