"This book continues the legacy of a well-established reference within the pharmaceutical industry - providing perspective, covering recent developments in technologies that have enabled the expanded use of biomarkers, and discussing biomarker characterization and validation and applications throughout drug discovery and development." (publisher's description)

"The Drug Discovery Handbook gives professionals a tool to facilitate drug discovery by bringing together, for the first time in one resource, a compendium of methods and techniques that need to be considered when developing new drugs. This comprehensive, practical guide presents an explanation of the latest techniques and methods in drug discovery, including: Genomics, proteomics, high-throughput screening, and systems biology Summaries of how these techniques and methods are used to discover new central nervous system agents, antiviral agents, respiratory drugs, oncology drugs, and more Specific approaches to drug discovery, including problems that are encountered, solutions to these problems, and limitations of various methods and techniques The thorough coverage and practical, scientifically valid problem-solving approach of Drug Discovery Handbook will serve as an invaluable aid in the complex task of developing new drugs." (publisher's description)

"Drug discovery is a constantly developing and expanding area of research. Developed to provide a comprehensive guide, the Handbook of Medicinal Chemistry covers the past, present and future of the entire drug development process. Highlighting the recent successes and failures in drug discovery, the book helps readers to understand the factors governing modern drug discovery from the initial concept through to a marketed medicine. With chapters covering a wide range of topics from drug discovery processes and optimization, development of synthetic routes, pharmaceutical properties and computational biology, the handbook aims to enable medicinal chemists to apply their academic understanding to every aspect of drug discovery. Each chapter includes expert advice to not only provide a rigorous understanding of the principles being discussed, but to provide useful hints and tips gained from within the pharmaceutical industry. This expertise, combined with project case studies, highlighting and discussing all areas of successful projects, make this an essential handbook for all those involved in pharmaceutical development." (publisher's description)

"A lot of hard-won knowledge is laid out here in a brief but informative way. Every topic is well referenced, with citations from both the primary literature and relevant resources from the internet." Review from Nature Chemical Biology Written by the founders of the SPARK program at Stanford University, this book is a practical guide designed for professors, students and clinicians at academic research institutions who are interested in learning more about the drug development process and how to help their discoveries become the novel drugs of the future. Often many potentially transformative basic science discoveries are not pursued because they are deemed 'too early' to attract industry interest. There are simple, relatively cost-effective things that academic researchers can do to advance their findings to the point that they can be tested in the clinic or attract more industry interest. Each chapter broadly discusses an important topic in drug development, from preclinical work in assay design through clinical trial design, regulatory issues and marketing assessments. After the practical overview provided here, the reader is encouraged to consult more detailed texts on specific topics of interest." (publisher's description)

"Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides a comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This authoritative resource incorporates the entire drug development cycle (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.), alongside medicinal chemistry and drug discovery." (publisher's description)

"Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry III provides a contemporary and forward-looking critical analysis and summary of recent developments, emerging trends, and recently identified new areas where medicinal chemistry is having an impact. The discipline of medicinal chemistry continues to evolve as it adapts to new opportunities and strives to solve new challenges. These include drug targeting, biomolecular therapeutics, development of chemical biology tools, data collection and analysis, in silico models as predictors for biological properties, identification and validation of new targets, approaches to quantify target engagement, new methods for synthesis of drug candidates such as green chemistry, development of novel scaffolds for drug discovery, and the role of regulatory agencies in drug discovery. Reviews the strategies, technologies, principles, and applications of modern medicinal chemistry Provides a global and current perspective of today's drug discovery process and discusses the major therapeutic classes and targets Includes a unique collection of case studies and personal assays reviewing the discovery and development of key drugs." (publisher's description)

"Encyclopedia of Drug Metabolism and Interactions discusses all pre-clinical, clinical, toxicological, regulatory and marketing perspectives of drug metabolism and interactions. This state-of-the-art reference covers the various types of enzymes that can be inhibited or induced and their impact on drug toxicity and altered response for both animal models and humans. The impact of genetic differences and non-genetic factors on drug metabolism is also described." (publisher's description)

"Emphasizing synthetic strategy and practice, Stereoselective Synthesis of Drugs and Natural Products features experimental procedures for stereoselective synthetic reactions applicable to drug targets and natural products. Compiling material from leading contributors into one cohesive resource, this practical resource on synthetic methodology, reaction mechanisms, and applications for medicinal chemistry and drug discovery explores strategy and interdisciplinary work, laboratory synthesis for natural products, the preparative aspects of stereoselective synthesis for drugs, natural products, and potential biologically active compounds. The text also features experimental procedures for the different reaction methods covered." (publisher's description)

"Extensive experimentation and high failure rates are a well-recognised downside to the drug discovery process, with the resultant high levels of inefficiency and waste producing a negative environmental impact. Sustainable and Green Approaches in Medicinal Chemistry reveals how medicinal and green chemistry can work together to directly address this issue. After providing essential context to the growth of green chemistry in relation to drug discovery in Part 1, the book goes on to identify a broad range of practical methods and synthesis techniques in Part 2. Part 3 reveals how medicinal chemistry techniques can be used to improve efficiency, mitigate failure and increase the environmental benignity of the entire drug discovery process, whilst Parts 4 and 5 discuss natural products and microwave-induced chemistry. Finally, the role of computers in drug discovery is explored in Part 6." (publisher's description)

"This book covers all aspects of the medicinal chemistry of the latest drugs, and the cutting-edge science associated with them. Following the editors' 3 successful drug synthesis books, this provides expert analysis of the pros and cons of different synthetic routes and demystifies the process of modern drug discovery for practitioners and researchers. Summarizes for each drug: respective disease area, important properties and SAR (structure-activity relationship), and chemical synthesis routes / options Includes case studies in each chapter Illustrates how chemistry, biology, pharmacokinetics, and a host of disciplines come together to produce successful medicines. Explains the advantages of process synthesis versus the synthetic route for drug discovery." (publisher's description)

"The Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Fourth Edition provides a practical and comprehensive overview of the daily issues facing pharmaceutical researchers and chemists. In addition to its thorough treatment of basic medicinal chemistry principles, this updated edition provides new and expanded coverage of the latest technologies and approaches in drug discovery. With topics like high content screening, scoring, docking, binding free energy calculations, polypharmacology, QSAR, chemical collections and databases, and much more, this book is the go-to reference for all academic and pharmaceutical researchers who need a complete understanding of medicinal chemistry and its application to drug discovery and development." (publisher's description)

"With the most comprehensive and up-to-date overview of structure-based drug discovery covering both experimental and computational approaches, Structural Biology in Drug Discovery: Methods, Techniques, and Practices describes principles, methods, applications, and emerging paradigms of structural biology as a tool for more efficient drug development. Coverage includes successful examples, academic and industry insights, novel concepts, and advances in a rapidly evolving field. The combined chapters, by authors writing from the frontlines of structural biology and drug discovery, give readers a valuable reference and resource that: Presents the benefits, limitations, and potentiality of major techniques in the field such as X-ray crystallography, NMR, neutron crystallography, cryo-EM, mass spectrometry and other biophysical techniques, and computational structural biology Includes detailed chapters on druggability, allostery, complementary use of thermodynamic and kinetic information, and powerful approaches such as structural chemogenomics and fragment-based drug design Emphasizes the need for the in-depth biophysical characterization of protein targets as well as of therapeutic proteins, and for a thorough quality assessment of experimental structures Illustrates advances in the field of established therapeutic targets like kinases, serine proteinases, GPCRs, and epigenetic proteins, and of more challenging ones like protein-protein interactions and intrinsically disordered proteins." (publisher's description)