Colonial states and African societies: Nyasaland / Malawi
Nyasaland / Malawi
Malawi under colonial rule, in Government reports, 1907-1967
East Ardsley, Wakefield, United Kingdom : Microform Academic Publishers
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/14893344
- Online Malawi departmental annual reports on Administration (includes Native Affairs), Finance, Judicial and Police, Natural Resources, Social Services (includes education, health, labor), Transport and Public Works, Communications and Post Office Savings, Miscellaneous (includes statistical handbooks, population, Central Statistical Office),
- The Center for Research Libraries has these annual reports on microfilm. Stanford researchers please borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
Annual departmental reports relating to Nyasaland, 1907-1964
https://catalog.crl.edu/Record/312c06d1-1ba4-542a-9c99-3493b61b29f7
Tanzania and Malawi in records from colonial missionaries, 1857-1965
East Ardsley, Wakefield, United Kingdom : Microform Academic Publishers,
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/14893350
- The Universities’ Mission to Central Africa (UMCA) was an Anglican missionary society established in the late 1850s. In 1965, the UMCA merged with the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (SPG) to form the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (USPG). This collection contains documents relating to the UMCA’s activities in Tanzania, Zanzibar, and Malawi.
- Missionary correspondence, journals, books, conference papers, press cuttings.
- Includes their monthly magazine, Central Africa, Vol. 1-82 (1883-1964).
- Note - Hoover Library has some print issues. https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/356189
- Issues are also online in the database 19th Century UK Periodicals. https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/14896442
Summary of the proceedings of the Legislative Council of Nyasaland [microform].
Zomba, Nyasaland : Govt. Printer,
Microfilm
G.D. NYASALAND MFILM 1908:N.5-1955:JL.12
G.D. NYASALAND MFILM 1956:JL.9-1961:JL.4
Library also has some issues in print ed.
Library has: 2nd sess. (1908)-75th sess.<on 2 microfilm reels> (1961) incomplete: lacking issues (sessions 3, 18, 25-33, 39-58), missing and mutilated pages.
Hoover Library Stacks
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/414019
Summary of the proceedings of the Legislative Council of Nyasaland
Zomba : Government Printer
Library has: 58th sess. (1942:Nov.17), 59th sess. (1943:Dec.7)
Hoover Library Stacks
Call Number G.D. NYASALAND
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8932955
Record of the proceedings of the Legislative Council of Nyasaland
Nyasaland Protectorate.
Zomba, Nyasaland : Govt. Printer
Library has: 62nd sess. (1946:Dec.3, 1947:Feb.20), 63rd sess. (1947:Dec.2, 1948:Feb.17), 64th sess. (1949:Feb.28), 65th sess. (1949:Nov.28/Dec.2. 1950:May 1), 67th sess. (1951:Dec.17, 1952:Apr.7), 68th sess. (1953:Mar.16, 1953:Apr.20, July 27, Sept.8), 69th sess. (1955:May 2/3, July 12), 70th sess. (1955:Sept.5)
Call Number G.D. NYASALAND LEG COUN
Hoover Library Stacks
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/398337
Proceedings of the ... meeting of the ,,, Legislative Council
Uniform Title
Proceedings of the ...meeting of the ... session of the Legislative Council (Revised edition)
Zomba : Government Printer
Library has: 71st sess., 2nd mtg. (1956:July 9/13)-4th mtg. (1957:May 6/8),
72nd sess., 1st mtg. (1957:July 17/20)-3rd mtg. (1958:Mar.17/18),
73rd sess., 1st mtg. (1958:June 30/July 4)-2nd mtg (1958:Dec.1/4),
74th sess., 1st mtg. (1959:July 6/10)-76th sess.,
6th mtg. (1962:Oct.16/18)
Call No. G.D. NYASALAND LEGIS COUNCIL 1956-1958 and G.D. NYASALAND LEGIS COUNCIL 1959-1962
Hoover Library Stacks
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/451912
Proceedings of the meeting of Legislative Council
Uniform Title
Proceedings of the meeting of Legislative Council (Unrevised edition)
Nyasaland. Legislative Council.
Zomba : Government Printer
Library has: 71st sess., 4th mtg. (1957:May)
Library has: 72nd sess., 1-3 mtg. (1957:July-1958:Mar.)
Library has: 75th sess., 1-4 mtg. (1960:July-1961:July)
Library has: 76th sess., 1-2, 4-6 mtg. (1961:Sept.-1962:Oct.)
G.D. NYASALAND 1959:DEC,1960:MAY 10-12 In-library use
G.D. NYASALAND [1957:MAY.6-1961:JUL.4]
Hoover Library Stacks
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/451913
Proceedings of the meeting of Legislative Assembly
Uniform Title
Proceedings of the meeting of Legislative Assembly (Unrevised edition)
Nyasaland. Legislative Assembly.
Zomba : Govt. Printer,
Library has: 76th sess., 7-9 mtg. [1963:MAR.8-AUG.15]
Hoover Library Stacks
Call No. G.D. NYASALAND
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/357339
Proceedings of the ... meeting of the ... session of Legislative Assembly
Edition Rev. ed. Nyasaland. Legislative Assembly.
Zomba, Govt. Printer.
Library has: 76th sess., 7th mtg. (1963:Mar. 5/8)-8th mtg. (1963: July 9/16th), 10th mtg. (1963:Dec.10/16)-12th mtg. (1964:Feb.:25/26)
G.D. NYASALAND LEG ASSEM 1963:MR.5-JL.16
G.D. NYASALAND LEGIS ASSEM 1963:D.10-16
G.D. NYASALAND LEGIS ASSEM 1964:F.25-26
G.D. NYASALAND LEGIS ASSEM 1964:JAN.7-10
Hoover Library Stacks
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/357342
Proceedings of the meeting of the National Assembly
Responsibility
Nyasaland Protectorate.
Uniform Title
Proceedings of the ... the National Assembly (Revised edition)
Zomba : Govt. Printer, [1964]
Library has: 1st sess., 1st mtg. (1964:May 26/29)
Hoover Library Stacks
Call No. G.D. NYASALAND NATL ASSEM
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8933027
Official report of the proceedings (Revised edition)
Malawi. Parliament.
Zomba : Govt. Printer
Hoover Library Stacks
Items must be requested in advance and viewed on-site.
Library has: 1st sess., 2nd mtg. (1964:Sept.8/9)
G.D. MALAWI PARL. 1964:SEPT.8,9
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8933047
Official verbatim report of the debates : Hansard
Edition Revised ed.
Malawi. Parliament.
Zomba : Govt. Printer
Items must be requested in advance and viewed on-site
Library has: 1-11, 1964-74
Hoover Library Stacks
Call No. G.D. MALAWI
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/442343
Official verbatim report of the debates : Hansard
Unrevised edition. Malawi. Parliament
Zomba : Govt. Printer
Items must be requested in advance and viewed on-site.
Hoover Library Stacks has:
1964:July 7-1989:Nov.3 Not Complete
G.D. MALAWI 1988
G.D. MALAWI 1989
G.D. MALAWI 1993-1998
G.D. MALAWI [1964:JUL.7-1965:JAN.26]
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/442344
Parliamentary debates (Hansard)
Malawi. Parliament.
Zomba : Govt. Printer
1994-1998 Not Complete
SAL1/2 and Temporary Shelving
Call No. J728 .H2
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/4539436
National Assembly debates (Hansard)
Malawi. Parliament.
Zomba, Malawi : Govt. Printer
Library has: [1998-2003, 2005-2006] Not Complete
SAL3
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/5556331
Daily debates (Hansard)
Malawi. Parliament.
[Zomba : Govt. Printer]
Green Library Stacks
Lbrary has: session 39(2007)-session 40(2008)
J728 .H2 F 40 SESS.2RD:NO.1-12,21 2008
J728 .H2 F 40 SESS.1ST:NO.1-11 2008
J728 .H2 F 39 SESS.4TH:NO.21-37 2007
J728 .H2 F 39 SESS.4TH:NO.2-20 2007
J728 .H2 F 39 SESS.3RD:NO.9-18 2007
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8826725
and
SAL3
has 2010-2018 Not Complete
Call No. J728 .H2 F
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/8826725
Native Administration records (1891-1964) (EAP427) - British Library Endangered Archives Programme
EAP427/1 M'mbelwa Native Authority Administration [1934-1964]
EAP427/2 Nkhatabay Native Authorities [1889-1964]
EAP427/3 Karonga Native Authorities [1953-1964]
EAP427/4 Rumphi Native Authorities [1953-1964]
Project date c. 2011
https://eap.bl.uk/project/EAP427 or https://doi.org/10.15130/EAP427
Nineteenth Century collections online [electronic resource].
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/9637955
select
Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture
then select
Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa
which has The Livingstonia News (Livingstonia, Nyasaland), 1908-1924
African Newspapers
https://searchworks.stanford.edu/view/11820407
See the pull down menu. Check both African Newspaper check boxes.
You can search by keyword or newspaper title.
the Nyasaland Times