"Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Information is the most vital resource anyone can have when dealing with potential hazardous substance accidents, spillages, fires, or acts of terror. It is also essential for the safe day-to-day operation of chemical processes and environmental protection. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations." (publisher's description)

"Providing a concise, yet comprehensive, reference on all aspects of industrial exposures and toxicants; this book aids toxicologists, industrial hygienists, and occupational physicians to investigate workplace health problems. Updates and expands coverage with new chapters covering regulatory toxicology, toxicity testing, physical hazards, high production volume (HPV) chemicals, and workplace drug use Includes information on occupational and environmental sources of exposure, mammalian toxicology, industrial hygiene, medical management and ecotoxicology Retains a succinct chapter format that has become the hallmark for the previous editions Distils a vast amount of information into one resource for both academics and professionals." (source: Nielsen Book Data)

"Correlating chemical structure with toxicity to humans and the environment, and the chemical structure of compounds to their hazardous properties, A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, Third Edition allows users to assess the toxicity of a substance even when no experimental data exists. Thus, it bridges the gap between hazardous materials and chemistry." (publisher's description)

"A host of chemical substances have become essential parts of human activities and requirements for societal development. Any kind of misuse and/or negligence in handling these substances can cause health disorders, poisoning, and fatalities among unprotected workers and members of the public exposed to contaminated food, water, and air. Carefully organized for ease of use, Handbook of Chemicals and Safety provides a tool for the management of a range of chemical substances commonly used, handled, stored, transported, and disposed of as wastes. Written in an accessible style with just the right amount of technical rigor, the book covers: General fundamentals and specific hazards and effects of chemical substances The basics of exposures and responses to chemical substances in the work environment Toxic responses in different body systems General perspective on the problem of chemical exposures and the possible health effects The author includes substances such as industrial solvents, pesticides, metals, air pollutants, toxic gases, drugs, and other items. He supplies the chemical abstract system (CAS) number, IUPAC name, molecular formula, synonyms and trade names, use and exposure, toxicity and health effects, and carcinogen factors. He also includes information on exposure limits, methods of proper storage, and waste disposal. An important reference on exposure to different categories of chemical substances, the book stresses the importance of preparedness in any safety program. Taking a broad and interdisciplinary approach to chemicals and workplace safety, it provides guidance on the judicious management of chemical substances." (publisher's description

“Patty's Toxicology is a major reference work that contains toxicological information on a large number of industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards. This work presents logical groupings of comprehensive toxicological data for industrial compounds, including CAS numbers, physical and chemical properties, exposure limits, and biological tolerance values for occupational exposures, making it essential for toxicologists and industrial hygienists. Patty's Toxicology covers: Introduction to the field; Metal compounds; Organic halogenated hydrocarbons and organic nitrogen compounds; Organic halogenated hydrocarbons and aliphatic carboxylic acid compounds; Ketones, alcohols, and ester compounds; Epoxy, glycol ethers, and synthetic polymer compounds; and Specialized topics in toxicological assessment. CAS numbers, CAS RN and chemical name searches have been updated for all articles within Patty's Toxicology.” (publisher’s description)

"Comprehensive Toxicology, Third Edition, discusses chemical effects on biological systems, with a focus on understanding the mechanisms by which chemicals induce adverse health effects. Organized by organ system, this comprehensive reference work addresses the toxicological effects of chemicals on the immune system, the hematopoietic system, cardiovascular system, respiratory system, hepatic toxicology, renal toxicology, gastrointestinal toxicology, reproductive and endocrine toxicology, neuro and behavioral toxicology, developmental toxicology and carcinogenesis, also including critical sections that cover the general principles of toxicology, cellular and molecular toxicology, biotransformation and toxicology testing and evaluation." (publisher's description)

"This new edition of The Dictionary and Substances and their Effects (DOSE) supersedes the renowned 1st edition, and offers the benefit of free sitewide access to the DOSE searchable web database. The 1st edition has been completely revised, updated and extended with all the latest significant data on the chemicals known to have adverse effects on lifeforms or the environment. The new edition is a must for all those who need easy access to a single source of the latest essential and fully referenced data on chemicals which are known to have significant toxic or environmental effects. The web database is ideal for targeted searches and customised data retrieval. The 2nd edition of DOSE includes new toxicity, environmental and regulatory data from the world's literature, presented in concise summaries. These new data are essential for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use and disposal of chemicals. Data on over 100 chemicals new to this edition have been added, including endocrine disruptors, food carcinogens, pesticides and compounds studied by IARC and NTP. All of the 4000 chemicals contained in the 1st edition have been reviewed. New and updated information for these chemicals includes: * occupational exposure limits for 6 countries * recent toxicity and ecotoxicity data * results of new carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and environmental fate studies * the latest regulatory requirements DOSE 2nd edition comprises 7 hardcover volumes covering over 4000 chemicals alphabetically, and includes indexes of substance names and synonyms, molecular formulae, and CAS Registry Numbers; glossaries of medical terms and Latin to English organism names; an abbreviations listing and a comprehensive guide to the types of data and their origin. Free sitewide access to the DOSE web database is included in the purchase price." (publisher's description)

The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Toxicology presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues. With thoroughly updated articles, references, and resources for recommended reading, the third edition has been expanded in length, breadth, and depth, and continues to provide an extensive overview of the many facets of toxicology.

"This new fifth edition of Information Resources in Toxicology offers a consolidated entry portal for the study, research, and practice of toxicology. Both volumes represents a unique, wide-ranging, curated, international, annotated bibliography, and directory of major resources in toxicology and allied fields such as environmental and occupational health, chemical safety, and risk assessment. The editors and authors are among the leaders of the profession sharing their cumulative wisdom in toxicology’s subdisciplines. This edition keeps pace with the digital world in directing and linking readers to relevant websites and other online tools." (publisher's description)

"This new fifth edition of Information Resources in Toxicology offers a consolidated entry portal for the study, research, and practice of toxicology. Both volumes represents a unique, wide-ranging, curated, international, annotated bibliography, and directory of major resources in toxicology and allied fields such as environmental and occupational health, chemical safety, and risk assessment. The editors and authors are among the leaders of the profession sharing their cumulative wisdom in toxicology’s subdisciplines. This edition keeps pace with the digital world in directing and linking readers to relevant websites and other online tools." (publisher's description)

"This book provides a timely overview of toxicogenomics, with special emphasis on the practical applications of this technology to the risk assessment process. Introductory sections are followed by a series of chapters highlighting practical and systematic applications of toxicogenomics in informing the risk assessment process ? including the areas of mutagenicity, carcinogenicity, endocrine toxicity, organ-specific toxicity, population monitoring, and ecotoxicology. The book concludes with approaches for the integration of this technology in safety evaluation studies, and an outlook on how toxicogenomics and complementary technologies can reframe the current risk assessment paradigm." (publisher's description)

"The rate at which toxicological data is generated is continually becoming more rapid and the volume of data generated is growing dramatically. This is due in part to advances in software solutions and cheminformatics approaches which increase the availability of open data from chemical, biological and toxicological and high throughput screening resources. However, the amplified pace and capacity of data generation achieved by these novel techniques presents challenges for organising and analysing data output. Big Data in Predictive Toxicology discusses these challenges as well as the opportunities of new techniques encountered in data science. It addresses the nature of toxicological big data, their storage, analysis and interpretation. It also details how these data can be applied in toxicity prediction, modelling and risk assessment. This title is of particular relevance to researchers and postgraduates working and studying in the fields of computational methods, applied and physical chemistry, cheminformatics, biological sciences, predictive toxicology and safety and hazard assessment." (publisher's description)

"A key resource for toxicologists across a broad spectrum of fields, this book offers a comprehensive analysis of molecular modelling approaches and strategies applied to risk assessment for pharmaceutical and environmental chemicals. Provides a perspective of what is currently achievable with computational toxicology and a view to future developments Helps readers overcome questions of data sources, curation, treatment, and how to model / interpret critical endpoints that support 21st century hazard assessment Assembles cutting-edge concepts and leading authors into a unique and powerful single-source reference Includes in-depth looks at QSAR models, physicochemical drug properties, structure-based drug targeting, chemical mixture assessments, and environmental modeling Features coverage about consumer product safety assessment and chemical defense along with chapters on open source toxicology and big data." (publisher's description)

"This new edition of a widely-read and highly-acclaimed book broadens the scope of its predecessors from a heavy focus on industrial chemicals as toxicants to include drugs, food additives, cosmetics and other types of compounds that people are exposed to daily. Also new to the 3rd edition are newer issues-of-the-day such as nanoparticulate toxicants, second hand smoke, food contamination, lead in toys, and others. As such, the book provides the basics of toxicology in easy-to-understand language as well as a fuller understanding of the daily insults to which our bodies are subjected." (publisher's description)

"Now in its updated Fourth Edition, this classic text provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of occupational and environmental medicine. The book offers accurate, current information on the history, causes, prevention, and treatment of a wide range of environmental and occupational diseases and includes numerous case studies. This edition includes more information on gene-environment interactions. The section on air pollution has been completely reorganized. Other Fourth Edition highlights include expanded coverage of government responses to the field and a new chapter on children's environmental health." (publisher's description)

“Toxicogenomics is a new, dynamic and very promising field that can help optimize toxicity analyses and streamline research into active substances. It is of interest not only for basic research and development, but also from a legal and ethical perspective. Here, experts from all the fields mentioned will find solid information provided by an international team of experienced authors. With its approach as an interdisciplinary overview, it will prove particularly useful for all those needing to develop appropriate research strategies. Coverage ranges from the technology platforms applied, including DNA arrays or proteomics, via the bioinformatics tools required, right up to applications of toxicogenomics presented in numerous case studies, while also including an overview of national programs and initiatives as well as regulatory perspectives.” (publisher’s description)

"Handbook on the Toxicology of Metals, Fourth Edition bridges the gap between established knowledgebase and new advances in metal toxicology to provide one essential reference for all those involved in the field. This book provides comprehensive coverage of basic toxicological data, emphasizing toxic effects primarily in humans, but also those of animals and biological systems in vitro. The fourth edition also contains several new chapters on important topics such as nanotoxicology, metals in prosthetics and dental implants, gene-environment interaction, neurotoxicology, metals in food, renal, cardiovascular, and diabetes effects of metal exposures and more. Volume I covers "General Considerations" and Volume II is devoted to "Specific Metals." A multidisciplinary resource with contributions from internationally-recognized experts, the fourth edition of the Handbook on the Toxicology of Metals is a prominent and indispensable reference for toxicologists, physicians, pharmacologists, engineers, and all those involved in the toxicity of metals." (publisher's description)

"History of Risk Assessment in Toxicology guides the reader through the historical narrative of the evolution of risk assessment thinking in human and environmental practices. Risk assessment concepts are used in many different professional practice areas. In the health and environmental practices of risk assessment, the critical issue is often what chemical concentration in air, water, food, or a solid substance is acceptable, or considered not to result in any adverse effect. The book reviews examples from early scientific and health studies to showcase the foundations of risk assessment. The book also explores the development of risk assessment as practiced by major regulatory bodies such as the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA), and the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to reveal how risk assessment has evolved in the 20th and 21st centuries. Modern technology has created opportunities in silicon in vitro, computational modeling, omics, and big data techniques to assess the toxicity of chemicals, while traditional approaches to risk assessment are being challenged with new and innovative approaches. Finally, current issues being debated and tested in risk assessment are outlined with possible future avenues suggested." (publisher's description)

"Providing a practical and accessible guide, A Practical Guide to Toxicology and Human Health Risk Assessment enables readers to quickly build up knowledge and understanding of toxicology and its use in hazard identification, which is a fundamental part of chemical risk assessment. The book also covers current toxicological testing strategies and the use of physicochemical test data in hazard identification and exposure assessment. Examples are provided throughout the book to highlight important issues along with a summary of the key points that have been covered in each of the respective chapters. The book concludes with a listing of online resources on toxicology and risk assessment." (publisher's description)

"Proctor and Hughes' Chemical Hazards of the Workplace, Fifth Edition provides a comprehensive reference text for health professionals who need toxicology data on chemicals that may be encountered in various work settings. Building on the success of the Fourth Edition-already a standard text-this new edition updates and revises the more than 600 entries of that text, and also adds monographs on new compounds. Introductory chapters cover toxicological concepts, clinical manifestations of exposure, the diagnosis of occupational disease, and industrial hygiene aspects of chemical exposures. he toxicological data includes both acute and chronic effects, especially as related to any known exposure levels. The data emphasizes human studies and cases over animal data whenever sufficient information is available, and addresses any known carcinogenic, mutagenic, fetotoxic, or other reproductive effects. Clinical information is presented in a succinct narrative form to aid in understanding." (source: Nielsen Book Data)

"Toxicology and Risk Assessment: A Comprehensive Introduction, Second Edition reflects recent advances in science and technology, and provides the scientific background and methodological issues to enable the reader to understand the basic principles in toxicology and to evaluate the health risks of specific exposure scenarios. This book is divided into five sections: Principles in Toxicology, Organ Toxicology, Methods in Toxicology, Regulatory Toxicology, and Specific Toxicity. New chapters recent scientific and technological advances including alternatives to animal testing; genotoxic carcinogens; REACH regulations; nanomaterials; fuels; fragrances; PAHs; and agrochemicals." (publisher's description)