Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Inorganic chemistry
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
Inorganic chemistry: key resources for researchers
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of 11 cutting-edge interactive chemistry databases. One-stop searching allows users to perform searches on chemical terms on chemical structures simultaneously across all databases within CHEMnetBASE except for Polymers: A Properties Database. It is also possible to search individual resources within CHEMnetBASE.
ICSD is the world’s largest database for fully identified inorganic crystal structures. It is produced by FIZ Karlsruhe and currently contains about 185,000 crystal structures. Updates are made twice a year (in spring and in fall) with data taken from scientific journals and other sources. About 6,000 structures are added to ICSD each year. The oldest records date back to the year 1913.
“Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II reviews and examines topics of relevance to today's inorganic chemists. Covering more interdisciplinary and high impact areas, it includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience. Chapters are designed to provide a valuable, long-standing scientific resource for both advanced students new to an area and researchers who need further background or answers to a particular problem on the elements, their compounds, or applications. Chapters are written by teams of leading experts, under the guidance of the Volume Editors and the Editors-in-Chief. The articles are written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with a ready reference resource for information in the field. The chapters will not provide basic data on the elements, which is available from many sources (and the original work), but instead concentrate on applications of the elements and their compounds.” (publisher’s description)
"Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II (CCC II) is the sequel to what has become a classic in the field, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987. CCC II builds on the first and surveys new developments authoritatively in over 200 newly comissioned chapters, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest." (publisher's description)
"The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has merged with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC). EIBC incorporates all existing articles from both the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins, and will be updated." (publisher's description)
The Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry is a comprehensive treatise that provides a collection of data in the fields of inorganic, organometallic, and physical chemistry. Also included are the areas of physics, metallurgy, geochemistry, mineralogy, and crystallography. The original source of the data is referenced. The text also includes tables of numerical data, curves, and other graphic material, including diagrams of apparatus. There are three basic parts to Gmelin, the Main Series volumes, Supplements to the Main Series, and a New Supplement Series. The set is shelved by the element symbol — consult the molecular formula index to determine which volume a compound is in. Selected data from print Gmelin is available online via the Reaxys database.
"Inorganic Reactions and Methods systemizes the discipline of modern inorganic chemistry according to a plan constructed by a council of editorial advisors and consults that include three Nobel laureates (E.O. Fischer, H. Taube, and G. Wilkinson). Rather than producing a collection of unrelated review articles, this series creates a framework that reflects the creative potential of this scientific discipline. In a clear, concise, and highly organized manner, it provides an in-depth treatment of bond formation reactions categorized by element type. The series covers all areas of inorganic chemistry including chemistry of the elements, coordination compounds, donor-acceptor adducts, organometallic, polymer and solid-state material, and compounds relevant to bioinorganic chemistry. A unique index system provides users with several fast options for accessing information on forming any bond type, compound, or reaction. Coverage of both classical chemistry and the frontiers of today's research make this series a valuable reference for years to come." (publisher's description)
"For anyone working in inorganic chemistry, The Inorganic Syntheses series is the complete and up-to-date review of the area, providing the detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds. With recent volumes covering the latest hot topics and developing areas such as organometallic chemistry, main group chemistry and ligands, co-ordination chemistry and applications in material science, this series is also of use to organic and organometallic chemists, biochemists and materials scientists." (publisher's descriptin
"The Synthetic Methods of Organometallic and Inorganic Chemistry series contains experimental procedures which are organized according to the periodic table. The series is designed as a benchtop tool for all those involved in preparative organometallic, inorganic and organoelement chemistry, whether in laboratory courses, research or industrial applications. The procedures have been submitted by experts throughout the world. For each group of the periodic table, an international specialist has selected the most useful and reliable procedures, which are accompanied by a text giving an overview of the area in questions." (publisher's description)
"For more than a quarter century, Cotton and Wilkinson's Advanced Inorganic Chemistry has been the source that students and professional chemists have turned to for the background needed to understand current research literature in inorganic chemistry and aspects of organometallic chemistry. Like its predecessors, this updated Sixth Edition is organized around the periodic table of elements and provides a systematic treatment of the chemistry of all chemical elements and their compounds. It incorporates important recent developments with an emphasis on advances in the interpretation of structure, bonding, and reactivity." (publisher's description)
“This book on the structure and spectra of atoms and molecules covers quantitatively what undergraduate courses treat qualitatively. The book is thorough and well organized, coverage of individual topics is terse but detailed, the wording is clear, and there are a lot of problems from which instructor and students may choose. Having taught the material a number of times, the authors have paid attention to the confusion of their students. Thus the book can present complicated concepts in a relaxed, confident manner in such a way that real insight is gradually obtained by the student. The list of chapter titles suggests the coverage: the constituents of matter, the quantum theory, the structure of one-electron atoms and ions, many=electron atoms, molecules and chemical bonds, diatomic and polyatomic molecules, and molecular spectra.” (from book review published in J. Chem. Ed. DOI: 10.1021/ed049pA42.3)
"Retains the easy-to-read format and informal flavor of the previous editions, and includes new material on the symmetric properties of extended arrays (crystals), projection operators, LCAO molecular orbitals, and electron counting rules. Also contains many new exercises and illustrations." (publisher's description)
"Inorganic Chemistry, Third Edition, emphasizes fundamental principles, including molecular structure, acid-base chemistry, coordination chemistry, ligand field theory and solid state chemistry. The book is organized into five major themes: structure, condensed phases, solution chemistry, main group and coordination compounds, each of which is explored with a balance of topics in theoretical and descriptive chemistry. Topics covered include the hard-soft interaction principle to explain hydrogen bond strengths, the strengths of acids and bases, and the stability of coordination compounds, etc. Each chapter opens with narrative introductions and includes figures, tables and end-of-chapter problem sets. This new edition features updates throughout, with an emphasis on bioinorganic chemistry and a new chapter on nanostructures and graphene. In addition, more in-text worked-out examples encourage active learning and prepare students for exams. This text is ideal for advanced undergraduate and graduate-level students enrolled in the Inorganic Chemistry course." (publisher's description)
"Inorganic Chemistry , Fifth Edition, provides strong coverage of atomic theory and an emphasis on physical chemistry give students a firm understanding of the theoretical basis of inorganic chemistry, while a reorganized presentation of molecular orbital and group theory highlights key principles more clearly." (publisher's description)
When this classic text was first published in 1935, it fulfilled the goal of its authors "to produce a textbook of practical quantum mechanics for the chemist, the experimental physicist, and the beginning student of theoretical physics." With clarity and precision, the authors guide the student from topic to topic, covering such subjects as the wave functions for the hydrogen atom, perturbation theory, the Pauli exclusion principle, the structure of simple and complex molecules, Van der Waals forces, and systems in thermodynamic equilibrium. To insure that the student can follow the mathematical derivations, Pauling and Wilson avoid the "temptation to condense the various discussions into shorter and perhaps more elegant forms" appropriate for a more advanced audience. Introduction to Quantum Mechanics is a perfect vehicle for demonstrating the practical application of quantum mechanics to a broad spectrum of chemical and physical problems. (publisher's description)
"These notes are based on lectures on molecular orbital theory that we have presented at the University of Copenhagen and Columbia University. They were designed primarily for advanced-undergraduate and first-year graduate students as an introduction to molecular orbital theory. It is apparent that the molecular orbital theory is a very useful method of classifying the ground and excited states of small molecules. The transition metal complexes occupy a special place here, and the last chapter is devoted entirely to this subject. We believe that modern inorganic chemists should be acquainted with the methods of the theory, and that they will find approximate one-electron calculations as helpful as the organic chemists have found simple Hückel calculations." (author's description)
"This new edition of a bestselling reference on applied molecular orbital theory covers organic, organometallic, inorganic, and solid state chemistry, demonstrating how common orbital situations arise through the whole chemical spectrum. This latest edition features a new chapter on current concepts in solid state chemistry, examples of recent advances in the field, more detailed information on trends in the periodic table, expanded information on the mechanics of group theory, and a new chapter on metals. An essential reference for chemists in the areas of organic, inorganic, solid state, and computational chemistry." (publisher's description)