Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesLab safety: Reactive substances
Provides chemical safety information resources and search strategies for students, faculty, and staff working in a lab.
Reactive substances and reactivity resources
Reactive substances and reactivity - start here
Stanford Chemical Hygiene Plan by Publication Date: 2019"This manual provides for and supports the procedures, equipment, personal protective equipment, and work practices for protecting laboratory personnel from potential health hazards of using hazardous chemicals in the laboratory." (website description)
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by ISBN: 9780081009710Publication Date: 2017"Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals." (publisher's description)
Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities by ISBN: 9780470387634Publication Date: 2009“A portable and easy-to-use reference on reactive substances commonly found in commerce, the Wiley Guide to Chemical Incompatibilities, Third Edition compiles hard-to-find data on over 11,000 chemical compounds, providing chemists, technicians, and engineers a thorough, lightning-quick resource to use during experimental preparation and in the event of an emergency. It contains nearly 9,000 chemical incompatibility profiles covering flammability, violent and explosive binary reactions, incompatibilities, and reactions that may result from physical change. Alphabetical organization provides concise incompatibility profiles for thousands of commonly used commercial chemicals, allowing readers to look up a given substance and instantly learn whether it is incompatible with common materials, other chemical substances, structural materials, or personal protective equipment." (publisher's description)
- CAMEO chemicals an online database of hazardous materialsSearch to find response information for thousands of hazardous materials, including fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties. Use "My Chemicals" to build a list of chemicals. For example, substances involved in an incident response (such as a train derailment) or chemicals stored in your community. Explore reactivity, see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your MyChemicals collection are mixed together. CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for people who are involved in hazardous material incident response and planning. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer. CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals. CAMEO Chemicals was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Coast Guard's Research and Development Center."-- (source: http://cameochemicals.noaa.gov/help/cameo_chemicals_help.htm)
Reactive substances and reactivity - handbooks and guides
- C&EN. Safety Letters
An index of the chemical safety letters that have appeared in C&EN since 1993. The index is alphabetized by the chemical involved in the letter.
Guidelines for Safe Storage and Handling of Reactive Materials by ISBN: 9780816906291Publication Date: 1995"With new and growing interest in dealing with the hazards of reactive chemicals, this book offers guidelines that can significantly reduce the risk or mitigate the severity of accidents associated with storing and handling reactive materials. Necessary elements of a reliable system to prevent equipment or human failures that might lead to a reactive chemical incident are sound and responsible management policies, together with a combination of superior siting, design, fabrication, erection, inspection, monitoring, maintenance, operations and maintenance of facilities. These Guidelines deal with all of these elements with emphasis on design considerations." (publisher's description)
Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties by ISBN: 9781281077424Publication Date: 2000"This volume provides extensive health (toxicological) and safety handling information and data on over 1,000 chemicals of commercial and industrial importance. This volume will provide extensive health (toxicological) and safe-handling information and data on more than 1000 chemicals of commercial and industrial importance. It provides chemical specific information pertinent to safe handling and transportation of chemicals, worker protection, emergency response information to address spills, explosions on fire situations, and chemical stability/reactivity data. It is designed as a standard reference handbook for chemical engineers, safety engineers, toxicologists, fire safety specialists, chemists, laboratory and plant technicians." (publisher's description)
Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) by Publication Date: 2015-SEARCH TIP: Search chemical name in PubChem. View details. The identification section includes a link to the Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary Datasheet.
The Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) is based on the format described by the National Research Council in the publication "Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards" (2011). The LCSS in PubChem contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information. It is available when a GHS Classification (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals) is present for a given PubChem Compound record. The GHS classification codes and hazard pictograms are summarized in the PubChem GHS page. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and "can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website."
Safety SenseISBN: 9780879697839Publication Date: 2007"This is a slim, benchtop reference collection of tips and warnings on the safe handling of chemicals and biologicals, listed alphabetically by compound. this valuable information is presented in a handy format designed for easy use. The volume also includes helpful charts and tables. Appendix 1: Incompatible Chemicals; Appendix 2: Most Commonly Used Isotopes with Their Radioactive Half-lives, Detection Methods, and Shielding Methods; Appendix 3: Resistance of Some Plastics to Chemicals and Sterilization; Appendix 4: Chemical- and Liquid-Resistant Gloves." (publisher's description)
Reactive substances and reactivity - Reaction databases
Reagent selection is a key decision in determining safety precautions needed when running a reaction. The e-Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis includes safety information. For organic and organometallic reactions, starting with Science of Synthesis (SoS) is useful because of the amount of detail provided and recommendations on the best way to do a particular reaction. Safety warnings are integrated into the text of SoS. For SciFinder and Reaxys, it is possible to see which reagents were used in reactions. While both SciFinder and Reaxys include organic and organometallic reactions, Reaxys is the only structure searchable database for inorganic reactions.
For more resources, please see Chemistry & Chemical Engineering - Syntheses & reactions.
- e-EROS Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesise-EROS combines the complete text of the encyclopedia with the sophistication of a database including all the chemical reactions and structures. It contains a database of around 50,000 reactions and around 3250 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. Offers systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. Kept up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts.
- Science of synthesis Houben-Weyl methods of molecular transformations"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."
- SciFinderSciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information.
- ReaxysReaxys Xcelerate is a fully integrated electronic chemistry database that contains organic, inorganic and organometallic substance, property, and reaction data for small molecules housed previously in the Beilstein, Gmelin, and Chemistry Patent databases, as well as Reaxys medicinal chemistry. Includes coverage from 1771-present for 400 journals. Coverage also includes English language-only patents from the major chemistry patent classes of the U.S., European, and World Patent Offices. Reaxys Xcelerate is a premium version of Reaxys that allows faster analysis of results using visualization tools, automates synthesis planning, and uses flexible reporting outputs for sharing their results and annotations with colleagues.