Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesFashion and other disasters : Newspaper resources
Guide to library resources for the two research projects. Please note the historical fashion periodicals in the Art Library link.
Historical newspaper resources
- Gale NewsvaultGale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper and collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products owned by their institution, including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; British Library Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; the Economist Historical Archive, 1846-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Penny Illustrated Paper; Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985; and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2005.
- ProQuest news & newspapersA database of articles from newspapers. This includes general databases, such as Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, US Hispanic Newsstand, as well as individual titles, both Historical Newspapers, and the current (and historical) Los Angeles Times.
- RetroNewsRetroNews, the official news site of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, offers 400 titles of the French press published from 1631 to 1950 plus editorial contents highlighting press archives and advanced research tools
For further information on news and newspaper resources, check this guide for international and historical news.
