Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Data services, repositories, journals, & organizations
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
Data services @ Stanford, data repositories, data journals, and data organizations
Published by Nature, the journal Scientific Data mandates the release of datasets accompanying our Data Descriptors, but we do not ourselves host data. Instead, we ask authors to submit datasets to an appropriate public data repository. Data should be submitted to discipline-specific, community-recognized repositories where possible, or to generalist repositories if no suitable community resource is available. Repositories included on this page have been evaluated to ensure that they meet our requirements for data access, preservation and stability. Please be aware, however, that some repositories on this page may only accept data from those funded by specific sources, or may charge for hosting data.
Presents compilations of experimental and theoretical information in atomic physics, nuclear physics, and closely related fields. The journal is devoted to the publication of tables and graphs of general usefulness to researchers in both basic and applied areas. Extensive and comprehensive compilations of experimental and theoretical results are featured. Research areas include: Collision processes, Energy levels, Interaction cross-sections, Penetration of charged particles through matter, Spectroscopy, Transition probabilities, Wavefunctions, and X rays.
CODATA is concerned with all types of data resulting from experimental measurements, observations and calculations in every field of science and technology, including the physical sciences, biology, geology, astronomy, engineering, environmental science, ecology and others. Particular emphasis is given to data management problems common to different disciplines and to data used outside the field in which they were generated.
It is the only American Chemical Society journal primarily concerned with articles containing data on the phase behavior and the physical, thermodynamic, and transport properties of well-defined materials, including complex mixtures of known compositions. While environmental and biological samples are of interest, their compositions must be known and reproducible. The scope of this Journal includes thermophysical properties obtained from quantum chemistry, molecular simulation, and molecular mechanics calculations as well as reviews of experimental techniques.
The Journal of Phase Equilibria and Diffusion (JPED) focuses on the crystallographic, chemical, diffusion, and other kinetic properties of phases. It features critical phase diagram evaluations on scientifically and industrially important alloy systems, authored by international experts, as well as critically reviewed basic and applied research results, and a survey of current literature. JPED covers the significance of diagrams as well as new research techniques, equipment, data evaluation, nomenclature, presentation, and other aspects of phase diagram preparation and use. It also offers information on such phenomena as kinetic control of equilibrium, coherency effects, impurity effects, and thermodynamic and crystallographic characteristics.
The Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data (JPCRD) is published by AIP Publishing for the U.S. Department of Commerce National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The journal provides critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation, preferably with uncertainty analysis. Critical reviews may also be included if they document a reference database, review the data situation in a field, review reference-quality measurement techniques, or review data evaluation methods.
Scientific Data is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data. Scientific Data welcomes submissions from a broad range of research disciplines, including descriptions of big or small datasets, from major consortiums to single research groups. Scientific Data primarily publishes Data Descriptors, a new type of publication that focuses on helping others reuse data, and crediting those who share.
"Keeping up with the latest research is important for the data scientist so let's work on this together. Each week or two, we will choose one or more articles to read and meet up to discuss them. This group is open to data scientists of any experience level and specialty but I expect the core group will be relatively small. I hope you are as excited about data science, machine learning, and statistics research as I am, and I look forward to meeting you!" (website description) 943 members as of 5 August 2020.
"CODATA exists to promote global collaboration to advance Open Science and to improve the availability and usability of data for all areas of research. CODATA supports the principle that data produced by research and susceptible to be used for research should be as open as possible and as closed as necessary. CODATA works also to advance the interoperability and the usability of such data: research data should be FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable)."
The Data Interest Group/Chemistry is an effort to foster a culture of data sharing within the chemistry community. In order to accomplish this vision, CRDIG is analyzing the existing landscape of chemistry data standards and chemical data repositories, evaluating and updating existing standards, analyzing the need for domain specific repositories, and advocating for and educating researchers, librarians, publishers, and vendors on the benefits of research data sharing.
The Subcommittee on Cheminformatics Data Standards (SCDS) communicates within IUPAC the cheminformatics data standards needs of the chemical community with the objective of prioritizing and efficiently meeting those needs through the collaborative efforts of relevant IUPAC Divisions, IUPAC Committees, and external scientific organizations, such as NIST, CODATA, and the Research Data Alliance (RDA).
NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
The International Science Council (ISC; formerly ICSU) established the World Data System (WDS) to address these needs and to create a common globally interoperable distributed data system that incorporates emerging technologies and multidisciplinary scientific data activities. WDS represents a worldwide ‘community of excellence’ for scientific data that ensures the long-term stewardship and provision of quality-assured data and data services to the international science community.