The SAGE Handbook of Online Higher Education presents a cutting-edge collection of 50 essays that explores the rapidly evolving landscape of online teaching and learning in higher education. Assembled and contributed by a team of leading experts, the Handbook adopts a uniquely holistic approach to examining the needs of online education. Chapters bring together voices from diverse and international backgrounds to provide insights applicable to a broad range of contexts, and present practical strategies for planning, delivering quality online higher education.

Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic, critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic.

Active learning occurs when a learning task can be related in a non-arbitrary manner to what the learner already knows and when there is a personal recognition of the links between concepts. The most important element of active learning is not so much in how information is presented, but how new information is integrated into an existing knowledge base. In order to successfully implement active learning into higher education, its effect on student engagement must be studied and considered. The Handbook of Research on Active Learning and Student Engagement in Higher Education focuses on assessing the effectiveness of active learning and constructivist teaching to promote student engagement and provides a wide range of strategies and frameworks to help educators and other practitioners examine the benefits, challenges, and opportunities for using active learning approaches to maximize student learning.

With over 600 signed entries, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education demonstrates the impact higher education has had on global economies and universities across the world. This encyclopedia touches on all aspects of higher education through: key concepts, debates, approaches, schools of thought on higher education, and role of universities.

The Handbook of Research on Enhancing Innovation in Higher Education Institutions examines innovativeness in higher education and its complications and diversity. Starting from the view that higher education is currently confronted by global forces that require new research ideas, the publication suggests that comprehensive understanding of innovativeness is imperative for higher education's institutions in the 21st century.

The Handbook of Research on Diversity and Social Justice in Higher Education examines cross-cultural perspectives, challenges, and opportunities pertaining to advancing diversity and social justice in higher education. Furthermore, the book explores multiple concepts of building a bridge from a monocultural pedagogical framework to cross-cultural knowledge through appropriate diversity education models as well as effective social justice practices.

The Handbook of Research on Adult Learning in Higher Education is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of adult education in residential, online, and blended course delivery formats. This book will focus on the impact that culture, globalization, and emerging technology currently has on adult education.

In this valuable resource, well-known scholars present a detailed understanding of contemporary theories and practices in the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation, with guidance on how to apply these ideas for the benefit of students and institutions.

The Handbook of Research on E-Assessment in Higher Education provides emerging perspectives on the theoretical and practical aspects of digital assessment techniques and applications within educational settings.