Arabic studies 

Arabic Literature: An Overview gives a rounded and balanced view of Arab literary creativity. ‘High’ literature is examined alongside popular folk literature, and the classical and modern periods, usually treated separately, are presented together.

Oxford Arabic Dictionary Arabic-English and English-Arabic two-way bilingual dictionary designed for both Arabic and English native speakers.

Brockelmann Online is an indispensable research tool for anyone working on the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular.

History of the Arabic Written Tradition presents English translation of the original German of Carl Brockelmann’s Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL) as accurately as possible.

Modern Arabic Literature provides an authoritative, comprehensive critical survey of creative writing in Arabic from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. With the spread of secular education, printing and journalism, a new reading public emerged. Against the background of the disintegration of the Ottoman Empire, the rise of nationalism, and the conflict between Islam and increasing Westernization, the traditional conception of literature as a display of verbal skill was replaced by the view that literature should reflect and indeed change social and political reality.

Arabica is a peer-reviewed academic journal of Arab studies founded in 1954 by Evariste Lévi-Provençal. It is dedicated to the study of the Arab world’s classical and contemporary literatures, languages,

Arab Studies Journal is a peer-reviewed, independent, multidisciplinary forum in the field of Arab and Middle Eastern studies. It is published twice a year by the Arab Studies Institute (ASI) and is affiliated with the Center for Contemporary Arab Studies at Georgetown University. history, thought and civilization.

Arabic Sciences and Philosophy is an international journal devoted to the Arabic sciences, mathematics and philosophy in the world of Islam between the eighth and eighteenth centuries, in a cross-cultural context. In 2009, the journal extended its scope to include papers on scientific modernization from the nineteenth century in the Islamic world. Together with original studies on the history of all these fields, ASP also offers work on the inter-relations between Arabic and Greek, Indian, Chinese, Latin, Byzantine, Syriac and Hebrew sciences and philosophy.

Dar al-Mandumah (al-Manẓūmah) provides access to a series of databases with full-text content of Arabic scientific conferences, dissertations, and academic journals from 1921 to present day. Most of the content available is in the Arts and Humanities covering topics such as religion, history, literature, and more.

Arabic Literature of Africa Online is a bio-bibliography on the Arabic manuscript tradition in the African continent, which continued well into the 20th century CE. It offers authoritative information about African authors, the texts they wrote in Arabic, the manuscripts in which these texts are found, and the locations of these manuscripts, together with bibliographical references to the literature.

Middle Eastern Literature is a forum for the academic study of all Middle Eastern Literatures from Late Antiquity until the present. We publish critical studies and translations of literature and other cultural works encoded in language (such as films, songs, graphic novels, memoirs, etc.). The journal’s linguistic scope is wide and encompasses works composed in, for example, the Persian, Turkish, post-Biblical and modern Hebrew, Kurdish, Urdu, Arabic, and Amazigh languages, as well as the colonial and diasporic languages through which Middle Eastern experiences have been mediated.

An Introduction to Arabic Literature provides a comprehensive introductory survey of literary texts in Arabic, from their unknown beginnings in the fifth century AD to the present. The volume focuses on the major genres of Arabic literature, dealing with Islam's sacred text, the Qur'an, and a wealth of poetry, narrative prose, drama, and criticism.

Arabic Literature in the Post-Classical Period brings together some of the most distinguished scholars in the field to explore the Arabic literary heritage of the little-known period from the twelfth to the beginning of the nineteenth century. This volume is a unique resource for students and scholars of Arabic literature for many years to come.

Lane’s Arabic-English Dictionary is a 19th-century reference work originally published in eight volumes. The Dictionary consists of Arabic words defined and explained in the English language.

Armenian studies 

Revue des Études Arméniennes is a peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes articles relating to Classical and medieval Armenian history, art history, philology, linguistics, and literature. The Revue was established in 1920 at the initiative of French scholars Fédéric Macler and Antoine Meillet.

The Armenian Review is a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published since 1948 and dedicated to exploring issues related to Armenia and Armenians. The Armenian Review is currently published twice a year in May and November.

Patrologica Orientalis is a collection of patristic texts from the Christian East, including works, recorded in non-Latin languages, that come from geographical, cultural, or religious contexts linked to Rome or the Eastern Roman Empire. All the texts in the PO are searchable, and the reader can check the translation with the original text visible alongside as a non-searchable PDF file.

Assyrian studies

Assyriological Studies is a platform created by the University of Chicago Oriental Institute for the publication of academic research on the ancient Near Eastern cultures that used cuneiform writing. The primary focus of the collection are archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics.

Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative is an archival library that consists of cuneiform tablet collections from various universities, museums, and private collections. It provides access to images of the tablets and information on their discovery and transliterations of the cuneiform into the English alphabet.

Oriental Institute Open Access provides access to all digital products of the Oriental Institute, including facsimiles of paper-based book, databases, born-digital initiatives, and multi-media presentations.

Cuneiform Digital Library Journal is a refereed e-journal for Assyriology. The journal publishes a broad and international range of cuneiform research articles that will appeal to academic researchers and interested members of the public.

Kurdish studies

Historical Dictionary of the Kurds contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture of the Kurds. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Kurds.

William Carter Papers (circa 1957-2004) includes books, magazines, negatives, photographic prints, slides, contact sheets, clippings, panoramic prints, born digital material, and more all collected or created by the Los Angeles-born photojournalist William Carter who graduated from Stanford University in 1957. Part of the photographs in this collection are taken during Carter’s travels in Kurdistan (Iraq) in the 1960s-70s. 

Cambridge History of the Kurds is an authoritative and comprehensive volume exploring the social, political, and economic features, forces, and evolution amongst the Kurds, and in the region known as Kurdistan, from the fifteenth to the twenty-first century. Written in a clear and accessible style by leading scholars in the field, the chapters survey key issues and themes vital to any understanding of the Kurds and Kurdistan including Kurdish language; Kurdish art, culture, and literature; Kurdistan in the age of empires; political, social and religious movements in Kurdistan; and domestic political developments in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Records of the Kurds: Territory, Revolt and Nationalism, 1831-1979: British Documentary Sources provides access to nine thousand pages of facsimile documents. The database traces early insurgencies directed by the Kurdish people against regional and metropolitan powers, and their interrelations with neighboring tribes and other ethnic groups at historical flash points, from the origins of nationalist sentiments through a series of disparate revolts in the nineteenth century, and then on to a larger, more cohesive, and discernible nationalist movement launched in the aftermath of World War I.

Kurdish Studies Journal is an interdisciplinary and peer-reviewed Journal dedicated to publishing high-quality research & scholarship on various aspects of Kurdish history and society.

Journal of Kurdish Studies seeks to make known to both specialists and a wider audience of scholars and interested persons the results of original research and new interpretations of significant issues. Devoted to the humanities and social sciences, it will cover history, linguistics and philology, written and oral literature, sociology, anthropology, political science, and international relations.  

Persian studies 

Golistan Project is devoted to contemporary Iranian pop culture and music. The portal is a virtual museum for the performing arts of Iran, from 1880 through 1990. This online environment includes recordings of solo performances by twentieth-century virtuosos, radio plays and programs, regional (mahalli) music, 78-rpm recordings, film, theater, and printed materials and journals. All these assets are digitized, indexed, and searchable by key rubrics.

Vajehyab is a comprehensive Persian dictionary online. The database consists of more than 17 dictionaries, including thirteen major Persian dictionaries and four Iranian dialects dictionaries. For each word or expression, it provides entries in Persian-to-Persian dictionaries with translations in English and Arabic.

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IDEO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates, and extensive bibliographical information.

Ganjoor provides access to the fully searchable text of the works of more than 200 classical Persian poets. The website uses Persian as the primary language. The works of major poets come with audio files.

International Journal of Persian Literature is a peer-reviewed journal with a novel focus on Persian poetics, poetry, classical Persian philology, prose, and the literature of Iran and the broader geographical areas.

Turkish studies

Turkish Language Society’s Online Dictionaries makes available online more than ten Turkish dictionaries. The list includes everyday Turkish, arts and sciences terms, dialects, proverbs, expressions, pronunciations, visual dictionary, etymology of Turkish words, sign language dictionary, and proper names dictionary.

LexiQamus is a website that aims to help researchers in deciphering illegible words in Ottoman manuscripts. Based on the legible letters and the symbols for illegible letters entered into the boxes, LexiQamus’s special algorithm provides a list of possible words matching the given restrictions.

Redhouse Turkish/Ottoman-English Dictionary is based largely on the Turkish-English lexicon prepared by Sir James Redhouse and published in 1890 by the Publication Department of the American Board.