Using Special Collections and University Archives: Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives
Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives
This guide is an introduction to using Special Collections and University Archives materials at Stanford University. It outlines instructions for identifying, requesting and working with Special Collections materials in the Field Reading Room located on the second floor of the Cecil H Green Library.
The Department of Special Collections and University Archives acquires, preserves, and makes available materials of enduring historic value. We support the research needs of Stanford students, faculty, and the larger community of scholars. Collections include personal papers of scientists, artists, political activists, and writers; photographs; manuscript drafts; rare books; audio visual materials and more. For more information visit the Special Collections and University Archives website.
Access to collections is provided through Stanford Libraries' Catalog, SearchWorks and the Online Archive of California.
Stanford University instructors interested in teaching with Special Collections materials should consult the Teaching with Special Collections LibGuide.
Highlights from Special Collections and University Archives
Armand Bacou correspondence to his wife and daughter, 1915-1918
Douce Rêverie, Armand Bacou correspondence to his wife and daughter (M2644). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California
Stanford Black Student Union fashion show, 1969
Photograph from the Stanford University, News Service, records 1954-2010
Stanford Black Student Union fashion show, 1969, Stanford University, News Service, Records (SC0122 ). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
Brave and bold weekly
Brave and bold weekly: Collection of Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls (ZZ1). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California
Photographs and newsclippings
Photographs and newsclippings, Bernice Bing papers (M2651). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California
Palo Alto and the Leland Stanford Junior University. Probably from the San Francisco News Letter. Three views of the artist’s conception of what the campus would look like when completed
Stanford University print collection (SC1039). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, Calif.
Center Martin Luther King Jr. singing, annual Southern Christian Leadership Conference staff workshop Penn Center, Frogmore, SC 1966
Center Martin Luther King Jr. singing, annual Southern Christian Leadership Conference staff workshop Penn Center, Frogmore, SC 1966, Bob Fitch photography archive -- Martin Luther King Jr. gallery, 1965-1966, (M1994). Stanford University. Libraries. Department of Special Collections.
Boycott Non-UFW Grapes, Gallo Wine
Boycott Non-UFW Grapes, Gallo Wine, Stanford Chicano community records, 1968-1980 (SC0653). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, Calif.
Epitoma in Almagestum Ptolemaei
Epitoma in Almagestum Ptolemaei, Incunabula Collection, The Samuel I. and Cecile M. Barchas Collection in the History of Science and Ideas, Barchas Collection (KA1496 .R4 F). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
Getsl der gazln
Getsl der gazln, Israeli Yiddish entertainment posters (MSS PRINTS 0511). Dept. of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
The Golden Gate from Telegraph Hill, San Francisco
The Golden Gate from Telegraph Hill, San Francisco, Photographs of the Pacific coast, Carleton E. Watkins, ( 917.94 .W335 FF BB ). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
Ancient coin, Roman Imperatorial denarius, Julius Caesar
Ancient coin, Roman Imperatorial denarius, Julius Caesar, The Cantor Arts Center collection of ancient coins (M2208). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
The Nativity
The Nativity, Don Simone Camaldolese, 1410, T. Robert & Katherine States Burke collection of late medieval and early Renaissance miniatures (M2223). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
Śpiewy polskie, op. 74, no. 16
Śpiewy polskie, op. 74, no. 16, Frédéric Chopin, Memorial Library of Music Collection, MLM. Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
The hands of Ruben Barrales show the juice and dirt from tobacco plants
The hands of Ruben Barrales show the juice and dirt from tobacco plants, David Bacon photography archive (M2468). Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California.
