The Handbook of Research on Social Justice and Equity in Education highlights cross-cultural perspectives, challenges, and opportunities pertaining to promoting cultural competence, equity, and social justice in education. It also explores multiple concepts of building a bridge from a monocultural pedagogical framework to cross-cultural knowledge.

This benchmark 6-volume set documents, analyzes, and critiques a comprehensive body of research on the history of multicultural education in the U.S. The volumes reflect the tenets of multicultural education, its history, its present, and individuals whose work has contributed significantly to equity and social justice for all citizens.

Since its first edition, this handbook has evaluated the methodologies and suggested the best practice to develop effective programs aimed at facilitating cross-cultural dialogue and boosting the economic developments of the countries mostly affected by migration. This handbook builds and expands on the previous editions by presenting the rational and scientific foundations of intercultural training and focuses on unique approaches, theories, and areas of the world. In doing so, it gives students, managers, and other professionals undertaking international assignments a theoretical foundation and practical suggestions for improving intercultural training programs.

The Handbook of Research on Bilingual and Intercultural Education is an essential scholarly publication that provides comprehensive empirical research on bilingual and intercultural processes in an educational context. Featuring a range of topics such as education policy, language resources, and teacher education...

The Handbook of Research on Diversity and Social Justice in Higher Education examines cross-cultural perspectives, challenges, and opportunities pertaining to advancing diversity and social justice in higher education. Furthermore, the book explores multiple concepts of building a bridge from a monocultural pedagogical framework to cross-cultural knowledge through appropriate diversity education models as well as effective social justice practices.

The Handbook of Research on Cultivating Literacy in Diverse and Multilingual Classrooms explores the multifaceted nature of literacy development across the lifespan in a range of multilingual contexts. Recognizing that literacy instruction in contemporary language classrooms serving diverse student populations must go beyond developing reading and writing abilities, this book sets out to explore a wide range of literacy dimensions.

This handbook for educators and researchers consists of an unparalleled set of conceptual essays and empirical studies that advance new perspectives and build empirical ground on multicultural education issues from 10 different selected societies in Asia Pacific. This unique, edited book will be a solid resource particularly for graduate students, educators, and researchers involved in multicultural education, given its multiple balances in terms of 1) conceptual essays, empirical studies, and practical implications; 2) contributions from emerging scholars, established scholars, and leading scholars in the field; and 3) comprehensive coverage of key subareas in multicultural education.

This handbook presents a state-of-the-art overview of dual language bilingual education (DLBE) research, programs, pedagogy, and practice. Organized around four sections--theoretical foundations; key issues and trends; school-based practices; and teacher and administrator preparation--the volume comprehensively addresses major and emerging topics in the field.

The Handbook of Research on Race, Culture, and Student Achievement highlights cross-cultural perspectives, challenges, and opportunities of providing equitable educational opportunities for marginalized students and improving student achievement. Additionally, it examines how race and culture impact student achievement in an effort to promote cultural competence, equity, inclusion, and social justice in education.

The Handbook of Research on Teaching in Multicultural and Multilingual Contexts moves beyond the constraints of current language ideologies and enables the use of a wide range of resources from local semiotic repertoires. It examines the phenomenon of language use, language teaching, multiculturalism, and multilingualism in different learning areas, giving practitioners a voice to spotlight their efforts in order to keep their teaching afloat in culturally and linguistically diverse situations. Covering topics such as Indigenous languages, multilingual deaf communities, and intercultural competence...