Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Middle Eastern Studies: Maps Online
Library and Research Guide
Rumsey Map Center provides a unique research, teaching, and learning environment where the antiquarian and modern converge. The Center has two wall-sized, high-resolution screens to help our visitors fully investigate items from our collections. You can expand and zoom into oversized digital copies, while viewing the original document at the same time. The collection items are all available through SearchWorks.
An Historical Atlas of Islam provides an overview of Islamic history from its inception up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Originally prepared by William C. Brice and published by Brill in 1981, a revised and substantially augmented version of An Historical Atlas of Islam/Atlas Historique de l’Islam, was put together by Hugh Kennedy and published by Brill in November 2001.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. DARMC’s coverage begins under the Roman empire and extends nearly a thousand years toward the present by encompassing the medieval world. Although the initial post-Roman focus has been on medieval Europe, Byzantium and the Crusades have not been neglected, and we have begun to include the essential third leg of the tripod of medieval civilization, the Islamic world. DARMC contains dozens of data layers in several geodatabases, that is, databases whose data is georeferenced or specified in terms of decimal degrees of latitude and longitude.
Age of Exploration contains rare manuscripts, early printed materials, maps, documents, diaries, ships’ logs as well as speeches and films related to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c. 1420-1920.