Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesBuddhism and Asian religions: Find Indo-Tibetan primary sources
This guide is intended to help students, faculty, and researchers locate and access sources and reference tools for the study of Buddhism and other Asian religions.
Primary sources - Indo-Tibetan
- Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP)Downloadable versions of digitized Tibetan and Sanskrit Buddhist texts.
- British Library Endangered ArchivesThe collections from China and Bhutan both contain digitized rare Tibetan manuscripts.
- Buddhist Canons Research DatabaseSearch for titles in the Kangyur and Tengyur, with links to electronic texts.
- Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC)Formerly the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC), this database includes PDF scans of many canonical Tibetan texts, and is increasingly supporting full-text search.
- Database for Sanskrit Manuscripts in the University of Tokyo LibraryDatabase containing high-quality IIIF scans of Sanskrit Manuscripts from the University of Tokyo collection
- Digital Sanskrit Buddhist CanonLarge collection of digitized Sanskrit Buddhist texts.
- Digitized Tibetan ArchivesLarge collection of handwritten Tibetan legal documents from a number of different archives, including the Kundeling Monastery archive.
- Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages (GRETIL)Collection of digitized Indological materials from Central and Southeast Asia, encompassing Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, etc.
- Hodgson Papers from the British LibraryContains a wide range of materials gathered in 19th cenury Tibet and Nepal.
- Kawaguchi Ekai Tibetan Text CollectionThe Kawaguchi Collection of Tibetan Texts kept in the Toyo Bunko is a large collection of Tibetan blockprints and manuscripts brought from Tibet by Rev. Kawaguchi Ekai in the early 20th century, containing over 400 volumes of Tibetan scholarly works.
- Ngor's Textual TreasuresCatalog of Tibetan manuscripts formerly housed at Ngor Monastery and presently held at the National Library of Bhutan.
- Old Tibetan Documents OnlineA corpus of selected Old Tibetan texts (VIIth to XIIth centuries): Dunhuang manuscripts, Inscriptions and related materials.
- Peking Tripitaka Online SearchSearch for titles in the Peking edition of the Tibetan canon.
- Prince Yunli CollectionDigitized manuscripts from the collection of the Manchurian Prince Yunli (1697-1738).
- Resources for Kanjur & Tanjur StudiesComprehensive tools for studying canonical literature in more than 50 Kanjurs and manuscript collections, such as online catalogues, searchable e-texts, and an extensive archive of images of Tibetan manuscripts as well as secondary sources.
- Rinchen Terdzö ProjectSearchable catalog of the Rinchen Terdzö Chenmo, including digital texts.
- Sri Lanka Tipitika ProjectOnline versions of Pali canonical texts in Pali/English/Sinhalese.
- Thesaurus Literature BuddhicaeSide-by-side presentations of Buddhist texts in English, Sanskrit, Tibetan, Chinese.
- Tibetan-Mongolian Rare Books & Manuscripts ProjectRare Tibetan and Mongolian books in the University Library, Cambridge, the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library in London, with focus on the collection acquired during the Younghusband Mission to Tibet in 1903–1904.
- Tibetan Literary EncyclopediaPart of the Tibetan and Himalayan Library, offers title search and some full-text search of Kangyur/Tengyur.
- Yogācārabhūmi Database 《瑜伽師地論》資料庫Database of Chinese, Sanskrit, and Tibetan editions of the Yogācārabhūmi and related texts.
