"With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this online reference is the largest, most up-to-date work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures." (publisher's description)

"In this fifth edition of Jack Jie Li's seminal "Name Reactions", the author has added twenty-seven new name reactions to reflect the recent advances in organic chemistry. As in previous editions, each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism and supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially from review articles. Now with addition of many synthetic applications, this book is not only an indispensable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, but is also a good reference book for all organic chemists in both industry and academia. Unlike other books on name reactions in organic chemistry, Name Reactions, A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms and Synthetic Applications focuses on the reaction mechanisms. It covers over 320 classical as well as contemporary name reactions." (publisher's description)

"This book continues the well-established and authoritative series on name reactions in organic chemistry by focusing on name reactions on ring formation. Ring formating reactions have found widespread applicability in traditional organic synthesis, medicinal/pharmaceuticals, agricultural, fine chemicals, and of late, especially in polymer science." (publisher's description)

"This practical, well-organized reference delves deeply into functional group transformations, to provide all the detailed information that researchers need. Topics are organized into the following sections: oxidation, reduction, asymmetric synthesis, and functional group manipulations Each section includes a description of the functional group transformation, the historical perspective, mechanisms, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities and applications for the reaction, experimental details, and references to the primary literature Contributors are well-known and respected for their work on the specific name reactions." (publisher's description)

"Name Reactions in Heterocyclic Chemistry II presents a comprehensive treatise on name reactions in heterocyclic chemistry, one of the most exciting—and important—fields within organic chemistry today. Provides extensive information on new and/or expanded reactions in: three- and four-membered heterocycles; five-membered heterocycles (pyrroles and pyrrolidines, indoles, furans, thiophenes, and oxazoles); and six-membered heterocycles, including pyridines, quinolines, and isoquinolines. Each section includes a description of the given reaction, as well as the relevant historical perspective, mechanism, variations and improvements, synthetic utilities, experimental details, and references to the current primary literature. The reactions covered in this book have been widely adopted in all areas of organic synthesis." (publisher's description)

"This guide provides a comprehensive and authoritative review of name reactions on homologation. Each section includes a description of the reaction, the historical perspective, a mechanism for the reaction, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities of the reaction, experimental details, and current references to the primary literature. The primary topics include organometallics (palladium, organozinc, organocopper, other organometallics), carbon-chain homologation, (rearrangement, concerted rearrangement, cationic rearrangement, anionic rearrangement, other rearrangements), radical chemistry, asymmetric C-C bond formation, and other types (such as Cannizzaro disproportionation, Eschenmoser coupling, Mannich, Mitsunobu, Passerini, and Ugi)." (publisher's description)

“This reference companion for chemistry students and researchers explains 750 established named processes and methods that are trusted and used by organic chemists to synthesize or transform molecules. This third edition includes over 100 new stereoselective and regioselective reactions. It provides key data on each transformation including background, mechanism and--uniquely to books in this area--experimental details. The book is illustrated with real synthetic examples from the literature and about 3,400 references to the primary literature to aid further reading. Extensive indexes (name, reagent, reaction) and a very useful functional group transformation index help the reader fully navigate this extensive collection of important reactions.” (publisher's description)

"Kurti and Czako have produced an indispensable tool for specialists and non-specialists in organic chemistry. This innovative reference work includes 250 organic reactions and their strategic use in the synthesis of complex natural and unnatural products. Reactions are thoroughly discussed in a convenient, two-page layout--using full color. Its comprehensive coverage, superb organization, quality of presentation, and wealth of references, make this a necessity for every organic chemist." (publisher's description)