The University Archives provides equitable access to all processed collections. In accordance with university policy, standard archival practices, as well as relevant legal statutes, the following restrictions apply:

Administrative Records
Records of the Office of the President and the Office of the Provost are closed for a minimum period of 20 years from the date of tenure of the office holder.

Records of the Board of Trustees are closed for a minimum period of 20 years from date of creation.

Meeting agendas and minutes of the Faculty Senate are accessible to all Stanford affiliates with a SUNetID, or non-Stanford affiliates after a minimum period of 20 years from date of creation. Photographs and Memorial Resolutions are accessible to all users. Access to other Faculty Senate materials, including the records of Faculty Senate committees, requires the permission of the Academic Secretary.

During the restricted period, the records delineated above will be made available only to the office of origin, the staff of the Department of Special Collections & University Archives, and officers of the University, as necessary.

Employee Records
Employee records, including those pertaining to an appointment, employment, performance evaluation, payroll/salary information, disciplinary action, and similar personnel matters, are closed for a minimum of 75 years from date of creation to protect private and personal information contained within.

Student Records
Student academic records, such as transcripts, are closed during the lifetime of the student subject to the provisions of the Federal Family Education and Privacy Rights Acts of 1974 (FERPA). An exception is made for academic materials (including theses and dissertations) which have been explicitly deposited for public access by the student. 
 
Honors papers and other undergraduate work that may be included in class materials received by the Archives are considered part of the student’s record. The materials may be read by users, but may not be reproduced (even under fair use guidelines) without the written permission of the author.

Health Information
Access to restricted health information is limited according to the broader Special Collections departmental policy.

Additional Restrictions
Access to certain manuscript collections or portions of manuscript collections, including papers of faculty members, staff, students/alumni, or oral histories, may be limited in accordance with restrictions stipulated by the donor in the deed of gift. We work with donors and record creators when necessary to protect sensitive materials through appropriate access restrictions. The restriction will be recorded in the finding aid.