A Handbook of Muhammadan Art by Maurice S. Dimand offers a comprehensive history of painting, calligraphy and illumination, bookbinding, sculpture, wood carving, ivory and bone carving, metalworks, and ceramics in the Islamic world from the beginning to the end of the Ottoman Empire.

The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Archaeology represents for the first time a survey of Islamic archaeology on a global scale, describing its disciplinary development and offering candid critiques of the state of the field today in the Central Islamic Lands, the Islamic West, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Asia. The international contributors to the volume address such themes as the timing and process of Islamization, the problems of periodization and regionalism in material culture, cities and countryside, cultural hybridity, cultural and religious diversity, natural resource management, international trade in the later historical periods, and migration. Critical assessments of the ways in which archaeologists today engage with Islamic cultural heritage and local communities closes the volume, highlighting the ethical issues related to studying living cultures and religions. Richly illustrated, with extensive citations, it is the reference work on the debates that drive the field today.

The City in the Islamic World examines the sites of life, politics and culture where current and past generations of the Islamic world have made their mark. Unlike many previous volumes dealing with the city in the Islamic world, this one has been specially expanded not only to include snapshots of historical fabric but also to deal with the transformation of this fabric into modern and contemporary urban entities.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture deals, in three illustrated volumes with more than 1,500 entries, with all aspects of this important area of study, ranging from the Middle East to Central Asia to Southeast Asia and Africa as well as Europe and North America. The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture covers all subject areas including artists, ruler, writers, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, painting, calligraphy, coins, textiles, and much more.

Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt (JARCE) is the first American journal devoted solely to the study of Egypt. It was established in 1962 to foster scholarly research into the art, archaeology, languages, history, and social systems of the Egyptian people.

Muqarnas is the first academic journal devoted to art, architectural history, archaeology, as well as all aspects of Islamic visual and material cultures, historical and contemporary.

Ars orientalis is a collection of scholarship that crosses academic disciplines and aims to connect researchers, institutions, and ideas using one central theme per volume. It is published by the Freer and Sackler Galleries at Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C in collaboration with the University of Michigan.

Eastern Christian Art is devoted to studies in Christian art and archaeology in the Middle East. Its aim is to present studies about the Christian material culture in countries of the Middle East within a broad, interdisciplinary context, including Late Antique, Byzantine, Islamic, and crusader elements.

Ars Islamica contains scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archaeology of Asia (published by the University of Michigan and the Smithsonian Institution between 1934-51).

Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion: Central and Southwest Asia is an encyclopedia about dress and ornamentation of the body in different cultures throughout history. It explores themes of personal and social identity related to the universal activity of dressing oneself.

International Journal of Architectural Research is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal of architecture, urban design, and planning, and built environment studies.

International Journal of Islamic Architecture is intended for those interested in urban design and planning, architecture, and landscape design in the historic Islamic world, encompassing the Middle East and parts of Africa and Asia, but also the more recent geographies of Islam in its global dimensions. The main emphasis is on detailed analysis of the practical, historical, and theoretical aspects of architecture, with a focus on both design and its reception. The journal is also specifically interested in contemporary architecture and urban design in relation to social and cultural history, geography, politics, aesthetics, technology, and conservation.

Journal of Material Cultures in the Muslim World aims to be a new reference for field archaeologists, art historians, anthropologists, curators, and scholars and students of the (art) history, archaeology, architecture, anthropology & ethnography of the Muslim world. It focuses on un(der)explored Muslim regions outside of the Middle East and Nord Africa: sub-Saharan Africa, the Indian Ocean, Central Asia, India, South-East Asia and Europe.

Edinburgh Studies in Islamic Art Series offers readers easy access to the most up-to-date research across the whole range of Islamic art, representing various parts of the Islamic world, media, and approaches.

Journal of Islamic Manuscripts explores the crucial importance of the handwritten book in the Muslim world. It is concerned with the written transmission of knowledge, the numerous varieties of Islamic book culture and the materials and techniques of bookmaking, namely codicology. It also considers activities related to the care and management of Islamic manuscript collections, including cataloging, conservation, and digitization.