Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesBuddhism and Asian religions: Find images
This guide is intended to help students, faculty, and researchers locate and access sources and reference tools for the study of Buddhism and other Asian religions.
Primary sources - images
- Daoist Iconography ProjectDatabase of Daoist imagery, maintained by Prof. Poul Andersen.
- Digital DunhuangWebsite of the Dunhuang Academy, allows users to view high-resolution images of different caves.
- East Asian Scroll PaintingsViewer for large scrolling images from the University of Chicago.
- Grove Art OnlineOnline encyclopedia of artistic works containing numerous articles on various regional forms of Buddhism, with links to external image collections.
- Himalayan Art ResourcesExtensive collection of Himalayan art images and database of iconographical features.
- The Huntington ArchiveSearch interface for the Huntington Archive, containing more than 200,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia.
- International Dunhuang ProjectImages from Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites.
- Koelz Collection of Himalayan ArtDigitized items from the Museum of Anthropological Archaeology Koelz Collection, containing materials obtained during Walter Norman Koelz and Thakur Rup Chand's travels in the Himalayan regions in the 1930s.
- Ladakh ArchaeologyThe largest database on the heritage of Ladakh, hosting 160,000+ images covering 1900+ monuments/sites/heritage entries.
- National Museum of Asian ArtView digital images of East, Central, South, and Southeast Asian art from the Freer and Sackler collections at the Smithsonian Institute.
- National Palace Museum Open DataDownloadable collection of images from the Taiwan National Palace Museum.
- SAT Taishōzō Image DBImages from the Sino-Japanese Buddhist canon.
- Yale Silk Road ProjectOver 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Dr. Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan.
