Skip to Main Content

Colonial states and African societies: Nigeria

Resources for the study of African colonial history including Belgian, British, French, and Portuguese colonial history.

Nigeria

National  Archives of Nigeria. Enugu and Calabar - Rescuing Eastern Nigerian history: preserving the holdings of Enugu and Calabar regional archives (EAP052)

The Catalogue: https://bit.ly/2UNrjic
EAP052/1 Selection of Records from the Office of the Secretary, Southern Provinces, Nigeria [1930s-1940s]
EAP052/2 Selection of Records from the Calabar Division Office, Calabar Province, Nigeria [1949-1955]
Contents as of 2019 were 7 records from the Enugu and Calabar Archives from the late 1800s to 1960. Southern Province Records, Intelligence Reports on Clans, Calabar Division Office Records, Petition from woman regarding her estate, Petitons / appeals against tax assessments in Calabar. [KF]
The Archive - https://eap.bl.uk/project/EAP052 or https://doi.org/10.15130/EAP052


National Archives of Nigeria, Kaduna - Northern Nigeria: Precolonial documents preservation scheme - major project (EAP535)
In English, Arabic, Hausa, Ajami. British colonial documents and Arabic and Hausa manuscripts.

  • Background on the British Library Endangered Archives project: https://eap.bl.uk/project/EAP535 or DOI: https://doi.org/10.15130/EAP535
  • Northern Province Secretariat, provincial files, Divisional & District Office records, court records, maps, photographs 1897-1920. 
    Topics include slavery, Islam, labor, agriculture, culture, reform of Caliphate institutions.
  • Arabic & Hausa Manuscripts. Covers "the social, economic and political history of the Sokoto Caliphate (the largest 19th century Islamic empire in West Africa)" - local chronicles,  correspondence, legal documents, religious literature late 18th century to 1903.
  • Collection EAP087/2:"Selection of Records from the Office of the Secretary of the Northern Provinces, Nigeria"
  • The Archives. https://eap.bl.uk/project/EAP535/
  • A study based on the documents: "Convict labour in early colonial Northern Nigeria: a preliminary study," by Mohammed Bashir Salau. Chapter in "From Dust to Digital: Ten Years of the Endangered Archives Programme"  Maja Kominko (ed.) Cambridge : Open Book Publishers, 2016.    1 online resource. https://bit.ly/2OclatD or  http://www.openbookpublishers.com/htmlreader/978-1-78374-062-8/10.Salau.xhtml#_idTextAnchor130

 

Catalogue of Nigerian pamphlets on microfilm / compiled by the African Collection, Yale University Library for the Cooperative Africana Microform Project and the Center for Research Libraries
New Haven, Conn. : The Library, [1979]
61 pages.http://catalog.crl.edu/record=b1775081~S1
or
https://www.crl.edu/sites/default/files/d6/attachments/pages/nigerianpamphlets.pdf

 

 


Nigeria.
[Intelligence reports on Southern Nigeria; a collection of unpublished reports prepared by British colonial officials] 1932 1942.
16 reels
Hoover Library MFILM JQ3099.S5N5
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9090021
For inventory see Nigeria. [Intelligence reports...inventory list] 5 leaves
in Hoover Stacks JQ3099.S5N5 Index
CRL also has the microfilm and has put online the Inventory / Guide

 

Nigeria. Legislative Council.
Debates
.

Imprint: Lagos, Government Printer.
[Superseded by: Nigeria. House of Representatives. Debates 1952]
Hoover Library Stacks.
Library has: 1-24, 1924-46; new ser. 1-5, 1947-51//
Call Number: G.D. NIGERIA
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/429796

 

Nigeria. House of Representatives.
Debates

Library has: 1952-1960
Hoover Library Stacks.
Call number G.D. NIGERIA
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/443858

 

Nigeria. House of Representatives.
Parliamentary debates 

Lagos : Federal Ministry of Information, Printing Division,
1961-1966: Jan. 15
Hoover Library Stacks
Call number G.D. NIGERIA
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8490149

 

Nigeria. National Assembly debates. House of Representatives, official report
Debates.

1979-1982, 1999-2001, 2003-2007, 2011-2013
Green Library, SAL 1/2, SAL3
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5711018

 

Nigeria. National Assembly. House of Representatives.
Votes and proceedings

Abuja
Green Library Stacks
Library has: 1999/2000-2000/2001, 2003/2004
Call number J745 .K27 F

SAL3
2008-2018  NOT complete.
Call number J745 .K27 F
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5962312


Nigeria. House of Representatives.
Votes and proceedings

[Abuja, Nigeria]
Latest: assem.7:sess.2:no.1 (2012:October 10)

Green Library
Call number J745 .G32 F ASSEM.6 SESS.1 JUN 2007/08
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/10244568

 

Nigeria. National Assembly journal
Abuja, Nigeria
2006-2019 not complete
Green Library
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8436540

 

Nigeria. National Assembly. Senate.
Debates; official report

Lagos.
Hoover Library Stacks
Access: Items must be requested in advance and viewed on-site.
Library has: 1960/61-65/66
Call number  G.D. NIGERIA
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/444177

 

Nigeria. National Assembly debates. Senate, official report
Lagos
Green Library Stacks
1980-1981,1999-2002, 2004, 2008, 2017-2018
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5782913

 

Nigeria. National Assembly. Senate.
Debates

Green Stacks
Library has: assembly 5:session 1:v.3/4(2004:Jan.13/June 2)
Call number J745 .J216B F 
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/12275476

 

Nigeria. National Assembly. Senate.
Senate report

[Abuja?] : Senate Committee Office, 200
Latest: 1999/2000
Green Library
Call number J745 .J21 F
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5603284
Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/NgrSenate/


Nigeria. National Assembly. Senate.
Votes and proceedings

Abuja : National Assembly
Green Library 1999/2000-2009 NOTcomplete.
SAL3  2005, 2008-2018  NOT complete.
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5965175

 

Senate resolutions
[Abuja] : Senate Committee on Rules and Business
Green Library Stacks
Library has: v.1(2007/2009)-
J745 .J216D 2011/2013     
J745 .J216D 2009/2010
J745 .J216D 2007/2009
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9104474

 

Nigeria. National Assembly [official web site]
Votes and Proceedings.

https://www.nassnig.org/

 

Nigerian Labor Soures

Lagos labour archive [microform].
Zug [Switzerland] : I.D.C.
219 microfiches
Hoover Library
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7197513
Contents:
1. Nigerian Ports Authority files (fiche 1-41)
2. Dock labour contractors (fiche 42-58)
3. Biney and Co., Ltd. files (fiche 59-71)
4. Trade unions (general) files (fiche 72-79)
5. NPA publications (fiche 80-125)
6. Draft materials (fiche 126-128)

and

Nigerian Labour Archive. (Collection Chief A. Fagbenro Beyioka).
62 microfiche
Hoover Library MFiche HD6870.N5N54
Covers 1943-1975.
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/1860433

The above are microfiched documents on Nigerian trade unions 1943-1975, edited by Peter Waterman and published by Inter Documentation Company (IDC). Peter Waterman's Ph.D. (1983) was on the political and theoretical significance of portworker and dockworker relations in Lagos (Nigeria) until the 1970s. Background on Peter Waterman and contents of his Papers are held in Amsterdam. https://search.iisg.amsterdam/Record/ARCH02586
 


Records of the U.S. State Department [microform] : Nigeria : political and governmental affairs, February 1963-1966 : subject-numeric file POL. United States. Department of State.
Woodbridge, CT : Primary Source Media, Gale Cengage Learning.

11 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
Media Microtext desk
Call number MFILM N.S. 17070

https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8788909
Gale Primary Source Media Online Guide. 35 pages.
http://140.244.174.204/Data/Download/9255000C.pdf

 

Pamphlets [in print] on Nigeria in Hoover Library.
Hoover has print editions of pamphlets from many countries. They are kept in manilla envelopes and cataloged under Library of Congress subject headings. To find the Nigerian pamphlets,
1. in Searchworks
2. put in the below -
  nigeria pamphlet collection

 

Catalogue of Nigerian pamphlets on microfilm / compiled by the African Collection, Yale University Library for the Cooperative Africana Microform Project and the Center for Research Libraries
New Haven, Conn. : The Library, [1979]
61 pages.
http://catalog.crl.edu/record=b1775081~S1
or
https://www.crl.edu/sites/default/files/d6/attachments/pages/nigerianpamphlets.pdf

This catalog indexes the pamphlet collections below.
1. Nigerian pamphlets [selected for filming by Kristin Mann] 1 reel
Hoover Library MFILM DT515.1.N688
26 pamphlets dating from 1889-1945
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/11054350

 

2. Nigerian pamphlets and other publications collected by Simon Ottenberg [microform].
Stanford, CA : Hoover Institution, 2015.
18 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
Hoover Library
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/10736743

Inventory of the microfilm at the Online Archive of California.
14 pages
http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/c8c53q7m/

 

3. Nigerian pamphlets collected by Philip Rappaport [microform]. 1 reel
Center for Research Libraries (Chicago)
http://catalog.crl.edu/record=b1775584~S1

 

4. Nigerian pamphlets filmed from the collections of the Ibadan University Library [microform]. 18 reels.
Center for Research Libraries (Chicago)
http://catalog.crl.edu/record=b1144068~S1

 

5. Great Britain. Colonial Office
Great Britain Colonial Office pamphlets about Africa
[London, Eng. : The Office, 1974?]
24 reels ; 35 mm
Hoover Library MFILM DT6.G785
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/7681015
NOTE Pamphlet collection containing materials on Africa, Central Africa, West Africa,
Congo, Gambia, Gold Coast, Lagos, Mauritius, Nigeria, Rhodesia, and Sierra Leone
Hoover Library

Also an inventory:
Great Britain. Colonial Office. Title: Pamphlets about Africa; microfilm 698 Duquesne University Library.
Contents listing by Donald Vrabel. 
Imprint: Pittsburgh, Pa., Duquesne University Library, 1974. 
 1 v. (various pagings) 28 cm.
Hoover Library Reference DT6.G785 1974
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/3124190