The following publications, online exhibits, and archival collections can assist your research into Stanford buildings and spaces:
 

Serial Publications

• Sandstone and Tile: Quarterly newsletter published by the Stanford Historical Society featuring articles on Stanford history.
• Stanford Daily Archives: Full-text searchable website that provides access all previous issues of the Stanford Daily through 2014. Founded in 1892 as the Daily Palo Alto, the student-run newspaper became independent of the University in 1972. More contemporary articles can be searched directly through the current website of the Stanford Daily.
• Stanford Publications exhibit: Includes departmental newsletters, yearbooks, and other university publications, including Faculty-Staff Newsletter, 1957-1968, Campus Report, 1968-1995, and Stanford Report, 1995-2009.
   

Monograph Publications

• Scholarship through Stanford University Archives, 2000-: Monographs, dissertations, masters theses, and honors theses published using materials from the Stanford Archives since 2000.
• An Architectural and Historical Survey of Stanford University Buildings, 1949.
• Development of the Stanford Museum, 1964-1988 : report, circa 1988: This report by Professor and Art Department Chair Lorenz Eitner (whose papers are also housed in the Stanford Archives) covering the history, physical plant, administration, collections, exhibitions, publications, and educational role of the Stanford Museum; includes a listing of all exhibits in the museum and art gallery from 1963 to 1988.
• The Founders & the Architects: The Design of Stanford University, 1976.
• Historic Houses of San Juan Hill. Susan Wolfe, ed., 1995.
• Historic Houses of Lower San Juan Hill. Karen Bartholomew, Claude Brinegar, Roxanne Nilan, eds., 1998.
• Historic Houses III: San Juan Neighborhood. Karen Bartholomew, Margaret McKinnon, eds., 2005.
• Historic Houses IV: Early Residential Communities of the Lower San Juan District. Karen Bartholomew, Margaret McKinnon, eds., 2007.
• Historic Houses V: Southeast San Juan Neighborhood, Stanford University. Karen Bartholomew, Margaret McKinnon, eds., 2009.
• Historic Houses VI: Lower San Juan Neighborhood, Continued. Stanford University. Karen Bartholomew, Margaret McKinnon, eds., 2012.
• Historic Houses VII: South San Juan Neighborhood and Stock Farm, Stanford University. Karen Bartholomew, Margaret McKinnon, eds., 2016.
• The History of Jasper Ridge: Written by Dorothy F. Regnery, this book describes the history of Jasper Ridge, the Stanford University land that is now a biological preserve.
• Nature Walks at Stanford.  Ingeborg Ratner, 1996.
• The Stanford Album: A Photographic History: 1885-1945: The Stanford Album brings together some 600 photographs, largely unpublished, and an interpretive text to tell the story of the community life of Stanford University from the University's creation in 1885 through the Second World War.
• Stanford's Red Barn. Karen Bartholomew, Peter Allen, 1984.
• Stanford Street Names: A Pocket Guide. Revised and Updated. Richard Cottle, 2014.
• Stanford University: The Campus Guide, 2nd. ed., 2006: Architectural guide to the campus. Organized by building, within chronological periods. Includes index.

Online exhibits

• A Stanford Atlas: The Stanford Atlas exhibit highlights maps, architectural drawings, prints, and aerial photographs of the Stanford University campus and related lands drawn from a range of collections in the University Archives; the architectural drawings of noted Palo Alto architect Birge M. Clark; and architectural drawings of Frank Lloyd Wright's iconic Hanna House.
• Becoming Stanford: Explores the historical elements underlying the design and adoption of Stanford's insignia. Includes discussion of El Palo Alto.
• Hanna House exhibit: Includes correspondence, blueprints, drawings, photographs, and other records relating to the planning, design and construction of the campus home of Professor and Mrs. Paul R. Hanna. The exhibit focuses on the Hanna's work with architect Frank Lloyd Wright extending from the initial planning of the house through later renovations.
• Hopkins Marine Station exhibit: Includes photographs of the Hopkins Marine Station, the marine laboratory of Stanford University, located in Pacific Grove, California. Founded in 1892, it the oldest marine laboratory on the US Pacific Coast.
• Stanford Historical Society exhibit: Includes all issues of Sandstone and Tile (and its predecessor, the Stanford Historical Society Newsletter), oral history recordings and transcripts, program recordings, and links to digitized publications.
• Stanford in the News exhibit: Includes photographs and media created by Stanford News Service. Note that Stanford community members may also be able to access related images via sallie.stanford.edu.
• Stanford Photographs exhibit: Includes over 300,000 photographs, such as the Stanford Historical Photograph Collection.
• Stanford Publications exhibit: Includes departmental newsletters, yearbooks, and other university publications, including Faculty-Staff Newsletter, 1957-1968, Campus Report, 1968-1995, and Stanford Report, 1995-2009.
• Trees of Stanford: Make the acquaintance of over 400 species representing 150 genera and sixty families – 43,000-plus individual trees growing on campus. The Encyclopedia of Trees, Shrubs, and Vines is based on Professor Ronald Bracewell’s Trees of Stanford and Environs, published by the Stanford Historical Society.
   

Archival Collections

Primary source collections that support research on topics related to Stanford's physical presence in California and elsewhere include:

• Arthur Brown papers: Arthur Brown, Jr. and John Bakewell, Jr. formed their San Francisco architectural firm, Bakewell and Brown, in 1906. They became associated with Stanford University in 1913. They designed a number of campus buildings, including the education building, art gallery, library (1919), Hoover tower, women's gymnasium, and several dormitories. The papers of Arthur Brown, Jr. include correspondence, professional papers, clippings, and architectural drawings, pertaining to Hoover Tower and other buildings designed for Stanford University. 
• Hanna house collection, 1900-1995: Many items in this collection have been digitized and included in the Hanna House exhibit and A Stanford Atlas. Includes correspondence, blueprints, drawings, photographs, and other records relating to the planning, design and construction of the campus home of Professor and Mrs. Paul R. Hanna. The collection focuses on the Hanna's work with architect Frank Lloyd Wright extending from the initial planning of the house through later renovations. Also included is a plaster star burst medallion, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, from the proscenium arch of the Louis Sullivan designed Garrick Theater in the Schiller Building (1892) in Chicago.
• Lou Henry Hoover House Papers, 1917-1960: Primarily correspondence between the Hoovers, Professor Clark and Mr. Clark regarding planning and construction of the Lou Henry Hoover house; sketches and specifications for the house. Part of the correspondence consists of copied materials from the Lou Henry Hoover papers in the Herbert Hoover Library (West Branch, Iowa), some of which concern Louis Mullgardt's plans for a house. Also includes materials used for and final edition of Mr. Clark's Memoirs about Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Hoover, with Particular Emphasis on the Planning and Building of their Home on San Juan Hill. (Palo Alto: privately printed, 1969).
• Stanford University architectural drawings collection,1889-: Most items in this collection have been digitized and included in A Stanford Atlas. This collection documents properties owned by Leland and Jane Stanford; buildings on the Stanford University campus and other properties owned by the university; faculty houses on campus; and bike and pedestrian pathways. Architects include Bakewell and Brown, Thomas Church, A. B. Clark, Louis C. Mullgardt, Shepley, Rutan & Coolidge, and Warnecke & Associates.
• Stanford University, Capital Planning and Management, records, 1965-1992: Records include correspondence, reports, memoranda, and minutes largely pertaining to buildings, budgets, and facilities issues such as air quality and seismic refitting.
• Stanford University map collection, 1853-: Most items in this collection have been digitized and included in A Stanford Atlas. The maps in this collection pertain to the University campus, to other lands owned by Jane and Leland Stanford or the University, and to adjacent communities. Included are maps of the Palo Alto Stock Farm, the land in Santa Clara County that Leland and Jane Stanford purchased as a country home and trotting horse farm which later became the campus of Stanford University; plans for the proposed campus by F. L. Olmsted & Company; miscellaneous campus maps for planting schemes, location of the Peninsular Railway line on campus, plans for Junipero Serra Boulevard, and housing subdivisions; maps of adjacent communities of Mayfield, Woodside, Palo Alto, and Menlo Park along with other subjects such as San Francisquito Creek, Searsville Lake, and Greystone Quarry. There are also three map books: a small volume concerning assorted lands owned by the Stanfords, c. 1869-1903; a block book for the campus, 1901-1903; and insurance maps for the campus, 1917.
• Stanford University, University Architect / Campus Planning and Design, records, 1945-2018: Records include correspondence, memoranda, minutes, reports, studies, surveys, maps, and plans. The majority of the plans in this collection are 8 by 10 inch photographic reproductions of larger items, prepared for use in reports and publications.
• Stanford University, Land, Buildings & Real Estate, Dept. of Land Use and Environmental Planning, Records and Architectural Drawings:  includes records and drawings from the Department of Land Use and Environmental Planning, part of Stanford University, Land, Buildings & Real Estate.
• Stanford University print collection, 1862-: Most related items in this collection have been digitized and included in A Stanford Atlas. This collection contains lithographs, drawings, watercolor paintings, art prints, diplomas, certificates, printed illustrations, cartoons, advertisements, bird’s eye maps, and other printed formats. The main focus is Stanford University and its founders; subjects include campus buildings and views. Some items of note include The Leland Stanford Junior University, Plan of Central Premises, 1888, by Shepley, Rutan and Coolidge, architects, and Frederick Law and J. C. Olmsted, landscape architects; original water color designs of mosaics for Memorial Church by A. E. Paoletti; and design for the president’s house by Louis Christian Mullgardt, architect.
• Stanford Historic Photograph Collection: Most items in this collection (and our other photograph collections) have been digitized and included in the Stanford Photographs exhibit; Related materials are also included in A Stanford Atlas. The Stanford historical photograph collection contains images related to: the campus and campus life, the Stanford family, and faculty and administrative staff. The majority of photographs are black and white gelatin prints but nineteenth-century albumen prints mounted on boards are also represented. 
• Stanford University Postcard Collection, 1898-1982: The Postcard Collection depicts Stanford University buildings, grounds, and people; subjects include athletics and athletic facilities, student amusements, the cactus garden, old chemistry building, dormitories, fraternity and sorority houses, views of the Quad and Inner Quad, Lake Lagunita, libraries, Stanford mausoleum, Memorial Arch, Memorial Church, museum, the Palo Alto tree, university workers (primarily images of horse-drawn wagons), David Starr Jordan, Domenico Grosso ("the Stanford hermit"), and the presidential installation of John C. Branner. A number of items depict damage to buildings from the 1906 earthquake. There are also a few items depicting Palo Alto and surrounding communities.