Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering: Safety databases
Covers key library resources for chemists and chemical engineers who want to search bibliographic terms, chemical structures, chemical reactions, and physical properties or numeric data. Also includes software and collaborative tools as well as methods t
SEARCH TIP: Search chemical name in PubChem. View details. The identification section includes a link to the Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary Datasheet.
The Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) is based on the format described by the National Research Council in the publication "Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards" (2011). The LCSS in PubChem contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information. It is available when a GHS Classification (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals) is present for a given PubChem Compound record. The GHS classification codes and hazard pictograms are summarized in the PubChem GHS page. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and "can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website."
Presents a collection of databases related to occupational health and safety. Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provide physical and safety data on chemicals manufactured or sold in North America. CHEMINFO provides safety information for important workplace chemicals. CHEMpendium compiles chemical hazard information from a variety of sources. Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) contains citations to the literature for thousands of chemical substances. OSH References is an index to journal articles and other literature related to occupational health and safety. Canadian enviroOSH indexes Canadian national, provincial, and territorial environmental and occupational safety legislation and standards. Several additional free resources are available through the CCOHS Web Information Service.
Search to find response information for thousands of hazardous materials, including fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties. Use "My Chemicals" to build a list of chemicals. For example, substances involved in an incident response (such as a train derailment) or chemicals stored in your community. Explore reactivity, see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your MyChemicals collection are mixed together. CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for people who are involved in hazardous material incident response and planning. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer. CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals. CAMEO Chemicals was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Coast Guard's Research and Development Center."-- (source: http://cameochemicals.noaa.gov/help/cameo_chemicals_help.htm)
e-EROS combines the complete text of the encyclopedia with the sophistication of a database including all the chemical reactions and structures. It contains a database of around 50,000 reactions and around 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. Offers systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. Kept up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts.