SearchWorks is the search engine operated by Stanford University to carry out web searches for books, media, journals, databases, government documents and more in Stanford Libraries’ collections.

WorldCat (OCLC) is the global catalog of library materials. You can search for books, music, video, articles and much more at libraries near you.

Index Islamicus is a bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. It also includes reviews.

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. You can link Google Scholar search results to Stanford Libraries. On Google Scholar, go to the menu button, and then click Settings. Select Library links and search for Stanford University. Check Stanford University, then click Save.

JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.

Project MUSE provides access to full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of eBooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Persée is a digital library of open access to French-language scholarly journals, established by the Ministry of National Education of France.

ALA-LC Romanization Tables are approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association. The system is used to represent bibliographic information by North American libraries and the British Library (for acquisitions since 1975) and in publications throughout the English-speaking world.

EI3 Transliteration Table is developed by Brill and meant as a system for general scholarly use for entries published in the Encyclopaedia of Islam, third edition. The easiest way to key the transliteration characters is to use a dedicated keyboard for Arabic transliteration.

IJMES Transliteration Table follows a modified Encyclopedia of Islam transliteration system. The guidelines apply to Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish. With Ottoman Turkish, follow the age of your sources in deciding between transliteration and modern Turkish orthography.

Calendar Converter is an online calculator for converting dates to and from various calendar systems, including Gregorian, Julian, Hebrew, Islamic, Persian, Kurdish, Afghan, Mayan Long Count, Bahá’í, and French Republican.

Calendar Converter for Near East Historians is a simple calendar conversion utility that displays a given date according to five primary standards: Gregorian, Julian, Hebrew, Islamic, and Persian (i.e., Solar Hijri). Change the date in any of the tables below, then click the corresponding “Calculate” button, and the equivalent date will appear in the other four calendars. There is now limited support for the Ottoman fiscal (or Rumi) calendar, a Julian derivative. In the Hebrew case, the year is also listed according to the Seleucid era. And for the benefit of historians of the later medieval and early modern Persianate world, this converter further indicates the animal year in which the given date falls.

Abjad Calculator is an online tool to calculate abjad values of words, terms, and sentences in Persian, Arabic, and Ottoman Turkish. Abjad is an alphabetic numeral code where the 28 letters of the Arabic alphabet are assigned a number/numerical value. It is mostly used in poetry, mathematics, numerology, and for numbering items in lists.

Stanford Hume Center for Writing and Speaking works with all Stanford students to help them develop rich and varied abilities in every aspect of written and oral communication. In free individual sessions, Hume tutors help students get started on assignments; address and overcome writer's block or performance anxiety; learn strategies for revising, editing, and proofreading; and understand academic conventions in their fields.

The Chicago Manual of Style helps authors prepare manuscripts for submission to publishers and journal editors. CMS will also be of use to writers, editors, and publishers who are looking for models for procedure and content. Tools include examples of Chicago-style documentation, manuscript preparation, sample correspondence, proofreading, and process charts.