Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Patent databases
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
Index opens the power of patent searching to all levels of an organisation. It offers an unrivalled breadth of coverage by combining value-added patent records from Derwent World Patents Index with patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. This unique merged data set, comprising 14.3 million inventions from 41 worldwide patent-issuing authorities, is accessed through an intuitive web interface. You can browse easily between patent records without using a complicated search language, and explore related ideas using citation links.
Espacenet's worldwide database enables you to search for information about published patent applications from over 90 different countries and regions. Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide--most of them patent applications rather than granted patents--from 1836 today. Patent applications normally represent the first publication of a new idea, appearing ahead of journal articles and before new products reach the market. Other information includes: patent family information, telling you if similar patents have been claimed in other countries; legal status information, helping you find out whether and in what countries a patent is in force; references to other kinds of technical literature (non-patent literature); citing documents (other documents that have cited the document you are looking at); and links to the European Patent Register for European and Euro-PCT documents. It is possible to print and download documents.
Cambia created the Lens to create transparency in the patent system, and to serve the public worldwide as a platform to explore, understand and improve its impact on society. The Lens informatics tools can assist the user to determine the boundaries of intellectual property constraints on deliverable innovations, and usable building blocks for future innovations. The key to the Lens is that Cambia is creating an integrated, worldwide, open-source and open access resource that will allow community-developed analytical tools, patent landscapes and decision support software to be created and shared. The Lens enables cartography of the innovation landscape, allowing navigation from an idea to a product (or service) and back again. This makes producing new value in society quicker and more affordable. In short, our goal is to make the world's innovation system navigable by anyone for anything. The Lens is an extension of work started by Cambia in 1999 to render the global patent system more transparent, called the Patent Lens. The Lens is a greatly expanded and updated version of the Patent Lens with a vastly more data and greater analytical capabilities