"This manual provides for and supports the procedures, equipment, personal protective equipment, and work practices for protecting laboratory personnel from potential health hazards of using hazardous chemicals in the laboratory." (website description)
Compiled in 2007, provides guidelines for safe handling of low-solubility ultrafine particles in the lab. Covers how exposures to engineered nanomaterials may occur and potential effects; 12 lab safety guidelines for handling nanomaterials; nanotechnology safety publications, videos & other resources. Provided by the American Chemical Society.
"Adverse Effects of Engineered Nanomaterials: Exposure, Toxicology, and Impact on Human Health, Second Edition, provides a systematic evaluation of representative engineered nanomaterials (ENM) of high volume production and their high economic importance. Each class of nanomaterials discussed includes information on what scientists, industry, regulatory agencies, and the general public need to know about nanosafety. Written by leading international experts in nanotoxicology and nanomedicine, this book gives a comprehensive view of the health impact of ENM, focusing on their potential adverse effects in exposed workers, consumers, and patients. All chapters have been updated with new sections on the endocrine system and other organ systems. In addition, other newly added sections include introductory chapters on the physio-chemical characterization of nanomaterials and interactions between nanomaterials and biological systems, as well as a new chapter that explores risk assessment and management of nanomaterials. This book fills an important need in terms of bridging the gap between experimental findings and human exposure to ENM, also detailing the clinical and pathological consequences of such exposure in the human population." (publisher's description)
"Handbook of Nanosafety: Measurement, Exposure and Toxicology provides a comprehensive understanding of engineered nanomaterials (ENM), current international nanosafety regulation, and how ENM can be safely handled in the workplace. Increasingly, the importance of safety needs to be considered when promoting the use of novel technologies like ENM. With its use of case studies and exposure scenarios, Handbook of Nanosafety demonstrates techniques to assess exposure and risks and how these assessments can be applied to improve workers' safety. Topics covered include the effects of ENM on human health, characterization of ENM, aerosol dynamics and measurement, exposure and risk assessment, and safe handling of ENM. Based on outcomes from the NANODEVICE initiative, this is an essential resource for those who need to apply current nanotoxicological thinking in the workplace and anyone who advises on nanosafety, such as professionals in toxicology, occupational safety and risk assessment." (publisher's description)
"Nanotechnology Environmental Health and Safety tackles - in depth and in breadth - the complex and evolving issues pertaining to nanotechnology's environmental health and safety (EHS). The chapters are authored by leaders in their respective fields, providing thorough analysis of their research areas. The diverse spectrum of topics include nanotechnology EHS issues, financial implications, foreseeable risks including exposure, dosage and hazards, and the implications of occupational hygiene precautions and consumer protections. The book includes real-world case studies, wherever practical, to illustrate specific issues and scenarios encountered by stakeholders positioned on the front-lines of nanotechnology-enabled industries. These case studies will appeal to, and resonate with, laboratory scientists, business leaders, regulators, service providers, and postgraduate researchers."
(source: Nielsen Book Data)
Interested in Nanotechnology but Can't Bear to Wade through Detailed Technical Reports? While reports on nanotechnology by research and marketing firms as well as governmental agencies are comprehensive and insightful, they can often be tedious to read, expensive to procure, and generally unknown to nonexperts interested in this technolog
"In spite of the potential use of nanomaterials as tissue engineering devices, implants, biosensors, drug delivery devices, etc., there has yet to be a compilation of the risks associated with the in vivo use of nanomaterials. There are numerous and well-known risks because of the size of nanoparticles. For example, nanoparticles can cross cell membranes and enter the cytoplasm undetected. The aim of this book is to provide one of the first (if not the first) detailed views of how cells and tissues in the body deal with nanoparticles. This is important not only for implantable devices, but also for the manufacturing of nanophase materials when particles can be inhaled or enter the body through the skin. Only by compiling research at the intersection of nanoparticles and biological processes can we determine if nanophase materials are safe to be manufactured, handled, and/or implanted for various medical applications." (publisher's description)
"This book aims to address how nanotechnology risks are being addressed by scientists, particularly in the areas of human health and the environment and how these risks can be measured in financial terms for insurers and regulators. It provides a comprehensive overview of nanotechnology risk measurement and risk transfer methods, including a chapter outlining how Bayesian methods can be used. It also examines nanotechnology from a legal perspective, both current and potential future outcomes. Despite the increasing value of nanotechnologies and their widespread use, there is a significant gap between the enthusiasm of scientists and nanotechnology entrepreneurs working; the nanotechnology space and the insurance/regulatory sector. Scientists are scarcely aware that insurers/regulators have concerns about the potential for human and environmental risk and insurers/regulators are not in a position to access the potential risk.This book aims to bridge this gap by defining the current challenges in nanotechnology across disciplines and providing a number of risk management and assessment methodologies. Featuring contributions from authors in areas such as regulation, law, ethics, management, insurance and manufacturing, this volume provides an interdisciplinary perspective that is of value to students, academics, researchers, policy makers, practitioners and society in general." (publisher's description)
"In today's nanotechnology and pharmaceutical research, alternative toxicology testing methods are crucial for ethically and commercially sound practice. This book provides practical guidelines on how to develop and validate quantitative nanostructure-toxicity relationship (QNTR) models, which are ideal for rapidly exploring the effects of a large number of variables in complex scenarios. Through contributions by academic, industrial, and governmental experts, Modelling the Toxicity of Nanoparticles delivers clear instruction on these methods and their integration and use in risk assessment. Specific topics include the physico-chemical characteristics of engineered nanoparticles, nanoparticle interactions, and in vivo nanoparticle processing." (publisher's description)
"Nanomaterials in the Environment covers all aspects of manufactured nanomaterials and their impact and behavior in the environment. Starting with a general overview of the field, emphasizing key points and background, the book then covers crucial specific areas, including nanomaterial transformations in the environment due to dissolution, aggregation, and other processes, and the modeling of environmental exposure and fate. A chapter on formation of the "eco-corona" investigates the state of the art with specific reference to the protein corona literature in human health. Finally, there are chapters on mechanisms of biouptake and toxicity. The fast-moving nature of the field and the quality of the submissions make this book essential reading for all those working in this area. It is suitable for researchers from Masters-level upwards, and for regulators and industry. The book can also be used as a high-level teaching aid." (publisher's description)
"Despite the increase in funding for research and the rising numbers of peer-reviewed publications over the past decade that address the environmental, health, and safety aspects of engineered nanomaterials (ENMs), uncertainty about the implications of potential exposures of consumers, workers, and ecosystems to these materials persists. Consumers and workers want to know which of these materials they are exposed to and whether the materials can harm them. Industry is concerned about being able to predict with sufficient certainty whether products that it makes and markets will pose any environmental, health or safety issues and what measures should be taken regarding manufacturing practices and worldwide distribution to minimize any potential risk. However, there remains a disconnect between the research that is being carried out and its relevance to and use by decision-makers and regulators to make informed public health and environmental policy and regulatory decisions." (publisher's description)
"A Research Strategy for Environmental, Health, and Safety Aspects of Engineered Nanomaterials presents a strategic approach for developing the science and research infrastructure needed to address uncertainties regarding the potential EHS risks of ENMs. The report summarizes the current state of the science and high-priority data gaps on the potential EHS risks posed by ENMs and describes the fundamental tools and approaches needed to pursue an EHS risk research strategy. The report also presents a proposed research agenda, short-term and long-term research priorities, and estimates of needed resources and concludes by focusing on implementation of the research strategy and evaluation of its progress, elements that the committee considered integral to its charge." (publisher's description)
"The expanding field of nanotechnology is now one of the most promising areas of science. However, because some nanoparticles can have a negative impact on human health and the environment, the design of novel materials must always be accompanied by a comprehensive risk assessment. Until now, the information on the methods available has been fragmented and incomplete. This book is the first to provide a comprehensive review of recent progress and challenges in the risk assessment of nanomaterials by empirical and computational techniques. Topics covered include: benefits versus risks, carbon based nanomaterials, environmental detection and quantitative analysis, chemometric modelling, human exposure assessment, toxicity testing, nano-QSAR, risk assessment strategies, policy and regulatory frameworks." (publisher's description)