AGRICOLA serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is organized into two data sets. The NAL Public Access Catalog contains citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials. The Article Citation Database contains citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints.

CAB Abstracts indexes journal articles in the applied life sciences. It covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The database indexes literature published from 1910 to the present. Over 9,000 serials representing 125 countries are indexed in full or in part.

Indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present. Zoological Record has long been recognized as the "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics, but other topics in animal biology are also covered.