Both Stanford community members and external researchers are welcome to use Special Collections and University Archives materials. Please note that the vast majority of collections are stored off-site. Patrons must request materials two full business days before the planned date of use. In some cases, paging may take up to a week. Due to space constraints we are only able to accommodate 5 new boxes of material per patron, per day. All materials can be paged online through a user’s Aeon account via the Online Archive of California (OAC). Additionally patrons can edit and track their requests through the Aeon portal. Those who are unable to visit in person can request digital copies of files (up to 100 pages). Please contact Special Collections via email with questions or concerns about requesting materials.

From Searchworks:

• Locate the collection’s catalog entry using the search bar. Filter the SearchWorks results to Library -> Special Collections using the side panel dropdowns. Note that if you are searching by call number you will need to change the search bar setting from "All fields" to "Call number".

• Use the “Request via Finding Aid” button to be taken to the collection’s OAC catalog entry.

• Use the “Request Items” button to open the Aeon login page. This can also be done from “Printable Guide” ->  “Request Items”.

• Stanford affiliates select the “Log in with SUNet ID” option. External visitors (you do not have a SUNet ID) select “Log in or create an account” 
• Returning users use Aeon login information to access your account. 
• First time users will need to register using the "First time users" button.

• Once logged in, check the boxes in the finding aid to select materials for use.

• Fill out the “Request information” section. Note that most fields are not required.

• Select “Schedule appointment” under “Request type” the reading room location will be auto selected based on the collection. If you have already scheduled an appointment, use the drop down to select the date that you would like to view materials. For new appointments double click the “New appointment” button.
  

• Double click the time and date of your planned appointment. Note that 2 business days are needed to retrieve materials, thus time slots that are less than 2 days out are blocked. Note appointment times are when your items will arrive. Once you have materials in the Reading Room, you do not need to make additional appointments to view the same materials. 

• Once your appointment is listed in the appointment box, select “Submit request”. 
• Request will be viewable and editable on your Aeon account. Check the "Item status" to determine what stage requests are in.

• Once materials arrive. Status will update from "awaiting approval" --> "in transit" --> to "ready for use". If you have material that is "ready for use" you do not need to make an appointment to visit the Reading Room. Please drop by M-F 9-5.