WISER is a system designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents. WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. To get started, configure your profile and select an item below.
Search to find response information for thousands of hazardous materials, including fire and explosion hazards, health hazards, firefighting techniques, cleanup procedures, protective clothing, and chemical properties. Use "My Chemicals" to build a list of chemicals. For example, substances involved in an incident response (such as a train derailment) or chemicals stored in your community. Explore reactivity, see what hazards might occur if chemicals in your MyChemicals collection are mixed together. CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for people who are involved in hazardous material incident response and planning. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer. CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals. CAMEO Chemicals was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration in partnership with the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Emergency Management and the U.S. Coast Guard's Research and Development Center."-- (source: http://cameochemicals.noaa.gov/help/cameo_chemicals_help.htm)
Presents a collection of databases related to occupational health and safety. Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provide physical and safety data on chemicals manufactured or sold in North America. CHEMINFO provides safety information for important workplace chemicals. CHEMpendium compiles chemical hazard information from a variety of sources. Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) contains citations to the literature for thousands of chemical substances. OSH References is an index to journal articles and other literature related to occupational health and safety. Canadian enviroOSH indexes Canadian national, provincial, and territorial environmental and occupational safety legislation and standards. Several additional free resources are available through the CCOHS Web Information Service.
SEARCH TIP: Search chemical name in PubChem. View details. The identification section includes a link to the Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary Datasheet.
The Laboratory Chemical Safety Summary (LCSS) is based on the format described by the National Research Council in the publication "Prudent Practices in the Laboratory: Handling and Management of Chemical Hazards" (2011). The LCSS in PubChem contains pertinent chemical hazard and safety information. It is available when a GHS Classification (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals) is present for a given PubChem Compound record. The GHS classification codes and hazard pictograms are summarized in the PubChem GHS page. The LCSS data from PubChem is freely available, and "can be downloaded as a data stream in bulk or on-demand from the PubChem website."
"The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards." (website description)
"The objective of this guide is to provide laboratory workers with a framework for spill response planning. This planning must be done in advance, not after a spill occurs. Understanding this guide requires a basic level of chemical knowledge and training. If you do not have the basic knowledge to confidently make the decisions required, request assistance from others." (publisher's description)
"The goal of this book is to help train hazmat response teams and other responders in disaster training, techniques, and planning.The book will also help define and sharpen training plans and assumptions. Focusing on lessons learned from real-world experiences during actual disasters, the book will help to establish a well-trained professional 1st responder, individuals, and teams. Such lessons are emphasized so that planners and responders learn to anticipate how their community is likely to react under real disaster conditions, and plan accordingly." (publisher's description)
"Dow Chemical developed the Chemical Exposure Index to help its engineers design and operate safer facilities. This seminal guide to rating the relative acute health hazard potential of a chemical release to workers and the neighboring community is available to the chemical process community. The index uses a methodology for estimating airborne quantity released, which allows for more sophisticated process analyses." (publisher's description)
"Despite preemptive preparations, disasters can and do occur. Whether natural disasters, catastrophic accidents, or terrorist attacks, the risk cannot be completely eliminated. A carefully prepared response is your best defense. Handbook of Emergency Response: A Human Factors and Systems Engineering Approach presents practical advice and guidelines on how to plan the coordinated execution of emergency response. A useful tool to mitigate logistical problems that often follow disasters or extreme events, the core of this guide is the role of human factors in emergency response project management. The handbook provides a systematic structure for communication, cooperation, and coordination. It highlights what must be done and when, and how to identify the resources required for each effort." (publisher's description)
"This handbook has been prepared as a working reference for the safety officer, the environmental engineer, and the consultant. For the safety officer, this handbook provides detailed guidelines and instructions in preparing Right-to-Know Reporting Audits, establishing programs and training employees on hazard awareness, and developing and implementing emergency response programs in the workplace and at off-site operations. For the environmental engineer, this handbook provides extensive technical data on toxic chemical properties and detailed instructional aid on how to properly prepare toxic chemical release inventory reporting. For the environmental consultant, an extensive overview of corrective action technologies is provided." (publisher's description)
"Emergency Action for Chemical and Biological Warfare Agents, Second Edition is intended for the first responder to the scene of the release of a chemical or biological warfare agent. Formatted similarly to the Department of Transportation¿s Emergency Response Guidebook and designed as a companion to the author¿s Handbook of Chemical and Biological Warfare Agents, this book is divided into concise chapters that focus on the first few hours after the incident. Each chapter, or class index, is designed to give responders vital information on a specific group of agents. This is done rather than focusing on detailed information for individual agents because the specific agent(s) may not be identified until well into the response, long after many critical decisions have been made. Adding more than 100 additional pages of material, the second edition contains a wider library of agent classes that covers more hazardous materials. It also includes updated appendices that cover dissemination, the effects of weather and terrain, isolation, protective shelters, and manual decontamination. The book also provides a chemical/biological terrorism emergency response checklist. Addressing the immediate needs of first responders as they arrive at the scene of a chemical or biological warfare agent release, this book serves as a guide that gives critical information for key initial reactions without having to read through long explanations. It is an essential quick reference for first responders facing the release of chemical or biological warfare agents." (publisher's description)
"Deliberately, accidentally, or consequentially, first responders and waste site workers handle unknown substances of varying degrees of danger every day. Unidentified chemicals involved with clandestine production of WMD agents or drugs, explosive materials, unlabeled waste, and forensic samples all pose a threat to the worker and those they protect. A straightforward, concise handbook of practical strategies is needed to perform effective risk assessment and management in the face of uncertainty. Written for emergency workers responsible for the safe response to and management of unknown hazardous materials, this book provides readily applicable strategies for developing and implementing a fluid concept of risk analysis based on hazard characterization in emergency situations where definitive identification of the material may be impractical or even impossible." (publisher's description)
"The HazMat Data, 2nd Edition provides a detailed reference for emergency responders and people who transport chemicals. Considering the events of September 11, the book is especially oriented toward first responder and emergency management personnel. Additions to this new Second Edition include Spanish language synonyms for all entries, and an increased overall number of synonyms. New to this edition is information on chemical warfare (CW) agents and Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD)-nerve gasses, blister agents/vesicants, "blood agents, " choking/pulmonary agents, and crowd-control agents (tear gasses, pepper sprays, etc.)-that might be used as weapons of terrorism. It clearly explains symptoms of exposure and appropriate treatment for the exposure when available, and describes what to do in an emergency situation. The book also gives the NFPA hazard classifications, as well as chemical hazard class information. Newly updated, The HazMat Data, 2nd Edition provides a comprehensive, up-to-date summary of this vital information." (source: Nielsen Book Data)