Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Organic chemistry
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
"A companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, the Organic Chemist's Desk Reference is essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a succinct guide to the 'nuts and bolts' of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. This third edition reflects changes in the dissemination of chemical information, revisions to chemical nomenclature, and the adoption of new techniques in NMR spectroscopy, which have taken place since publication of the last edition in 2011. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research." (publisher's description)
"The DOC database contains nearly 99,000 entries comprising more than 292,000 organic compounds. It includes the following compounds: the basic fundamental organic compounds of simple structure, compounds of industrial or commercial value including currently important pharmaceuticals, pesticides, monomers, etc., Compounds frequently encountered in the laboratory as solvents, reagents or starting materials, a limited selection of the most important and well-documented natural products, important biochemicals, other compounds of particular interest because of their chemical, structural or biological properties, including many newly synthesized compounds of active research interest." (publisher's description)
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of 11 cutting-edge interactive chemistry databases. One-stop searching allows users to perform searches on chemical terms on chemical structures simultaneously across all databases within CHEMnetBASE except for Polymers: A Properties Database. It is also possible to search individual resources within CHEMnetBASE.
e-EROS combines the complete text of the encyclopedia with the sophistication of a database including all the chemical reactions and structures. It contains a database of around 50,000 reactions and around 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. Offers systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. Kept up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts.
Handbook of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Second Edition updates and expands the author's popular 2007 work, Synthetic Organic Chemist's Companion. This new handbook provides valuable, practical guidance; incorporates corrections, and includes coverage on important topics, such as lyophylization, crystallization, precipitation, HPLC detectors, gases, and microwave reactions. The book maintains the useful organization of the author's earlier work, beginning with a basic overview and walking through every practical step of the process of organic synthesis, from reagents, solvents, and temperature control, to documentation, implementation, purification, and analytical methods for the product. From planning and setting up reactions, to recording them, the book provides insight and valuable guidance into every step of the process.
"Organized to provide maximum utility to the bench synthetic chemist. The editor is well-known for his work in exploring, developing, and applying organopalladium chemistry. Contributors include over 24 world authorities in the field." (publisher's description)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization." (publisher's description)
"The second edition of Comprehensive Organic Synthesis builds upon the highly respected first edition in drawing together the new common themes that underlie the many disparate areas of organic chemistry. These themes support effective and efficient synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. Fully revised and updated, this new set forms an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they are experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis. It contains over 170 articles across nine volumes, including detailed analysis of core topics such as bonds, oxidation, and reduction. Includes over 10,000 schemes and images. Important growth areas-including combinatorial chemistry, new technological, industrial, and green chemistry developments are covered extensively." (publisher's description) Also see 1st edition: https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/582933
"Although many books exist on the subject of chiral chemistry, they only briefly cover chiral synthesis and analysis as a minor part of a larger work, to date there are none that pull together the background information and latest advances in one comprehensive reference work. Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field, and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the 9 volumes provide an in depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. These chapters will form an invaluable resource for advanced students/researchers new to an area and those who need further background or answers to a particular problem, particularly in the development of drugs. Chirality research today is a central theme in chemistry and biology and is growing in importance across a number of disciplinary boundaries. These studies do not always share a unique identifying factor or subject themselves to clear and concise definitions. This work unites the different areas of research and allows anyone working or researching in chiral chemistry to navigate through the most essential concepts with ease, saving them time and vastly improving their understanding. " (publisher's description)
"Structured in three parts this manual recollects efficient organocatalytic transformations around clear principles that meet actual standard in asymmetric synthesis. Chapters were written by acknowledged leaders of the organocatalysis field, and are presented in a concise way. Volume 1: Privileged Catalysts gives insight to readers to the continuously increasing variety of catalysts, and the relatively complex interactions that make organocatalytic reactions selective. An appendix recollects catalyst structures with the adequate cross-references. Volume 2: Activations covers the fundamental activation types (non-covalent and covalent activations) and helps understanding the importance of physical parameters, and in particular, the role of water, that influences reactivity and selectivity. Volume 3: Reactions and Applications highlights transformations by reaction types. The final part of this volume is dedicated to application in multistep synthesis and industrial applications. Considering the ever increasing interest in the organocatalysis field, the book aims addressing to a large audience: to academic, and, industrial researchers, students and teachers who are interested in synthetic organic chemistry at advanced level. This book provides non-specialists with an introduction to the topic as well as serving as a valuable source for newcomers and researchers searching for an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of this promising area of synthetic organic chemistry." (publisher's description)
"Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry III (CHEC-III) is a 15-volume reference work which provides the first point of entry to the literature for all scientists interested in heterocyclic ring systems. Since publishing in 1984, Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry (CHEC) has become the standard work on the subject, indispensable to all serious readers in the interdisciplinary areas where heterocycles are employed. CHEC-III builds on and complements the material in CHEC and CHEC-II and is designed to be used both alone and in conjunction with these two works. Written by leading scientists who have evaluated and summarized the most important data published over the last decade, Comprehensive Heterocyclic Chemistry III will be an invaluable addition to the reference library of those working with heterocyclic ring systems. Reviews advances in the properties, structure, synthesis, reactivity and applications of the most important heterocyclic ring systems Contains over 250 specialist reviews, logically organized by size and heteroatom content of the heterocyclic ring Saves researchers valuable time and effort through carefully structured critical reviews of the literature by experts." (publisher's description) Also see 1st edition: https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/1532816; 2nd edition: https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3319564
"Expert evaluated content focusing on subjects of particular current interest. The series highlights new angles and perspectives of importance in organic synthesis. The Science of Synthesis Reference Library comprises volumes covering special topics of organic chemistry in a modular fashion, with six main classifications: (1) classical, (2) advances, (3) transformations, (4) applications, (5) structures, and (6) techniques." (publisher's description)
"The two-part, fifth edition of Advanced Organic Chemistry has been substantially revised and reorganized for greater clarity. The material has been updated to reflect advances in the field since the previous edition, especially in computational chemistry. Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type. It can stand-alone; together, with Part A: Structure and Mechanisms, the two volumes provide a comprehensive foundation for the study in organic chemistry. Companion websites provide digital models for students and exercise solutions for instructors." (publisher's description)
"The new, revised and updated 7th edition of March's Advanced Organic Chemistry clearly explains the theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the most comprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions. The first five chapters deal with the structure of organic compounds and discuss important organic chemistry bonds, fundamental principles of conformation, and stereochemistry of organic molecules, and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry. Chapters 6 to 9 are concerned with general principles of mechanism in organic chemistry, including acids and bases, photochemistry, sonochemistry and microwave irradiation, and finally the relationship between structure and reactivity. The last 10 chapters cover the nature and the scope of organic reactions and their mechanisms." (publisher's description)
"This modern textbook makes explicit the many connections between physical organic chemistry and critical fields such as organometallic chemistrry, materials chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, and biochemistry. In the latter part of the twentieth century, the field of physical organic chemistry went through dramatic changes, with an increased emphasis on noncovalent interactions and their roles in molecular recognition, supramolecular chemistry, and biology; the development of new materials with novel structural features; and the use of computational methods. Contemporary chemists must be just as familiar with these newer fields as with the more established classical topics. Modern Physical Organic Chemistry is intended to bridge that gap. In addition to covering thoroughly the core areas of physical organic chemistry - structure and mechanism - the book will escort the practitioner of organic chemistry into a field that has been thoroughly updated. The foundations and applicabilities of modern computational methods are also developed." (publisher's description)
"Jiro Tsuji, one of the pioneers in this field of organic synthesis, provides synthetic organic chemists with a remarkable overview of the many applications of organopalladium chemistry. Tsuji discusses the recent developments in the field as well as the explosive growth over the last five years. Highlighting the most recent discoveries in this rapidly expanding field, this book focuses on new aspects of organopalladium chemistry, putting emphasis on synthetic applications Investigates the new perspectives on the synthetic uses of contemporary organopalladium chemistry. This volume, together with Innovations in Organic Synthesis, Tsuji's previous title, provides complete coverage of over 40 years of organopalladium chemistry. This book is an essential reference source and companion for students, and both industrial and academic research chemists working in organic synthesis, particularly on synthesis of natural products and medicinal compounds. Those studying development of new synthetic methodology and organometallic chemistry will also find this book valuable." (publisher's description)
"This book provides a critical survey of protecting group methodology and focuses on the most widely used protecting groups for the most common functional groups. It provides an essential learning tool for advanced students and professionals in a broad range of disciplines involving organic synthesis. Protecting Groups is organized by functional group and places special emphasis on deprotection conditions applied to complex structures where selectivity is a key issue. The discussion of each protecting group is divided into three sections beginning with deprotection conditions, followed by methods of formation, and ending with some characteristic NMR data to aid the reader in identifying the contribution from the protecting group. At the end of each chapter is a list of reviews for the topics covered in that chapter." (publisher's description)
"Kurti and Czako have produced an indispensable tool for specialists and non-specialists in organic chemistry. This innovative reference work includes 250 organic reactions and their strategic use in the synthesis of complex natural and unnatural products. Reactions are thoroughly discussed in a convenient, two-page layout--using full color. Its comprehensive coverage, superb organization, quality of presentation, and wealth of references, make this a necessity for every organic chemist." (publisher's description)