Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Chemistry-biology interface / Chemistry of life
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
Chemistry-biology interface / Science of life : Key resources
"Providing a powerful visual overview of the entire spectrum of human biochemistry, the third edition of the popular Color Atlas of Biochemistry is an ideal reference and study aid. New features in this edition: Increased focus on pathobiochemical aspects and clinical correlations; new and expanded sections on the immune and digestive systems, motor proteins, transport processes, blood clotting and fibrinolysis, biochemistry of fatty tissue, metabolic integration, neurotransmitters and their receptors, signal transduction, and much more; symbols for atoms, biomolecules, coenzymes, biochemical processes, and chemical reactions are color-coded to promote quick comprehension; and computer graphics that provide simulated 3D representations of important molecules, making complex subject matter tangible." (publisher's description)
"Biophysics encompasses many disciplines, including physics, chemistry, mathematics, biology, biochemistry, medicine, pharmacology, physiology, and neuroscience, and it is essential that scientists working in these varied fields are able to understand each other's research. This work will help bridge that communication gap by providing definitive introductions to a broad array of topics, uniting different areas of biophysics research - from the physical techniques for studying macromolecular structure to protein folding, muscle and molecular motors, cell biophysics, bioenergetics and more. The work will be a valuable tool for helping researchers come to grips quickly with material from related biophysics fields outside their areas of expertise, and for reinforcing their existing knowledge." (publisher's description)
"Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 5th edition, gathers a wealth of information not easily obtained, including information not found on the web. Presented in an organized, concise, and simple-to-use format, this popular reference allows quick access to the most frequently used data. Covering a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents. An entirely new section on Chemical Biology and Drug Design gathers data on amino acid antagonists, click chemistry, plus glossaries for computational drug design and medicinal chemistry. Each table is exhaustively referenced, giving the user a quick entry point into the primary literature." (publisher's description)
"The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage. Topics covered include bioenergetics; cell architecture and function; lipids, carbohydrates, membranes, and membrane proteins; metabolism, vitamins, and hormones; molecular biology; protein/enzyme structure, function and degradation; and signaling." (publisher's description)
"Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 5,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Bioethics and Philosophy, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology." (publisher's description)
"Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. This range attracts a growing number of cross-disciplinary studies, which the encyclopedia makes available to readers from diverse educational backgrounds." (publisher's description)
"The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative work whose goal is to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. The scope and structure of the work will reflect the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis. Major topics areas covered in the encyclopedia are: Chemical Views of Biology; Biomolecules within the Cell; Chemistry of Biological Processes and Systems; Chemical Biology of Cellular Compartments; Synthetic Molecules as Tools for Chemical Biology; Technologies and Techniques in Chemical Biology; and, Applications of Chemical Biology." (publisher's description)
Proteins, carbohydrates, and fatty acids resources
"Since 1971, the Protein Data Bank archive (PDB) has served as the single repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. The Worldwide PDB (wwPDB) organization manages the PDB archive and ensures that the PDB is freely and publicly available to the global community."
"The single most comprehensive knowledge base for protein scientists covers structure, function, analytical methods, engineering and medical aspects - in short: anything you will ever need to know about proteins." (publisher's description)
"Glyco3D is a family of databases covering the three-dimensional features of monosaccharides, disaccharides, oligosaccharides, polysaccharides, glycosyltransferases, lectins, monoclonal antibodies against carbohydrates, and glycosaminoglycan-binding proteins. These databases have been developed with non-proprietary software, and they are open freely to the scientific community." (website description)
"Comprehensive Glycoscience has a very broad scope and will appeal to a wide audience as it explores the interactions between biology, chemistry and molecular biology towards understanding, synthesizing and developing glycoproteins, glycolipids, proteoglyans and polysaccharides, which are important molecules in nature for controlling health and disease and food and feed. Glycocompounds reviewed include: oligosaccharides, polysaccharides, glycoproteins, glycolipids, glycoconjugates, lectins, cellulose, pectins and starch." (publisher's description)
This book contains contributions from interdisciplinary scientists to collectively address the issue of targeting carbohydrate recognition for the development of novel therapeutic and diagnostic agents. The book covers (1) biological problems involving carbohydrate recognition, (2) structural factors mediating carbohydrate recognition, (3) design and synthesis of lectin mimics that recognize carbohydrate ligands with high specificity and affinity, and (4) modulation of biological and pathological processes through carbohydrate recognition.
Molecular Nutrition: Carbohydrates presents the nutritional and molecular aspects of carbohydrates. As part of the Molecular Nutrition includes sections covering carbohydrate metabolism, carbohydrates in the diet, insulin resistance, dietary sugars, cardiometabolic risk, lipoproteins, low-carbohydrate diets, antioxidants, refined dietary sugars, fats, glucose transporters, glucose sensing, the role of phosphorylation, carbohydrate responsive binding protein, cyclic AMP, peroxisome proliferator-activated receptors, SIRT1, insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) and GIP receptor (GIPR) genes rRNA and transcription, and more. In addition, the book addresses emerging fields of molecular biology and presents important discoveries relating to diet and nutritional health. Summarizes molecular nutrition in health as related to carbohydrates Addresses emerging fields of molecular biology and presents important discoveries relating to diet and nutritional health Includes key facts, a mini dictionary of terms and summary points
"Provides an introduction to the chemistry and biochemistry of individual lipid classes, together with an incomparable compendium of information on mass spectrometry of fatty acids. In addition, there is a Literature Survey section and a personal blog on lipid science. The author's aim is to explain the importance of naturally occurring lipids to a broad scientific readership, especially young scientists, with the hope that the reading lists at the end of documents will satisfy those requiring a more specialized knowledge." (website description)
"The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies. Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids." (website description)
"Concise but complete, this mini-encyclopedia contains over 1,500 entries covering all important concepts, compounds, techniques and acronyms for quick and easy reference. Guiding readers through the ever-increasing jungle of nucleic acid science and technology, the book distills the key information out of the large body of primary literature and presents it in a single volume." (publisher's description)
"This unique reference brings together all four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics to meet your dynamic research requirements. Topics covered include genetic variation and evolution, epigenetics, the human genome, expression profiling, proteome families, structural proteomics, gene finding/gene structure, protein function and annotation, and more. The work incorporates a vast amount of topical information, profiles techniques, and presents findings from an international team of over five hundred contributors. Contains more than 450 articles plus a glossary with over 550 clear and concise definitions."
Biochemical pathways, biochemical engineering, medical biochemistry
"KEGG PATHWAY is a collection of manually drawn pathway maps representing our knowledge on the molecular interaction, reaction and relation networks for metabolism, genetic information processing, environmental information processing, cellular processes, organismal systems, human diseases, and drug development." (website description)
"REACTOME is an open-source, open access, manually curated and peer-reviewed pathway database. Our goal is to provide intuitive bioinformatics tools for the visualization, interpretation and analysis of pathway knowledge to support basic and clinical research, genome analysis, modeling, systems biology and education." (website description)
Biochemical Pathways by Dietmar Schomburg (Editor); Gerhard Michal (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
"Now in its second edition, Biochemical Pathways continues to garner praise for its clear, full-color illustrations of the pathways and networks that determine biological function. This book examines the biochemistry of bacteria, plants, and animals. It offers a quick overview of the metabolic sequences in biochemical pathways, the chemistry and enzymology of conversions, the regulation of turnover, the expression of genes, the immunological interactions, and the metabolic background of health disorders. A standard set of conventions is used in all illustrations, enabling readers to easily gather information and compare the key elements of different biochemical pathways.” (publisher's description)
"Biotechnology: A Comprehensive Treatise is a complete 12-volume set. Over thirty experts from universities, institutes, and industry describe the most recent findings in this fascinating area of molecular biology. Basic insights, methods, and safety measures relating to the production and use of artificial genes are presented. In contrast to other volumes in the series, topics not usually considered in terms of microbial fermentation technology are discussed. They include recombinant plants, transgenic animals, recombinant microorganisms, engineered proteins, and human gene therapy. The gene technological aspects of more traditional products (such as organic acids, vitamins, enzymes, pharmaceutical proteins, vaccines, hormones) are also treated in detail. " (publisher's description)
"Comprehensive Biotechnology, Third Edition unifies, in a single source, a huge amount of information in this growing field. The book covers scientific fundamentals, along with engineering considerations and applications in industry, agriculture, medicine, the environment and socio-economics, including the related government regulatory overviews." (publisher's description)
"Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering is a unique source for rapidly evolving updates on topics that are at the interface of the biological sciences and engineering. Biomaterials, biomedical devices and techniques play a significant role in improving the quality of health care in the developed world. The book covers an extensive range of topics related to biomedical engineering, including biomaterials, sensors, medical devices, imaging modalities and imaging processing. In addition, applications of biomedical engineering, advances in cardiology, drug delivery, gene therapy, orthopedics, ophthalmology, sensing and tissue engineering are explored." (publisher's description)
"The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school. All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry. Includes more than 600 illustrations." (publisher's description)
"This Work is indispensable to all serious readers in this interdisciplinary area where physics is applied in medicine and biology. Written by leading scientists who have evaluated and summarized the most important methods, principles, technologies and data within the field, Comprehensive Biomedical Physics is a vital addition to the reference libraries of those working within the areas of medical imaging, radiation sources, detectors, biology, safety and therapy, physiology, and pharmacology as well as in the treatment of different clinical conditions and bioinformatics." (publisher's description)
"Encyclopedia of Cancer, Third Edition provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the multiple facets of the disease, including research, treatment and societal impact. This new edition comprises 180 contributions from experts who present the latest in mechanisms, hallmarks of cancer, causes of cancer, prevention and control, diagnosis and therapy, pathology and the genetics of specific cancers." (publisher's description)
"This Encyclopedia presents methodologies and mechanisms involving free radicals of chemical and biological research, including applications in materials science and medicine. It offers a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines. The book consists of four themed volumes: Basic Concepts & Methodologies Synthetic Strategies & Applications Chemical Biology Polymers & Materials." (publisher's description).
"Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise “mini-review” articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated, taking into account new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism." (publisher's description)
"As porphyrins are currently employed as platforms for study of theoretical principles and applications in a wide variety of fields, the Handbook of Porphyrin Science represents a timely ongoing series dealing in detail with the synthesis, chemistry, physicochemical and medical properties and applications of polypyrrole macrocycles. This handbook will prove to be a modern authoritative treatise on the subject as it is a collection of up-to-date works by world-renowned experts in the field. Complete with hundreds of figures, tables and structural formulas, and thousands of literature citations, all researchers and graduate students in this field will find the Handbook of Porphyrin Science an essential, major reference source for many years to come." (publisher's description)
"A tool to help researchers search over 65,000 protocols and methods. It brings together content from SpringerProtocols, Nature Methods, Nature Protocols and Protocol Exchange." (publisher's description)
"This unique advanced textbook provides a clear and comprehensive overview of gene delivery, gene therapy and genetic pharmacology, with descriptions of the main gene transfer vectors and a set of selected therapeutic applications, along with safety considerations. The second edition features new groundbreaking material on genome editing using the recently discovered CRISPR/Cas9 system and on cancer immunotherapy by CAR-T cells. It also presents the historical milestone of gene therapy application in the field of severe combined immunodeficiency, and other fields of gene therapy and molecular medicine.The use of gene transfer is exponentially growing in the scientific and medical communities for day-to-day cell biology experiments and swift development of gene therapy, which is already revolutionizing medicine. In this advanced textbook, more than 30 leading scientists come together to explore these topics.This educational introduction provides the background material needed to further explore the subject as well as relevant research literature." (publisher's description)
Kevin Ahern, Indira Rajagopal, and Taralyn Tan from Oregon State University co-authored a free etextbook is aimed at helping students at all levels of biochemistry to learn in a fun and engaging format. The iBooks version can run on an iPad or a Mac running iBooks. The PDF version can be used on any computer.
Fundamentals of Molecular Structural Biology reviews the mathematical and physical foundations of molecular structural biology. Based on these fundamental concepts, it then describes molecular structure and explains basic genetic mechanisms. Given the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of research, early career researchers and those shifting into an adjacent field often require a "fundamentals" book to get them up-to-speed on the foundations of a particular field. This book fills that niche.
"Medical Biochemistry is supported by over forty years of teaching experience, providing coverage of basic biochemical concepts, including the structure and physical and chemical properties of hydrocarbons, lipids, proteins, and nucleotides in a straightforward and easy to comprehend language. The book develops these concepts into the more complex aspects of biochemistry using a systems approach, dedicating chapters to the integral study of biological phenomena, including particular aspects of metabolism in some organs and tissues, and the biochemical bases of endocrinology, immunity, vitamins, hemostasis, and apoptosis." (publisher's description)
"This book provides an introduction to physical chemistry that is directed toward applications to the biological sciences. Advanced mathematics is not required. This book can be used for either a one semester or two semester course, and as a reference volume by students and faculty in the biological sciences." (publisher's description)