Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesSoftware Licensed by the Science Library: Cambridge Structural Database
The Robin Li and Melissa Ma Science Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.
General Overview of the CSD
Established in 1965 by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC), the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing over one million entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, this unique database of accurate 3D structures has become an essential resource to scientists around the world.
There are 2 ways to use the database:
1. Download the CSD Enterprise software (available only to faculty, staff, and current students)
Or
2. Use the WebCSD interface (available to ALL Stanford Affiliates)
 |
About WebCSD - Institutions with site-wide CSD-Core access can search the full CSD from any computer at their site using just a standard web-browser on any desktop, tablet or mobile device, and without the need to install or register any software locally. More information available at WebCSD at a glance. |
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database
This link opens in a new window
Don't miss this related databse, the ICSD is the world’s largest database for fully identified inorganic crystal structures. It is produced by FIZ Karlsruhe and currently contains about 185,000 crystal structures. Updates are made twice a year (in spring and in fall) with data taken from scientific journals and other sources. About 6,000 structures are added to ICSD each year. The oldest records date back to the year 1913.
Stanford has 5 keys for datamining, users interested in using this service should send email to the Science Library.
