"This manual provides and orientation on ionizing radiation, and describes the radiation safety policies and procedures we have implemented to ensure a safe environment for our patients and students, the public, and ourselves." (website description)

"This is the first text specifically designed to train potential health physicists to think and respond like professionals. Written by a former chairman of the American Board of Health Physics Comprehensive Panel of Examiners with more than 20 years of professional and academic experience in the field, it offers a balanced presentation of all the theoretical and practical issues essential for a full working knowledge of radiation exposure assessments. As the only book to cover the entire radiation protection field, it includes detailed coverage of the medical, university, reactor, fuel cycle, environmental and accelerator areas, while exploring key topics in radiation basics, external and internal dosimetry, the biological effects of ionizing radiation, and much more besides. Backed by more than 500 worked examples developed within the context of various scenarios and spanning the full spectrum of real-world challenges, it quickly instills in readers the professional acumen and practical skills they need to perform accurate radiation assessments in virtually any routine or emergency situation. The result is a valuable resource for upper-level students and anyone preparing to take the American Board of Health Physics Comprehensive Examination, as well as for professionals seeking to expand their scope and sharpen their skills." (publisher's description)

"This single-authored handbook is a complete up-to-date guide to safety procedures in biomedical laboratories. It is intended for review as well as for daily reference in the laboratory. Topics include everything from equipment to decontamination, sterilization, waste disposal, design of safe research facilities, chemical hazards, radiation hazards etc., legal requirements, medical and health aspects, accidents and emergency procedures, and more. This book will be of great value to heads of biomedical laboratories and to safety officers in research, clinical, and industrial facilities, and possibly some individual researchers." (source: Nielsen Book Data)

"Fundamentals of Radiation and Chemical Safety covers the effects and mechanisms involved in radiation and chemical exposure on humans. The mechanisms and effects of these damaging factors have many aspects in common, as do their research methodology and the methods used for data processing. In many cases of these types of exposures the same final effect can also be noted: Cancer. Low doses of radiation and small doses of chemical exposure are continuously active and they could influence the entire population. The analysis of these two main source hazards on the lives of the human population is covered here for the first time in a single volume determining and demonstrating their common basis. Fundamentals of Radiation and Chemical Safety includes the necessary knowledge from nuclear physics, chemistry and biology, as well the methods of processing the experimental results. This title focuses on the effects of low radiation dosage and chemical hormesis as well as the hazards associated with, and safety precautions in radiation and chemicals, rather than the more commonly noted safety issues high level emergencies and disasters of this type." (publisher's description)

"This book is a collection of all pertinent information on radiation safety applicable in nuclear medicine and research using radioactive materials. Radiation exposure causes harm to humans and is strictly controlled by several regulatory authorities (NRC, FDA, EPA, DOT, etc). The practice of nuclear medicine involves the use of radioactive materials in patients and research, and is well regulated by these agencies. However, information on radiation safety practice in nuclear medicine and research areas is scattered throughout the literature and federal registers. For busy nuclear technologists and professionals, it is quite time consuming to look for and acquire specific information and instructions to follow in radiation-related occasions and incidents. This guide provides ready-made, handy information on radiation safety as required in the practice of nuclear medicine, presented in a concise form for easy understanding and quick reference related to a given situation and/or incident. This is an ideal reference for nuclear medicine physicians, nuclear medicine technologists, and researchers using radioactive materials." (publisher's description)

"This book describes the interaction of living matter with photons, neutrons, charged particles, electrons and ions. The authors are specialists in the field of radiation protection. The book synthesizes many years of experiments with external radiation exposure in the fields of dosimetry and radiation shielding in medical, industrial and research fields. It presents the basic physical concepts including dosimetry and offers a number of tools to be used by students, engineers and technicians to assess the radiological risk and the means to avoid them by calculating the appropriate shields. The theory of radiation interaction in matter is presented together with empirical formulas and abacus. Numerous numerical applications are treated to illustrate the different topics. The state of the art in radiation protection and dosimetry is presented in detail, especially in the field of simulation codes for external exposure to radiation, medical projects and advanced research. Moreover, important data spread in different up to date references are presented in this book. The book deals also with accelerators, X-rays facilities, sealed sources, dosimetry, Monte Carlo simulation and radiation regulation. The book is meant to be used by researchers, engineers and medical physicist. It is also valuable to technicians and students." (publisher's description)

"Atoms, Radiation, and Radiation Protection offers professionals and advanced students a comprehensive coverage of the major concepts that underlie the origins and transport of ionizing radiation in matter. Understanding atomic structure and the physical mechanisms of radiation interactions is the foundation on which much of the current practice of radiological health protection is based. The work covers the detection and measurement of radiation and the statistical interpretation of the data. The procedures that are used to protect man and the environment from the potential harmful effects of radiation are thoroughly described. Basic principles are illustrated with an abundance of worked examples that exemplify practical applications. Chapters include problem sets (with partial answers) and extensive tables and graphs for continued use as a reference work. This completely revised and enlarged third edition includes thorough updates of the material, including the latest recommendations of the ICRP and NCRP." (publisher's description)

"The use of radiation in research, medicine, and industry is highly regulated. Safety professionals working with radiation must possess not only a good understanding of science, but also of regulatory requirements. The RSO Survival Handbook provides an introduction to radiation safety including basic radiation science, radiation safety practices and procedures, and federal or state regulations. References and examples of forms to be used for surveys, audits, or for other specific investigations are included. The information provided in this reference will benefit the RSO working in an academic, research, or medical facility." (publisher's description)

"A standard of practice that establishes requirements for the design and fabrication of nuclear application, negative-pressure
gloveboxes that will be used for the operations that involve radioactive materials that emit low penetrating ionizing radiation." (publisher's description)

"The purpose of this Report is to provide guidance for the safe use of ionizing- and nonionizing-radiation sources in educational institutions, including both teaching and research activities. Brief explanations of the terms radiation, ionizing radiation, and nonionizing radiation are given in the Glossary. To take advantage of the benefits of using radiation sources in these activities, it is necessary to provide radiation safety controls commensurate with the potential hazard. Since the sources of radiation used in many educational institutions usually produce only low radiation levels, the potential hazard to faculty, staff and students is usually correspondingly low when simple basic precautions are followed. This Report is intended primarily for those institutions that do not need a full-time radiation safety professional because the uses and radiation levels of the sources are limited. In these instances, an individual with limited expertise in radiation safety (e.g., a professor, teacher, researcher, or general safety staff member) could assume the responsibility for implementing the radiation safety program. Usually, this individual is called the radiation safety officer (RSO). This individual may have other safety responsibilities in addition to radiation safety. Full-time RSOs may also find this Report helpful." (publisher's description)

"Report No. 144 (2003) is a substantial revision and expansion of NCRP Report No. 51, published in 1977 and entitled, Radiation Protection Design Guidelines for 0.1-100 MeV Particle Accelerator Facilities. NCRP Report No. 51 was one of the first comprehensive treatments of accelerator radiological-protection concerns. The Report revises and expands on the earlier report and includes new information on source intensities, shielding, dosimetry, and the environmental aspects of particle accelerator operation. It is primarily concerned with radiological safety aspects that are special to the operation of particle accelerators having energies above about 5 MeV up to the highest energies available, while not neglecting low-energy neutron generators. The purpose of this Report is to provide design guidelines for radiation protection, and to identify those aspects of radiological safety that are of major, or even unique, importance to the operation of particle accelerator installations and to suggest methods by which safe operation may be achieved. The Report is written from an engineering physics viewpoint and is intended to be useful to those engaged in the design and operation of accelerators, particularly in smaller institutions and organizations that do not have a large radiological-protection staff." (publisher's description)

"National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) Report No. 176, Radiation Safety Aspects of Nanotechnology, is intended primarily for operational health physicists, radiation safety officers, and internal dosimetrists who are responsible for establishing and implementing radiation safety programs involving nanotechnology. Nanotechnology is the understanding, engineering, control and use of matter at the nanoscale (i.e., dimensions between ~1 and 100 nm) where unique material phenomena enable novel applications. The Report also provides useful information for workers, managers, and regulators who are either working directly with or have other responsibilities related to work with radioactive nanomaterials or the use of radiation in nanotechnology." (publisher's description)