"The revised and updated seventh edition of Quick Selection Guide to Chemical Protective Clothing contains the most recent information on the selection, use, and care of chemical protective clothing, such as protective gloves, suits, and other garments. The seventh edition includes new selection recommendations, new materials and chemicals tested, and updated information on existing products. This accessible guide also contains the popular color-coded selection grid. The grid system indicates which materials offer protection against specific chemicals, and which do not. Selecting the most appropriate chemical protective clothing is essential for the prevention of illnesses and injures from hazardous chemical exposure, especially where other control measures are not feasible. Written by noted experts on the topic, the book has been thoroughly revised to reflect the most recent advances in the field." (source: Nielsen Book Data)
"First Published in 1995. The three most important things to evaluate when selecting Chemical Protective Clothing (CPC) are: evidence of degradation of the garment exposed to a chemical; breakthrough time; and permeation rate. Because proper CPC selection must be based on permeation and degradation tests performed upon specific manufacturer products, an information source that enables you to access test results quickly and easily is needed. "Chemical Protective Clothing Permeation and Degradation Compendium" aims to be that source."
(source: Nielsen Book Data)
Chemical Protective Clothing Performance Index by Krister Forsberg; Lawrence H. Keith
Publication Date: 1999
"The world's most comprehensive source of performance data on chemical protective clothing, The Performance Index provides industrial hygienists and workplace safety professionals with a reliable resource for making informed decisions on chemical protective clothing (CPC). Painstakingly compiled and evaluated by internationally recognized experts, this edition presents virtually all available data on the resistance of CPC to a wide variety of chemicals. Coverage spans test records from manufacturers worldwide, including CPC permeation and degradation data obtained with ASTM methods as well as other regulatory standards. Organized by chemical name and CAS Number, the new edition features: * Over 10,500 chemical permeation tests * An additional 3,000+ chemical degradation tests * Coverage of 860 chemicals and mixtures * Information on more than 350 different types and models of CPC, including gloves, hazmat suits, boots, visors, and more * Roughly 50,000 data entries on such subjects as test material, thickness, permeation rates, breakthrough times, permeation index numbers, and references.” (publisher’s description)
"Contains established and proven practices compiled by experienced industry professionals. Covers areas of glovebox technology from conception to installation, operations, and maintenance." (publisher's description)
“When engineering, work practice and administrative controls are not feasible or do not provide sufficient protection, employers must provide personal protective equipment (PPE) to their employees and ensure its use. Personal protective equipment, commonly referred to as “PPE”, is equipment worn to minimize exposure to a variety of hazards. Examples of PPE include such items as gloves, foot and eye protection, protective hearing devices (earplugs, muffs) hard hats, respirators and full body suits.
This guide will help both employers and employees do the following: *Understand the types of PPE. *Know the basics of conducting a “hazard assessment” of the workplace. *Select appropriate PPE for a variety of circumstances. *Understand what kind of training is needed in the proper use and care of PPE.” (publisher’s description)
"Personal protective equipment (PPE) is critical for those dealing with toxic, infectious, and radioactive materials. An easily accessible guide for professionals and researchers in all PPE fields, this book takes a fresh look at how PPE is designed, selected, and used in today's emergency response environment where users may need to be protected against deliberately used chemical, biological, or radiological agents in terrorism or warfare scenarios as well as more traditional hazards. Covering the physics, chemistry, and physiology of these hazards, the book explains how PPE protects from various forms of hazards as well as how to use this information to select PPE against these highly hazardous substances for first responder or military users. The design of PPE and components plus relevant performance and evaluation standards are also discussed." (publisher's description)
"This report provides CPC recommendations for the chemicals listed in the NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards, June 1997 Edition (Publication No. 97-140). These recommendations are based on another published work, Quick Selection Guide to Chemical Protective Clothing, Third Edition, by Krister Forsberg and S.Z. Mansdorf (1997). The Recommendations for Chemical Protective Clothing database is a contractor's product procured by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Thus, the recommendations contained in this database do not necessarily reflect NIOSH policy."
"Smart textiles are materials and structures that sense and react to environmental conditions or stimuli, and their integration into protective clothing has led to the development of products with greatly enhanced protective capabilities in hazardous situations. Smart textiles for protection provides a comprehensive analysis of smart materials used in producing protective textiles, and explores a wide range of end-use protective applications." (publisher's description)
"In today s climate there is an increasing requirement for protective textiles, whether for personal protection, protection against the elements, chemical, nuclear or ballistic attack. This comprehensive book brings together the leading protective textiles experts from around the world. It covers a wide variety of themes from materials and design, through protection against specific hazards, to specific applications. This is the first book of its kind to give a complete coverage of textiles for protection. Covers a wide variety of themes from materials and design, through protection against specific hazards, to specific applications. The first book of its kind to give a complete coverage of textiles for protection. Written by leading protective textiles experts from around the world" (publisher's description)