"This greatly-expanded new edition of a best-selling guide offers an encyclopedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations. Covers and cross references so practicing chemists can easily navigate through the book's comprehensive coverage of reagents and reactions Updates and expands a best-selling guide through the year 2011." (publisher's description)

"By systematically treating each functional group in turn the work also identifies what is not known, thus pointing the way to new research areas. Organized by the arrangement and bonding of hetero-atoms around a central carbon atom. Each chapter is written by experts who have critically read and reviewed the literature and presented the best methods of forming every known functional group." (publisher's description)

"Patai covers all aspects of the chemistry of functional groups including physical organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and techniques, reaction mechanisms, synthetic pathways, reactions and strategies plus applications in drug discovery, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry and molecular biology." (publisher's description) All volumes published from 1964 to 1995 are available online in the PATAI’S Chemistry of Functional Groups Backfile (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/bookseries/10.1002/SERIES1078).

"Organic transformations are at the heart of modern synthetic organic chemistry. The Compendium of Organic Synthetic Methods series makes the search for the appropriate or useful functional group transformation easier than ever. Both a handy reference and a valuable tool for working organic chemists in both academia and industry, the searchability of the online offering allows rapid checks for known organic transformations making workflow in the laboratory more seamless and efficient." (publisher's description)

"This practical, well-organized reference delves deeply into functional group transformations, to provide all the detailed information that researchers need. Topics are organized into the following sections: oxidation, reduction, asymmetric synthesis, and functional group manipulations Each section includes a description of the functional group transformation, the historical perspective, mechanisms, variations and improvements on the reaction, synthetic utilities and applications for the reaction, experimental details, and references to the primary literature Contributors are well-known and respected for their work on the specific name reactions." (publisher's description)

"A practical handbook for chemists performing bond forming reactions, this book features useful information on the synthesis of common functional groups in organic chemistry. Details modern functional group synthesis through carbon-heteroelement (N, O, P, S, B, halogen) bond forming reactions with a focus on operational simplicity and sustainability. Summarizes key and recent developments which are otherwise scattered across journal literature into a single source. Contains over 100 detailed preparations of common functional groups. Includes 25 troubleshooting guides with suggestions and potential solutions to common problems. Complements the text in enhanced ebook editions with tutorial videos where the author provides an introduction to microwave assisted chemistry." (publisher's description)