“This revision of the Biosafety Manual was prepared under the auspices of the Administrative Panel on Biosafety (APB) by the Office of Environmental Health and Safety (EH&S) after careful review of pertinent federal and state government regulatory documents, along with reference guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and the National Institutes of Health. This manual will: Address the most commonly asked questions from faculty, staff and students on general Biosafety, pathogens, and recombinant DNA (rDNA) or synthetic nucleic acid (sNA) issues; Provide information about training, safe work practices, safety equipment and personal protective equipment; and, Provide guidance for investigators who need to submit an application for review by the Administrative Panel on Biosafety.” (publisher’s description)

"The 5th edition of Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories (BMBL) is an advisory document recommending best practices for the safe conduct of work in biomedical and clinical laboratories from a biosafety perspective, and is not intended as a regulatory document though we recognize that it will be used that way by some. This edition includes additional sections, expanded sections on the principles and practices of biosafety and risk assessment, and revised agent summary statements and appendices. We worked to harmonize the recommendations included in this edition with guidance issued and regulations promulgated by other federal agencies. To better serve the needs of our community, this edition includes information on the following topics: Occupational medicine and immunization, Decontamination and sterilization, Laboratory biosecurity and risk assessment, Biosafety level 3 (Ag) laboratories, Agent summary statements for some agricultural pathogens, and Biological toxins." (publisher's description)

"Personal protective equipment (PPE) is critical for those dealing with toxic, infectious, and radioactive materials. An easily accessible guide for professionals and researchers in all PPE fields, this book takes a fresh look at how PPE is designed, selected, and used in today's emergency response environment where users may need to be protected against deliberately used chemical, biological, or radiological agents in terrorism or warfare scenarios as well as more traditional hazards. Covering the physics, chemistry, and physiology of these hazards, the book explains how PPE protects from various forms of hazards as well as how to use this information to select PPE against these highly hazardous substances for first responder or military users. The design of PPE and components plus relevant performance and evaluation standards are also discussed." (publisher's description)

"Biological safety is a critical requirement when working with or around infectious disease agents. To prevent exposures and keep staff and patients safe, laboratories and health care facilities rely on personal protective equipment, standard operating procedures (SOPs), and engineering controls. In an instant, however, a single inappropriate human behavior can negate any of these safeguards. This reference provides an important call to action for anyone who relies on safety plans to consider carefully the humans who must follow those plans. Written by an expert in behavioral biosafety training, Prepare and Protect offers a common-sense program for addressing and reducing the risk factors of human behavior."(publisher's description)

"Many Healthcare workers must deal on a daily basis with the transportation, preparation, storage, clean up, and disposal of cytotoxic drugs, which are used in chemotherapy because of their harmful effect on cancer cells. These drugs also have harmful effects on good cells, and they therefore pose a significant health risk to those who work with them. Yet there is little safety and health information available about them, and what information is available is scattered across a vast array of literature. The Safety and Health Handbook for Cytotoxic Drugs collects this information so that healthcare workers can better understand the drugs they work with and the safety and health procedures that should be followed. In it, author Samuel J. Murff presents comprehensive technical and procedural information on 106 of the most common cytotoxic drugs. The book provides guidance on quickly dealing with spills, reducing unnecessary exposure, and complying with pertinent regulations and standards in order to better equip healthcare workers to maintain a safe work environment." (publisher's description)

"Now in its fifth edition, Biological Safety covers protection and control elements--from biosafety level cabinets and personal protection systems to strategies and decontamination methods administrative concerns in biorisk management, including regulations, guidelines, and compliance various aspects of risk assessment covering bacterial pathogens, viral agents, mycotic agents, protozoa and helminths, gene transfer vectors, zooonotic agents, allergens, toxins, and molecular agents as well as decontamination, aerobiology, occupational medicine, and training A resource for biosafety professionals, instructors, and those who work with pathogenic agents in any capacity, Biological safety is also a critical reference for laboratory managers, and those responsible for managing biohazards in a range of settings, including basic and agricultural research, clinical laboratories, the vivarium, field study, insectories, and greenhouses." (publisher's description)

"Biosafety in the Laboratory is a concise set of practical guidelines for handling and disposing of biohazardous material. The consensus of top experts in laboratory safety, this volume provides the information needed for immediate improvement of safety practices. It discusses high- and low-risk biological agents (including the highest-risk materials handled in labs today), presents the "seven basic rules of biosafety, " addresses special issues such as the shipping of dangerous materials, covers waste disposal in detail, offers a checklist for administering laboratory safety--and more."(source: Nielsen Book Data)

"This single-authored handbook is a complete up-to-date guide to safety procedures in biomedical laboratories. It is intended for review as well as for daily reference in the laboratory. Topics include everything from equipment to decontamination, sterilization, waste disposal, design of safe research facilities, chemical hazards, radiation hazards etc., legal requirements, medical and health aspects, accidents and emergency procedures, and more. This book will be of great value to heads of biomedical laboratories and to safety officers in research, clinical, and industrial facilities, and possibly some individual researchers." (source: Nielsen Book Data)

"For more than 20 years, since it was first published in 1983, the Laboratory Biosafety Manual has provided practical guidance on biosafety techniques for use in laboratories at all levels. For this new edition, the manual has been extensively revised and expanded. The manual now covers risk assessment and safe use of recombinant DNA technology, and provides guidelines for the comissioning and cetification of laboratories. Laboratory biosecurity concepts are introduced, and the latest regulations for the transport of infectious substances are reflected. Material on safety in health-care laboratories, previously published elsewhere by WHO, has also been incorporated ." (publisher's description)

"The first training manual for new staff working in BSL3/4 labs. This guide is based on a course developed in 2007 by the EU COST action group 28b which serves as a standard for many courses BSL3/4 training courses worldwide. The four-day course consists of lectures and practical training with the lecturers covering all the different possibilities of organising a BSL-3/4 lab including the adaptation to the local requirements of biosafety, safety at work, and social regulations. This book covers bio-containment, hazard criteria and categorisation of microbes, technical specifications of BSL-3 laboratories and ABSL-3 laboratories, personal protective gear, shipping BSL-3 and BSL-4 organisms according to UN and IATA regulations, efficacy of inactivation procedures, fumigation, learning from a history of lab accidents, handling samples that arrive for diagnostic testing and bridging the gap between the requirements of bio-containment and diagnostics. Course participants can not only use the book for their actual training event but it will remain a useful reference throughout their career in BSL3/4 labs." (publisher's description)

"Responsible Research with Biological Select Agents and Toxins evaluates both the physical security of select agent laboratories and personnel reliability measures designed to ensure the trustworthiness of those with access to biological select agents and toxins. The book offers a set of guiding principles and recommended changes to minimize security risk and facilitate the productivity of research. The book recommends fostering a culture of trust and responsibility in the laboratory, engaging the community in oversight of the Select Agent Program, and enhancing the operation of the Select Agent Program." (source: Nielsen Book Data)