Please refer to the News databases tab on this guide to find access points to newspaper database that include indexing to the New York Times.  

For daily reading of the (online version) New York Times, please refer to the Online U.S. Newspaper (Stanford-wide Access) tab in this guide.  

The New York Times TDM Archive (1980-2021) is now available to Stanford University researchers with SUNet IDs for text and data mining. Researchers can now access article text and metadata, encoded as XML objects. This 40-Year textual digital archive of the nytimes.com, consists of approximately 3 million articles published by The New York Times, including but not limited to news, lifestyle, opinion and The New York Times Magazine. The collection excludes reader comments, paid obituaries and the kids section.

For access:

• Stanford researchers must have an active SUNet ID.
• Researchers must agree to the terms of a Data Use Agreement (DUA) available via the link in the Searchworks record.  The link in the Searchworks record connects to the Stanford Data Farm. You will prompted to create for the Stanford Data Farm, as long as you have the correct credentials.  Once you have an account , then search for "The New York Times TDM Archive".  From there, you will be required to read and agree to the Data Use Agreement, before access to the data is granted. 
• The research must be for non-commercial and academic purposes.
• Dates covered: 1980-2021.
• Instructions for using the XML files are included in the data documentation.

Please note: This archive of the NYT corpora does not include access to the online version of the NYT. Please see News databases section for information on how to access specific news articles published by the New York Times. 

For additional questions, please contact: Regina Roberts