In addition to the general resources shared above, the Archives provides access to many specific resources -- archival collections, oral histories, publications, exhibits, archived websites, data sets, and more -- to aid in your research into Stanford administrators, faculty, and staff:

Archival collections

• Archival collections in the Stanford Archives can be searched and paged for physical review using the Online Archive of California. A few notable areas of the collection to explore include:
  • Biographical files, including the Stanford University, Board of Trustees, biographical files, 1918-1975, the Stanford University biographical files collection, circa 1891-2011, and the Stanford News Service records, 1891-2020. 
  • Administrative records, including Board of Trustees meeting records, Presidential records, Provostial records, and Faculty Senate records.

  • Faculty papers, including the Paul Berg papers, Carolyn Bertozzi papers, Frederick Emmons Terman papers, and Yamato Ichihashi papers.
     

Oral histories

• Oral histories conducted through the Stanford Historical Society Oral History Program include Faculty Interviews, as well as interviews with Trustees, Presidents/Provosts, Vice Presidents/Vice Provosts, Deans, Faculty Senate, Staff, and more. 
   

Online exhibits

• Board of Trustees
• Computer Science at Stanford
• Edward Feigenbaum exhibit
• Faculty Senate of the Academic Council
• Hopkins Marine Station
• Hume Center for Writing and Learning
• John Gardner exhibit
• Matt Kahn exhibit
• Stanford in the News
• Service Learning at Stanford
• Stanford Prison Experiment / Philip Zimbardo exhibit. 
• Stanford Syllabi (2007-2016)
• Wolfgang K. H. Panofsky exhibit
   

Serial publications

• Annual reports to the President, 1904-1948
• Faculty Senate memorial resolutions, 
• Faculty-Staff Newsletter 1957-1968, Campus Report 1968-1995, Stanford Report, 1995-2009
• Sandstone and Tile
   

Monograph publications

• A Chronology of Stanford University and its Founders. Karen Bartholomew, Claude Brinegar, Roxanne Nilan, eds., 2001.
• Donald B. Tresidder: Stanford's Overlooked Treasure. Edwin Kiester, 1992.
• The Last of Your Springs. Donald Kennedy, 1998.
• The Stanford Senate of the Academic Council: Reflections on Fifty Years of Faculty Governance, 1968-2018: Written, compiled and edited by Peter Stansky, Ethan W. Ris, Susan W. Schofield, Hans N. Weiler and past senate chairs and academic secretaries, 2018.
• Stanford's Wallace Sterling: Portrait of a Presidency, 1949-1968. Roxanne L. Nilan, Cassius L. Kirk Jr., 2023.
• Voices from the Hennessy Presidency: Collected Interviews with University Leaders, 2000-2016. Eric Knight, ed., 2023.
   

Archived websites