“An indispensable reference for any practicing synthetic organic or medicinal chemist, this book continues the tradition of Greene's as comprehensive in the overall scope of coverage, providing the most relevant and useful examples to illustrate each methodology. Presents valuable material, on the application of protective groups in organic chemistry, that is not easily found by casual searching. Helps chemists to plan, investigate, and carry out organic syntheses in an efficient manner. Adds over 2800 new references to update since the publication of the last edition.” (publisher’s description)

"This book provides a critical survey of protecting group methodology and focuses on the most widely used protecting groups for the most common functional groups. It provides an essential learning tool for advanced students and professionals in a broad range of disciplines involving organic synthesis. Protecting Groups is organized by functional group and places special emphasis on deprotection conditions applied to complex structures where selectivity is a key issue. The discussion of each protecting group is divided into three sections beginning with deprotection conditions, followed by methods of formation, and ending with some characteristic NMR data to aid the reader in identifying the contribution from the protecting group. At the end of each chapter is a list of reviews for the topics covered in that chapter." (publisher's description)

"With contributions by more than 30 expert researchers, this handbook covers the whole spectrum from chemistry to cell biology and from theory to application. In so doing, it deals with a broad range of topics from the chemistry and biophysics of caged compounds to their application in time-resolved studies, comparing the properties of different caging groups. The authors describe in detail light-activation of proteins as well as nucleic acids, while a special section is devoted to multiphoton phototriggers. A must-have for every biochemist, biophysicist and molecular biologist developing and working with these novel methods." (publisher's description)

"A unique overview of the most important protecting group strategies in carbohydrate chemistry Protecting Groups: Strategies and Applications in Carbohydrate Chemistry provides a detailed account of key strategies and methodologies for the protection of carbohydrates. Divided into two parts, the first focuses on groups that are used best to protect a specific position on a carbohydrate. In the second part, specific carbohydrate residues or compounds are discussed in the context of a specific protecting group strategy used to reach the desired regioisomer. This important book: -Features chapters on protecting groups at the primary and secondary positions of carbohydrates -Describes protecting group strategies towards sialic acid derivatives, glycofuranoses, sulfated glycosaminoglycans, and cyclodextrins -Provides information on automated glycan assembly -Includes a chapter on the industrial scale synthesis of heparin analogs Written by a team of leaders in the field, Protecting Groups: Strategies and Applications in Carbohydrate Chemistry is an indispensable guide for academics and industrial researchers interested in carbohydrate and natural product synthesis, pharmaceutical chemistry, and biochemistry." (publisher's description)

"This book covers a wide range of organic transformations, e. g. reductions of unsaturated compounds, oxidation reactions, Friedel-Crafts reactions, hydroamination reactions, depolymerizations, transformations of carbon dioxide, oxidative coupling reactions, as well as C-C, C-N, and C-O bond formation reactions. A chapter on the application of zinc catalysts in total synthesis is also included. With its aim of stimulating further research and discussion in the field, this is a valuable reference for professionals in academia and industry wishing to learn about the latest developments." (publisher's description)