Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences: Earth sciences
Earth sciences
Branner Library provides a wealth of information related to the earth sciences. This information comes in the form of books, journals, databases, datasets, encyclopedias, reference works, and people with deep expertise in helping you find information. Use the resources in this guide to help you navigate to the information you need.
You can start your research by looking through the current journal literature. Browzine allows you to review your favorite journals all in one place.
- Annual review of earth and planetary sciencesThe Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences, in publication since 1973, covers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Encyclopedia of Geology by ISBN: 9780126363807Publication Date: 2004-12-16This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail. Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Expand your research by searching in a general citation database that will help you identify current and historical research.
- ScopusScopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, SciVerse Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- Web of science core collectionWeb of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
- GeoScienceWorldServes as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- GeoRefCovers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics ... GEOREF organizes and indexes papers from over 4,500 serials and other publications representative of the interests of the twenty professional geological and earth science societies that are members of the AGI.
- EarthWorks"EarthWorks is a discovery tool for geospatial (a.k.a. GIS) data. It allows users to search and browse the GIS collections owned by Stanford University Libraries, as well as data collections from many other institutions. Data can be searched spatially, by manipulating a map; by keyword search; by selecting search limiting facets (e.g., limit to a given format type); or by combining these options. Data are available from numerous research institutions across the United States covering a vast array of subjects and base layer information. Thousands of datasets in vector and raster format have been described at the individual layer level allowing for easy searching and retrieval. You will find both public and restricted data. The restricted data are tied to the institution that holds the content" -- Stanford digital libraries blog.
- Earth ArXivEarthArXiv.org is the preprint platform for the earth sciences.
When you start finding relevant and interesting research publications, you'll want an easy way to store and access the citations. That way you can refer back to them and cite them in your own publications. Citation managers help you save, organize, and share citations. Citation managers also allow you to generate lists of references and inline citations automatically. Below are different citation managers available to you.
Developed by the Corporation for Digital Scholarship, a nonprofit organization, Zotero follows a freemium model. Zotero offers 300 MG of storage space for free and additional storage space for a subscription fee. Zotero allows you to:
- use their web app and desktop app
- store citations and documents
- save references directly from the web with browser plug-ins
- cite as you write with MS Word plug-in and Google Docs plug-in
- tag documents
- share private folders and public folders
Developed by ProQuest, RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that requires an institutional liscense. Stanford Libraries maintains an institutional license for Stanford. If you are new to RefWorks, then you will want to start with the new RefWorks and use your Stanford email to create an account. The new RefWorks allows you to:
- use their web app
- store citations and documents
- save references directly from the web with browser plug-ins
- cite as you write with MS Word plug-in and Google Docs plug-in
- tag and annotate documents
- share private folders and public folders
- use unlimited storage due to our site license
Developed by Elsevier, a for-profit academic publisher, Mendeley also follows a freemium model. Mendeley offers 2GB of storage space for free and additional storage space for a subscription fee. Mendeley allows you to:
- use their web app and desktop app
- store citations and documents
- save references directly from the web with browser plug-ins
- cite as you write with MS Word plug-in
- tag documents and annotate documents
- share private and public folders
Developed by Clarivate Analytics, a for-profit company, EndNote offers a free web app (EndNote basic) and a desktop app (EndNote X9) that requires a one-time purchase. EndNote allows users to:
- use their web app and desktop app (desktop app requires EndNote X9)
- store citations and documents (document storage requires EndNote X9)
- save references directly from the web with browser plug-ins
- cite as you write with MS Word plug-in
- share private folders
- easily save references from Web of Science