Stanford University, Asian American Activities Center, records, circa 1970-2018

Collection contains correspondence, memoranda, minutes, proposals, course materials, financial records, clippings, subject files, publications, audiovisual recordings, and other records pertaining to administrative matters of the Center, student groups sponsored by the Center, including the Asian American Students' Association, and courses in Asian American studies. Subject files pertain to Asian American mental health and the media. There are also newsletters, memoranda, and email of the Asian Staff Forum, 1986-1996. Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

Content includes:

• Stanford Asians

Documentary film about the history of Asians and Asian Americans at Stanford University.

• Asian American Students' Association : 40 Years of Building Community

Audio recording from the panel discussion “Asian American Student Association: 40 Years of Building Community,” Oct. 24, 2009; speakers on the 2009 panel were Nelson Ngai, Bianca Ling, Linda Tran, and Richard Suh who participated in the 1989 Takeover of the Presidents office.

• Origins part 1 and part 2

Video recordings of a panel discussion with Asian American Stanford alums at the Okada House, Oct. 25, 2009. The meeting was part of a project to collect and preserve the history and memories of Asian American alums.

• A Grain of Sand : the Stanford Asian American Process Through Radio, tape 1

Audio recordings of the Asian American student radio show "A Grain of Sand," covering different aspects of Asian American life, including stereotypes in the media, issues of identity, interracial dating and marriage, literature, and Stanford student life. More recordings can be found in SearchWorks.

Stanford University, news and publication service, audiovisual recordings, 1936-2011

The materials consist of audio and video recordings done by the News and Publication Service. Audio-visual materials are generally not available in original format, and must be reformatted to a digital use copy. Collection can also be searched through the Online Archive of California. Much of the collection has already been reformatted by the Stanford Media Preservation Laboratory, Stanford Libraries, and is accessible online.

Content related to the Asian and Asian American community at Stanford University includes: 

• InterChange: Gordon Chang, 1996

Gordon Chang, professor of history, discusses his research into the history of Asian Americans in the 20th Century with Douglas Foster of the Stanford News Service. They discuss his new book, "Morning Glory, Evening Shadow", a biography Yamato Ichihashi, a Japanese-American professor at Stanford who was sent to internment camps during World War II.

Stanford Historical Society program recordings, 1997-2014

Audio and video tapes of annual meetings and public presentations on various topics in Stanford's history.

Content includes:

The presence of persons of Asian ancestry has been at Stanford since its earliest days. Professor Gordon Chang presents how Asian American students, staff, and faculty have played an important role in the life of the University.