"Prudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning. Developed by experts from academia and industry, with specialties in such areas as chemical sciences, pollution prevention, and laboratory safety, Prudent Practices in the Laboratory provides guidance on planning procedures for the handling, storage, and disposal of chemicals. The book offers prudent practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more. Prudent Practices in the Laboratory will continue to serve as the leading source of chemical safety guidelines for people working with laboratory chemicals: research chemists, technicians, safety officers, educators, and students." (publisher's description)

"Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals." (publisher's description)

"Since its publication in the 1950s, this important resource is considered the bible by those who need to evaluate the potential hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its twelfth edition, Sax's Dangerous Properties provides extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances, with the addition of nearly 2,400 new substances. Each entry includes a DPIM code, hazard rating, entry name, CAS number, DOT number, molecular formula, molecular weight, line structural formula, description of material and physical properties, and synonyms. The book also contains Immediately Dangerous to Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals." (publisher's description)

"Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Information is the most vital resource anyone can have when dealing with potential hazardous substance accidents, spillages, fires, or acts of terror. It is also essential for the safe day-to-day operation of chemical processes and environmental protection. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations." (publisher's description)

“A portable and easy-to-use reference on reactive substances commonly found in commerce, the Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities, Third Edition compiles hard-to-find data on over 11,000 chemical compounds, providing chemists, technicians, and engineers a thorough, lightning-quick resource to use during experimental preparation and in the event of an emergency. It contains nearly 9,000 chemical incompatibility profiles covering flammability, violent and explosive binary reactions, incompatibilities, and reactions that may result from physical change. Alphabetical organization provides concise incompatibility profiles for thousands of commonly used commercial chemicals, allowing readers to look up a given substance and instantly learn whether it is incompatible with common materials, other chemical substances, structural materials, or personal protective equipment." (publisher's description)