Skip to Main Content

Software Licensed by the Science Library: Features and Tools

The Robin Li and Melissa Ma Science Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Graphing and Data Analysis Tools Overview

There are way too many features of this program to comprehensively present them all on this guide.
Please see publisher's webpage for more details!

 

Graphing: With over 100 built-in and extended graph types and point-and-click customization of all elements, it's easy to create and customize publication-quality graphs. Add additional axes and panels, add, remove, and group data plots, etc. Batch plot new graphs with similar data structure, save the customized graph as graph template, or save customized elements as graph themes for future use. Origin supports plotting 3D graphs from XYZ data, XYY data, matrix data and virtual matrix.

Data Analysis: A rich set of tools for performing exploratory and advanced analysis of your data; several gadgets to perform exploratory analysis by interacting with data plotted in a graph; tools for linear, polynomial, and nonlinear curve fitting along with validation and goodness-of-fit tests using state-of-the-art algorithms; several features for peak analysis, from baseline correction to peak finding, peak integration, peak deconvolution and fitting are all available in the OriginPro platform.
Statistics: Origin provides a number of options for performing general statistical analysis (e.g. descriptive statistics, one-sample and two-sample hypothesis tests, and one-way and two-way analysis of variance) and advanced statistical analysis tools, such as repeated measures ANOVA, multivariate analysis, receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curves, power and sample size calculations, and nonparametric tests. Additionally, check out the Stats Advisor App which helps user to interactively choose the appropriate statistical test, analysis tool or App.

Signal Processing: A wide array of tools are available to process signal measurements. Many tools provide a preview window with zoom control, and additional interactive features such as a vertical cursor for setting cutoff frequencies. Custom analysis settings for each tool can be saved as a theme for repeat use.

Mathematics: Origin’s powerful mathematics tools can be categorized in the following groups:

  • Data Transformation
  • Interpolation and Extrapolation
  • Differentiation and Integration
  • Matrix-Based Operations

Data Processing: Origin provides multiple powerful data manipulation tools which can be used for pre-analysis data processing. The pre-analysis data processing can be carried out right after importing data and helps to get the data into a desired form for analysis in a quick and intuitive way. Generate a series of datasets by formula, or filter or extract data by setting conditions. Some statistical analysis and plotting operations require "stacking" or "unstacking" columns of data or categorizing your raw data. Origin provides, but is not limited to, these kinds of tools for data reorganization. For large datasets, you can remove duplicate data or reduce rows or columns without changing trends in your data
RS and GIS Data Handling and Graphing: Import and work with NetCDF and GeoTIFF files to analyze and process embedded data. Calculate average from the NetCDF file or pick out a specific time period in the file. Import GeoTIFF as image or import DEM data from GeoTIFF file for further analysis. Import multiple GeoTIFF images as stacked matrices for analysis. Then, process and analyze the data with a wide array of available tools. Finally, create graphs and visualizations by setting GeoTIFF as background of graph (Pie map, Bar map, Bubble) and plot raster data as Contour, Surface, etc.
Exporting and Presentation: Use Origin's tools to rescale graphs cleanly to fit journal specifications for image widths, while correcting for text label font sizes and line widths. Origin provides options for exporting and presentation of the data, from sending graphs to PowerPoint to creating movies. There are also multiple ways to create professional reports. With any of the available methods, you can format the appearance of the report as you want, adding graphs, images and analysis results as links, thus creating a custom report or template.

Batch Processing: Origin provides multiple ways to handle repetitive graphing, importing and data analysis tasks. Batch operations can be performed directly from the GUI, without the need for any programming.

  • For Importing
  • For Graphing
  • For Analysis

Programming and Connectivity: Programmatically access existing features in Origin, add custom routines and tools, or communicate with Origin from other applications. To facilitate such customizations, Origin provides the following options.

  • LabTalk
  • Origin C
  • Orglab

Connect to Other Applications:

  • Python
  • Integration with R
  • MATLAB
  • Mathematica
  • LabVIEW
  • Automation Server

Apps In OriginPro

Extend graphing and analysis functionality of Origin by installing free Apps from the File Exchange site. A selection of featured Apps are displayed below.

 

Adding Apps to Origin is easy:

  • Browse from a collection of over 125 Apps organized in categories and searchable with keywords
  • Use the App Center dialog in Origin to search for, install, and update Apps. Installed Apps will be accessible via icons in the Apps Gallery window.
  • Hover on App icon to view summary and information such as what window type is needed for the App

 

  • Last Updated: Mar 7, 2024 5:15 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.stanford.edu/scilib-software
  • Print Page