Lab safety: Hazardous substances
Provides chemical safety information resources and search strategies for students, faculty, and staff working in a lab.
Hazardous substances resources
Hazardous substances - start here
Stanford Chemical Hygiene Plan by Publication Date: 2019"This manual provides for and supports the procedures, equipment, personal protective equipment, and work practices for protecting laboratory personnel from potential health hazards of using hazardous chemicals in the laboratory." (website description)
Hazardous substances - databases
- Safety Data Sheets"Stay safe, current, and compliant when it comes to chemical hazards, with instant access to more than 246,000 (M)SDSs provided directly from manufacturers and suppliers." (publisher's description)
Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) by Publication Date: 2015-SEARCH TIP: Search chemical name in PubChem. View details. The identification section includes a link to the Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary Datasheet.
The Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) is based on the format described by the National Research Council in the publication "Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards" (2011). The LCSS in PubChem contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information. It is available when a GHS Classification (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals) is present for a given PubChem Compound record. The GHS classification codes and hazard pictograms are summarized in the PubChem GHS page. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and "can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website."
- Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. Web information servicePresents a collection of databases related to occupational health and safety. Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provide physical and safety data on chemicals manufactured or sold in North America. CHEMINFO provides safety information for important workplace chemicals. CHEMpendium compiles chemical hazard information from a variety of sources. Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) contains citations to the literature for thousands of chemical substances. OSH References is an index to journal articles and other literature related to occupational health and safety. Canadian enviroOSH indexes Canadian national, provincial, and territorial environmental and occupational safety legislation and standards. Several additional free resources are available through the CCOHS Web Information Service.
- CAMEO chemicals an online database of hazardous materialsSearch to find response information for thousands of hazardous materials, including fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties. Use "My Chemicals" to build a list of chemicals. For example, substances involved in an incident response (such as a train derailment) or chemicals stored in your community. Explore reactivity, see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your MyChemicals collection are mixed together. CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for people who are involved in hazardous material incident response and planning. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer. CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals. CAMEO Chemicals was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Coast Guard's Research and Development Center."-- (source: http://cameochemicals.noaa.gov/help/cameo_chemicals_help.htm)
- e-EROS Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesise-EROS combines the complete text of the encyclopedia with the sophistication of a database including all the chemical reactions and structures. It contains a database of around 50,000 reactions and around 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. Offers systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. Kept up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts.
- KnovelKnovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
Hazardous substances - handbooks
NIOSH pocket guide to chemical hazardsPublication Date: 2010-"The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards." (website description)
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens by ISBN: 9780323389686Publication Date: 2017"Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens, Seventh Edition, has proven to be a reliable, accessible, must-have reference on hazardous materials for over thirty years. This updated and revised seventh edition is the most comprehensive listing of the hazardous chemicals commonly used, transported, and regulated in industry and the workplace. Information is the most vital resource anyone can have when dealing with potential hazardous substance accidents, spillages, fires, or acts of terror. It is also essential for the safe day-to-day operation of chemical processes and environmental protection. Sittig's Handbook provides extensive data for over 2,200 chemicals in a uniform format, enabling fast and accurate decisions in any situation. The chemicals are presented alphabetically and classified as a carcinogen, hazardous substance, hazardous waste, or toxic pollutant. This new edition contains expanded and reviewed information for each chemical listed (including chemicals classified as WMD) and has been updated to keep pace with world events, standards, and regulations." (publisher's description)
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 5 Volume Set by ISBN: 9780470623251Publication Date: 2012"Since its publication in the 1950s, this important resource is considered the bible by those who need to evaluate the potential hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its twelfth edition, Sax's Dangerous Properties provides extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances, with the addition of nearly 2,400 new substances. Each entry includes a DPIM code, hazard rating, entry name, CAS number, DOT number, molecular formula, molecular weight, line structural formula, description of material and physical properties, and synonyms. The book also contains Immediately Dangerous to Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals." (publisher's description)
A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, 3rd edition by ISBN: 0471714585Publication Date: 2007"Correlating chemical structure with toxicity to humans and the environment, and the chemical structure of compounds to their hazardous properties, A Comprehensive Guide to the Hazardous Properties of Chemical Substances, Third Edition allows users to assess the toxicity of a substance even when no experimental data exists. Thus, it bridges the gap between hazardous materials and chemistry." (publisher's description)
Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties by ISBN: 9781281077424Publication Date: 2000"This volume provides extensive health (toxicological) and safety handling information and data on over 1,000 chemicals of commercial and industrial importance. This volume will provide extensive health (toxicological) and safe-handling information and data on more than 1000 chemicals of commercial and industrial importance. It provides chemical specific information pertinent to safe handling and transportation of chemicals, worker protection, emergency response information to address spills, explosions on fire situations, and chemical stability/reactivity data. It is designed as a standard reference handbook for chemical engineers, safety engineers, toxicologists, fire safety specialists, chemists, laboratory and plant technicians." (publisher's description)
Hazardous Materials Characterization by ISBN: 0471462578Publication Date: 2005"Hazardous Materials Characterization: Evaluation Methods, Procedures, and Considerations provides detailed coverage of hazardous materials and situations. Plain language and a common-sense approach make this an accessible resource for use by all workers who handle and deal with these materials. This guide groups related materials together for quick and easy access (corrosive, ignitable, radioactive, etc.). It also details methods and procedures for evaluating the properties and strengths of questionable materials, as well as what reactive substances and situations to look out for when working with these materials. Other topics covered include: *Regulatory review *Sampling and monitoring equipment, applications, and procedures *Human health hazards *Biological hazards *Radiation hazards *Evaluating chemical and biological terrorist threats *Environmental remediation methods *References and resources." (publisher's description)
