Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and services
Middle Eastern Studies: References Online
Library and Research Guide
The Encyclopaedia of Islam, in three editions published by Brill, is the standard reference work in the field of Islamic studies. The first edition was published in 1913-38, the second in 1954-2005, and the third was begun in 2007.
Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm Ansiklopedisi is a Turkish academic encyclopedia for Islamic studies published by Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı. Its recent 44-volume edition, titled Türkiye Diyanet Vakfı İslâm Ansiklopedisi (TDVIA), was completed between 1988 and 2013, with two supplementary volumes published in 2016.
Encyclopaedia Iranica is the most renowned reference work in the field of Iran studies. Founded by the late Professor Ehsan Yarshater and edited at the Ehsan Yarshater Center for Iranian Studies at Columbia University, this monumental international project brings together the scholarship about Iran of thousands of authors around the world.
Encyclopaedia Judaica is a 22-volume English-language encyclopedia of the Jewish people, Judaism, and Israel. It covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history of all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.
Encyclopaedia Islamica consists of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da’irat al-ma‘arif-i buzurg-i Islami. It provides entries on important themes, subjects, and personages in Islam generally and offers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiite Islam, the Persian contributions to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture which until now has lacked its own cohesive, discrete reference work. The Encyclopedia fills the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern, and modern periods.
Oxford English Dictionary contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision program, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter, and these will eventually accumulate to form the complete new edition.