"The completely revised third edition of this four-volume classic is fully updated and now includes such topics as as CH-activation and multicomponent reactions. It describes the most important reaction types, new methods and recent developments in catalysis. The internationally renowned editors and a plethora of international authors (including Nobel laureate R. Noyori) guarantee high quality content throughout the book. A "must read" for everyone in academia and industry working in this field." (publisher's description)

"Now in 8 volumes, the completely revised and expanded second edition of this much-cited handbook collates the knowledge available on heterogeneous catalysis, providing easy-to-find yet comprehensive information. The new edition contains some 80% more material and takes into account the latest developments in the field, making it still the most up-to-date compendium in heterogeneous catalysis. More than 300 leading experts -- a veritable "Who's Who" in catalysis -- contributed to this unrivalled masterpiece, covering all aspects of the subject, from the physico-chemical foundations to large-scale industrial applications. With its straightforward presentation, this is an essential and indispensable tool for every scientist working in this area." (publisher's description)

The Handbook of Green Chemistry is a landmark publication in green chemistry. Edited by one of the inventors of the 12 principles of Green Chemistry, Paul Anastas, the Handbook of Green Chemistry is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents and green processes. The Handbook of Green Chemistry covers highly topical areas in green chemistry such as feedstocks, green chemical engineering, green catalysis (homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis), separation techniques and solvents like supercritical fluids, ionic liquids and reactions in water. It covers the big environmental and product design issues faced by chemists such as how to make nanoscience greener, design safer, sustainable and less toxic chemicals and make chemical synthesis a greener and more sustainable process. The contents of the following print volumes are available online in the Handbook of Green Chemistry: Volume 1: Green Catalysis - Homogeneous Catalysis; Volume 2: Green Catalysis - Heterogeneous Catalysis; Volume 3: Green Catalysis - Biocatalysis; Volume 4: Green Solvents - Supercritical Solvents; Volume 5: Green Solvents - Reactions in Water; Volume 6: Green Solvents - Ionic Liquids; Volume 7: Green Processes - Green Synthesis; Volume 8: Green Processes - Green Nanoscience; Volume 9: Green Processes - Designing Safer Chemicals; Volume 10: Tools for Green Chemistry; Volume 11: Green Metrics Volume; 12: Green Chemical Engineering. (publisher's description)

"Covering the complete breadth of the olefin metathesis reaction. The second edition of the ultimate reference in this field is completely updated and features more than 80% new content, with the focus on new developments in the field, especially in industrial applications. No other book covers the topic in such a comprehensive manner and in such high quality, and this new edition retains the three-volume format: Catalyst Development, Applications in Organic Synthesis and Polymer Synthesis. Edited by a Nobel laureate in the field, and with a list of contributors that reads like a "Who's-Who" of metathesis, this is an indispensable one-stop reference for organic, polymer and industrial chemists, as well as chemists working with organometallics." (publisher's description)

"Provides a complete and accessible A to Z collection of information on catalysis This updated and enlarged must-have edition of a classic book on catalysis explains the important terms of all aspects of the subject - including biocatalysis, homogeneous catalysis, heterogeneous catalysis - as well as the terms associated with it. It also looks at related topics like spectroscopy or analytical methods. Featuring 20% more content than the previous edition, it comprehensively covers the topic in a clear and concise manner, and includes abbreviations, brief biographic entries of important scientists who have worked in catalysis, trade names, important catalytic processes, named reactions, reactions, and other important keywords in the general field of catalysis. Written by more than 200 top scientists and with more than 15,000 entries on all aspects of catalysis, Catalysis from A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia, 5th Edition is filled with figures, tables, cross-references, and references. It covers acids, ligands, catalytic reactions in organic synthesis, kinetics and thermodynamics of catalytic reactions, and catalyst labeling. The book also looks at theoretical backgrounds of catalytic reactions, industrial catalytic processes, autoclaves, colloids, nanomaterials, spectroscopically methods for catalyst analysis, and more." (publisher's description)

"Now including Supplement 1  Comprehensive Asymmetric Catalysis comprehensively and critically reviews methods for the catalytic preparation of chiral organic compounds. This major reference set presents the state of the art in this area. The internationally acclaimed editors and the contributors, who are recognized experts in the field, guarantee the authoritative and timely coverage. This set is not only the principal reference source for synthetic organic chemists, but also for all scientific researchers who require chiral compounds in their work (for example in biochemical investigations and molecular medicine) as well as for pharmaceutical chemists, agricultural chemists and other industrial researchers who prepare chiral compounds. Since the publication of the first edition 1999 research rapidly went on. These results are summarised in the first supplement which is added to the three volume bookset." (publisher's description)

"Comprehensive Biological Catalysis: A Mechanistic Reference offers a comprehensive review of enzyme catalysis from a chemical perspective. This multi-volume work thoroughly covers background chemistry. The first volume concentrates on reactions of electrophilic carbon, phosphorous and sulfur. Volume Two provides reactions of nucleophilic/carbanoid carbon. Volume Three highlights radical reactions and oxidation/reduction. The final volume, or the chemical lexicon, consists of clear explanations of alphabetically-arranged specialized terms and concepts. A team of highly regarded authors and editors were gathered together to contribute to a clear and consistent coverage of enzyme catalysis." (publisher's description)

"Although many books exist on the subject of chiral chemistry, they only briefly cover chiral synthesis and analysis as a minor part of a larger work, to date there are none that pull together the background information and latest advances in one comprehensive reference work. Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field, and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the 9 volumes provide an in depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. These chapters will form an invaluable resource for advanced students/researchers new to an area and those who need further background or answers to a particular problem, particularly in the development of drugs. Chirality research today is a central theme in chemistry and biology and is growing in importance across a number of disciplinary boundaries. These studies do not always share a unique identifying factor or subject themselves to clear and concise definitions. This work unites the different areas of research and allows anyone working or researching in chiral chemistry to navigate through the most essential concepts with ease, saving them time and vastly improving their understanding. " (publisher's description)

"Structured in three parts this manual recollects efficient organocatalytic transformations around clear principles that meet actual standard in asymmetric synthesis. Chapters were written by acknowledged leaders of the organocatalysis field, and are presented in a concise way. Volume 1: Privileged Catalysts gives insight to readers to the continuously increasing variety of catalysts, and the relatively complex interactions that make organocatalytic reactions selective. An appendix recollects catalyst structures with the adequate cross-references. Volume 2: Activations covers the fundamental activation types (non-covalent and covalent activations) and helps understanding the importance of physical parameters, and in particular, the role of water, that influences reactivity and selectivity. Volume 3: Reactions and Applications highlights transformations by reaction types. The final part of this volume is dedicated to application in multistep synthesis and industrial applications. Considering the ever increasing interest in the organocatalysis field, the book aims addressing to a large audience: to academic, and, industrial researchers, students and teachers who are interested in synthetic organic chemistry at advanced level. This book provides non-specialists with an introduction to the topic as well as serving as a valuable source for newcomers and researchers searching for an up-to-date and comprehensive overview of this promising area of synthetic organic chemistry." (publisher's description)

"The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included. The Encyclopedia of Catalysis has been conceived to provide basic information for scientists, engineers, and students interested in learning the principles and scope of catalysis, as well as for practitioners interested in applying catalysis outside their area of expertise." (publisher's description)

"In the past 12 years since its publication, Concepts of Modern Catalysis and Kinetics has become a standard textbook for graduate students at universities worldwide. Emphasizing fundamentals from thermodynamics, physical chemistry, spectroscopy, solid state chemistry and quantum chemistry, it introduces catalysis from a molecular perspective, and stresses how it is interwoven with the field of reaction kinetics. The authors go on to explain how the world of reacting molecules is connected to the real world of industry, by discussing the various scales (nano - micro - macro) that play a role in catalysis. Reflecting the modern-day focus on energy supplies, this third edition devotes attention to such processes as gas-to-liquids, coal-to-liquids, biomass conversion and hydrogen production." (publisher's description)

"This book is based on a graduate course and suitable as a primer for any newcomer to the field, this book is a detailed introduction to the experimental and computational methods that are used to study how solid surfaces act as catalysts. Features include: * First comprehensive description of modern theory of heterogeneous catalysis * Basis for understanding and designing experiments in the field * Allows reader to understand catalyst design principles * Introduction to important elements of energy transformation technology * Test driven at Stanford University over several semesters." (publisher's description)

"Homogeneous Catalysis: Understanding the Art gives real insight in the many new and old reactions of importance. It is based on the author's extensive experience in both teaching and industrial practice. Each chapter starts with the basic knowledge and ends with up-to-date concepts. The focus of this book is on concepts, but many key industrial processes and applications that are important in the laboratory synthesis of organic chemicals are used as examples. The full range of topics is covered, such as fine chemicals, bulk chemicals, polymers, high-tech polymers, pharmaceuticals, but also important techniques and reaction types among other aspects. For a few reactions the process schemes, environmental concerns and safety aspects are included, to encourage catalyst researchers to think about these topics at an early stage of their projects and to communicate with chemical engineers, customers and the end-users." (publisher's description)

"Written by one of the world's leading experts on the topic, this advanced textbook is the perfect introduction for newcomers to this exciting field. Concise and clear, the text focuses on such key aspects as kinetics, reaction mechanism and surface reactivity, concentrating on the essentials. The author also covers various catalytic systems, catalysis by design, and activation-deactivation. A website with supplementary material offers additional figures, original material and references." (publisher's description)