Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesBuddhism and Asian religions: Find scholarship
This guide is intended to help students, faculty, and researchers locate and access sources and reference tools for the study of Buddhism and other Asian religions.
General searching
The Articles+ function of SearchWorks is a good place to start for full-text searching across Stanford Libraries' catalogs, but it does not yet include all databases. Below are some additional recommended databases.
- JSTOR - scholarly journals in the humanities
- ATLA Religion database with ATLASerials PLUS - journals and serials related to religious studies
- China Academic Journals - Chinese-language journals
- Duxiu - Chinese-language journal full-text search
- CiNii Articles - Japanese-language journals
Bibliographies and other research guides
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesComprehensive bibliography for Asian studies.
- Bibliography of Buddhist Studies BibliographiesBy Prof. Marcus Bingenheimer.
- Bibliography of Chinese popular religion (1995 to present)Prof. Philip Clart's bibliography of studies in Chinese popular religion.
- Bibliography of Chinese Science and MedicineCompiled by Prof. Nathan Sivin, includes many sources on Chinese religions.
- Bibliography of Translations from the Chinese Buddhist CanonWorking bibliography of translations of Chinese Buddhist texts mainly from the Taishō edition of the canon, compiled by Prof. Marcus Bingenheimer.
- Bibliography on ConfucianismBibliography of Confucianism compiled by Thomas A. Wilson.
- Bon BibliographyBibliography of sources on the Bön religion of Tibet.
- Byara databaseByara is a searchable journal database that includes over 12,000 bibliographic entries of articles from journals, books, and proceedings published in Tibetan language in the PRC.
- Chinese religious culture: A research guideProf. Barendt ter Haar's comprehensive guide to the study of Chinese religion.
- Confucian Traditions BibliographyBibliography of Confucian traditions, compiled by Joseph Adler.
- Database of Modern Chinese BuddhismA collaborative gathering of information related to Buddhism in China between 1850 and 1950 CE.
- Digital Catalogue of Chinese BuddhismA catalogue of Chinese-language Buddhist publications from 1860 to 1949, compiled and edited by Gregory Adam Scott.
- Digital Library of Buddhist StudiesCollection of Buddhist bibliographies featuring over 87,000 full-text articles in 45 languages.
- East Asian Buddhist Studies: A reference guideAn exhaustive guide to the study of East Asian Buddhism compiled by Robert Buswell and William Bodiford.
- H-Buddhism Bibliographical DatabaseA comprehensive, open, online bibliography for the field of Buddhist studies, managed by H-Buddhism, the online network of scholars of Buddhism.
- INBUDS databaseSearch for articles on India and Buddhism published in Japan.
- Korean History: A BibliographyDetailed bibliography compiled by Kenneth R. Robinson that includes resources on Buddhism and other religious traditions.
- Oxford BibliographiesPeer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on a number of topics, including Buddhism, Daoism, Confucianism, and other traditions.
- Tibetan & Himalayan Library bibliographiesBibliographies on a number of subjects related to Tibetan studies.
- TibSkrit bibliography (.docx file)Extensive bibliography for Tibetan philology.
