Transformative Intercultural Global Education is a project aimed at shedding light on educational inequalities stemming from race, migration, forced displacement, and cultural factors. Through innovative empirical results, theoretical frameworks, and educational practices, this book seeks to contribute to quality education and, subsequently, a more sustainable society. The objective is to provide educators with proposals that strengthen educational policies and programs aligned with global citizenship, fostering sensitivity, critical thinking, and commitment towards respectful and tolerant coexistence. The research outcomes are designed to encourage actions that promote equity, social justice, and the sustainable development of a global society.

Addressing Issues of Learner Diversity in English Language Education recognizes that traditional, one-size-fits-all approaches to language education are insufficient in meeting the needs of a varied and global learner population. It grapples with effectively teaching English to individuals with diverse linguistic backgrounds, learning styles, and cultural contexts. The challenges range from learner autonomy and motivation issues to navigating mixed-level classes and integrating technology into language teaching.

This inspirational book provides a concrete model of why university-district partnerships are essential to preparing justice-focused school leaders, and how these partnerships can thrive. Readers will find details of one such partnership, Leadership Education for Anaheim Districts (LEAD), which incorporated high-impact practices for equity, self-knowledge, and system change.

This book presents the stories of educators who through digital storytelling inspire students from diverse communities to construct their empowering digital narratives. Educators from a wide range of disciplines present innovative case studies of teaching digital storytelling through the lens of personal narratives, metaliteracy, and information literacy.

Representation, Inclusion and Social Justice in World Language Teaching fills the gap in the existing body of research, ensuring that a social justice perspective is included in the World Language curriculum.

Today's educators are aware of the need for social emotional learning in their classroom and can share the tenets of a culturally responsive pedagogy. However, what they lack is the practical strategies for implementation of these pivotal classroom practices. Pursuing Practical Change: Lesson Designs That Promote Culturally Responsive Teaching is an answer to this need!

Antiracist Research on K-12 Education and Teacher Preparation: Policy Making, Pedagogy, Curriculum, and Practices provides current research on anti-racist education in teacher education and K-12 education. This book intends to engage teachers and educators in general to discuss diversity topics such as racism and how to react in the larger picture of teaching in K-12 and in higher education with a focus on teacher preparation.

Drawing from their experiences leading the educational-equity agenda for the nation's largest school district, the authors present their model for practical, outcome-oriented antiracist leadership.

Partnering with Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Families in Special Education is a collaborative work with families that includes the author's personal reflection at the end of each narrative, as well as guiding questions to continue the conversation, either as a sole reader or with a cohort.

This book provides precise definitions and concrete examples to demonstrate how antiracist pedagogy is a way of teaching and learning that engages past failures of American democracy in order to inspire students to take action toward fulfilling the promise of American democracy.

In this collection of articles, Geneva Gay invites readers to make educational equity and excellence for all students a reality, not just an ethic or an ideal. Through teaching narratives and pragmatic examples, Gay illustrates that a combination of ideology, ethics, personal commitment, and praxis on the part of educators is essential to achieving equity for underachieving racial and ethnic minority students. The text is organized into three themes: Identity (how the identities and behaviors of educators are influenced by their membership in ethnic and cultural groups); Ideology (how the beliefs, attitudes, and expectations of educators shape their behaviors and instruction); and Action (suggestions for equitable teaching, classroom management, curriculum development, and teacher preparation).

Embracing Diversity is about the craft of teaching, with a particular focus on celebrating the myriad of human identities through classic, contemporary, and unconventional texts. Experienced secondary English language arts educators narrate their own experiences and provide insights through reflecting upon aspects of everyday pedagogy.

This popular book focuses on the leader's role in initiating and sustaining anti-bias education in programs for young children and their families. This second edition emphasizes how the journey requires thoughtful, strategic, long-term planning that addresses all components of an early childhood care and education program.

Grounded in critical race feminism, this book explores mindfulness as an empowering approach in multicultural education. The author explores how learners of multicultural education--by (re)centering the body through mindfulness with concrete strategies and scaffolded practice--can be empowered to handle the activated emotions and deep self-inquiry that come with the work of social justice, liberation, and anti-racism.

A practical guide for teachers seeking to use multicultural literature in the early grades.

This book provides a comprehensive exploration of critical topics in multicultural special education. Filled with case studies, objectives, and summaries to support deeper learning, the chapters discuss privilege and power in K-12 school systems, effective and differentiated instruction, culturally competent IEPs and transition plans, and appropriate assessment.

Using their unique insights and life experiences as Latina superintendents, the authors of Now What? Confronting Uncomfortable Truths About Inequity in Schools present a guide to navigating barriers, managing differences, and creating an actionable equity plan.

Using research from a newcomer school located in New York City, the author explores the everyday lives of nine immigrant students outside of school, showing that youth are not simply waiting for school reforms. Their educational lives are not bound to institutional spaces or the logics of schooling. Instead, youth routinely take up educational practices that are intellectually rigorous, joyous, resilient, and fulfilling.

This book challenges pre-service and in-service educators to reflect critically on their assumptions and engage in praxis promoting racial and social equity. Grounded in policy contexts, historical understandings, and critical theories, this book describes innovative community-engaged approaches to resisting racism and promoting equity and features reflections and personal narratives from partners in change--including on-the-ground activists, voices from younger and older generations, educators, and first-time writers.

This groundbreaking text provides practical, contextualized methods for teaching and discussing topics that are considered "taboo" in the classroom in ways that support students' lived experiences. In times when teachers are scapegoated for adopting culturally sustaining teaching practices and are pressured to "whitewash" the curriculum, it becomes more challenging to create an environment where students and teachers can have conversations about complex, uncomfortable topics in the classroom. With contributions from scholars and K-12 teachers who have used young adult literature to engage with their students, chapters confront this issue and focus on themes such as multilingualism, culturally responsive teaching, dis/ability, racism, linguicism, and gender identity.

This Element provides an overview of research focusing on language teaching practices for young multilingual learners in primary classrooms in English-speaking contexts. The term 'young multilingual learner' refers to primary school children, with ages ranging from approximately 5 to 12 years old at various English language proficiency levels. Pedagogy-informed research studies conducted in K-5 classrooms are used to develop research-informed pedagogies for young multilingual learners in primary classrooms. The authors use the notion of culturally sustaining teaching practices to provide examples from pedagogy-informed research studies.

Unique longitudinal study approach to highlighting immigrant students and their families experience in schooling.

Now more than ever, we need to teach the truth about history. This volume assembles a team of critical social studies Scholars of Color and co-conspirators who share both their nightmares and dreams for the future. The authors engage critical race theory (CRT) and its many branches and offshoots to better understand the permanence of racism in the teaching of social studies.

Disciplinary Literacy as a Support for Culturally and Linguistically Responsive Teaching and Learning develops a conceptual framework and pedagogical support for disciplinary literacy practices related to culturally and linguistically responsive teaching and learning. It presents a variety of research and practice protocols supporting student success through explored connections between disciplinary literacy and inclusive pedagogical practices.

The Meaning of Multiraciality: A Racially Queer Exploration of Multiracial College Students' Identity Production provides a comprehensive overview of Multiraciality as a term, experience, and identity using data from a study of Multiracial college students and well as the author's own experiences as a Multiracial person. Utilizing a racially queer framework, they discuss what it means to be a Multiracial insider (being a Multiracial researcher studying Multiracial study participants), the counter-stories of Multiracial college students, the theorizing that has emerged as a result, and the educational consequences and impacts on Mulitracial students overall.

Race Resilience offers guidance to educators who are ready to rethink, review, and redesign their support systems and foster the building blocks of resiliency for staff.

This timely book examines how fascist ideology has taken hold among certain segments of American society and how this can be addressed in curriculum and instruction. Vavrus presents middle, secondary, and college educators and their students with a conceptual framework for enacting a critical multicultural pedagogy by analyzing discriminatory discourse and recommending civic anti-fascist steps people can take right now.

The Wiley Handbook of Collaborative Online Learning and Global Engagement is designed to help educators develop and conduct high-impact, globally-connected courses across the humanities, the fine arts, and the social and natural sciences. This comprehensive guide covers collaborative practices, course design variables, student learning approaches, logistical planning, and more. An international team of contributors from diverse geographic, cultural, and academic backgrounds offer insight into enhancing pedagogical practice, coordinating study abroad experiences, and promoting both students' and faculty's global competencies.

Today's students use their digital expertise and the power of their voice to respond to issues of inequity in society. It is essential that teacher educators develop their own racial literacies and those of their preservice and classroom teachers to support student digital activism. From talking about race and racism to resisting the harmful narratives that circulate online but impact face-to-face interactions in the classroom, teacher educators must navigate sociotechnical spaces with a critical lens and develop strategies to help their preservice teachers do the same.

What are some lessons learned from the pandemic? We learned that, in times of crises, the humanitarian needs of students, families, and ourselves must be a top priority. We learned that forming effective partnerships with families and communities is essential to the health and well-being of our children. We were offered a blunt reminder that a system designed to serve the interests of a privileged few was destined to fail our historically underserved students, especially our millions of multilingual learners. Above all, we learned that the "normal" many of us have yearned for was never good enough--that we must envision a "better world," where we build on our multilingual students' unique assets and cultivate their inner brilliance. Only then will we deliver on their promise. It's this "better world," a world in which communities, schools, and classrooms work together as a "whole-child ecosystem," Beyond Crises: Overcoming Linguistic and Cultural Inequities in Communities, Schools, and Classrooms sets out to create.

Challenges to Integrating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Programs in Organizations shares the challenges and opportunities faced by diversity, equity, and inclusion officers who are leading their organizations to becoming more diverse, equitable, and inclusive working environments, featuring research on topics such as institutional equity, organizational culture, and diverse workplace.

Evolving Multicultural Education for Global Classrooms addresses multicultural education from a comprehensive viewpoint that acknowledges the historical benefit of multicultural education and recognizes a need to inform the discipline with a broader viewpoint. As most knowledge on multicultural education comes from a Western perspective and the scholarship on the topic is weakening, the chapters in this book present new practices and classroom applications that are internationally transferable. Topics covered include teacher education, social justice, educational equity and inclusion, online education, and cultural sensitivities.

Exploring White Fragility uses both existing research and anecdotal classroom observations to examine the effects whiteness studies is having on America's schools, and investigates how the antiracist movement to dismantle "white supremacy culture" is impacting student and teacher morale and expectations, school discipline, and overall academic achievement.

This volume explores the professional experiences of a vast array of educators through a series of research essays that focus on the interplay of gender, race, class, and sexualities as well as how these dynamics influence the educators' teaching. The volume illuminates this interplay not only in traditional classroom settings, but also in non-traditional contexts such as prisons and juvenile detention facilities, family education, dual-language immersion programs, early childhood education, and higher education, including teacher training programs.

Contemporary Issues in Multicultural and Global Education discusses research, strategies, best practices, and insights dealing with important issues related to multicultural and global education. Covering topics such as remote learning and sustainable leadership...

The Handbook of Research on Multilingual and Multicultural Perspectives on Higher Education and Implications for Teaching focuses on both top-down and bottom-up perspectives on multilingual and multicultural education based on conceptual and empirical studies. This book provides evidence in support of sustainable multilingualism and multiculturalism in higher education, covering topics such as dialectic teaching, multilingual classrooms, and teacher education.

The Handbook of Research on Promoting Social Justice for Immigrants and Refugees Through Active Citizenship and Intercultural Education provides visibility to issues such as the increase in migration and displacement and the difficulties in political agreements, educational contexts, and in cultural issues, stigmatization, vulnerability, social exclusion, racism, and hatred amongst host communities. This book gives possible solutions to this current complex situation and helps foster and promote sensitivity, perspective, and critical thinking for a respectful and tolerant coexistence and promotion of equity and social justice. The chapters promote cultural diversity and inclusion in classrooms by offering knowledge, strategies, and research on organizational development for educational institutions and multicultural environments.

Ticknor, Howard, and Overstreet offer educators insights into the how-tos of culturally responsive pedagogy. They build on their experiences and research of CRP to offer vignettes of literacy instruction that may be common in K-12 classrooms. These examples are offered as a way to situate how teachers may use research based and effective literacy practices while ignoring the identities and experiences of their students. Then disrupt the vignettes using theories and concepts presented in the chapter to make visible how each practice could be reimagined to integrate more culturally responsive strategies.

This book explores the question of how equitable and inclusive education can be implemented in heterogeneous classes where learners' languages and cultures reflect the social reality of mass migration and everyday plurilingualism. The book brings together researchers and practitioners working in inclusive teaching and learning in a variety of migration contexts from pre-school to university.

Multiculturalism Still Matters in Education and Society: Responding to Changing Times urges us to collaborate, consult, and cooperate for our common good. It rightly emphasizes that multiculturalism will always matter in whatever we do in our complex world. In addition, it challenges us to continue to see differences as strengths that must be valued in dealing with our students, educational professionals, leaders, and communities. Finally, this book inspires us to expand our discourses, create avenues for "hearty" conversations, look for ways to make invisible voices visible, and help culturally and linguistically diverse (CLD) and vulnerable populations to maximize their fullest potential.

This book examines common challenges that arise for educators teaching social justice and diversity-related courses and offers best practices for addressing them. Contributors cover issues such as the many roles instructors play, inside and outside of college and university classrooms, for example, in handling personal threats, responsibly incorporating current events related to social justice into classroom discussion, navigating one's own stigmatized or privileged identities, dealing with bias in teaching evaluations, and engaging in self-care.

School Leadership in a Diverse Society: Helping Schools Prepare all Students for Success (2nd Edition) will help scholars and practitioners have a better understanding of the increasing amount of diversity that is occurring in American society. This book will give them the tools needed to lead schools to ensure that all students, regardless of their life circumstances and status, are provided a school experience that promotes high academic achievement and a sense of belonging.

"This essential text unpacks major transformations in the study of learning and human development and provides evidence for how science can inform innovation in the design of settings, policies, practice, and research to enhance the life path, opportunity and prosperity of every child. The ideas presented provide researchers and educators with a rationale for focusing on the specific pathways and developmental patterns that may lead a specific child, with a specific family, school, and community, to prosper in school and in life."

Connecting cultures to educational settings is an essential component of critical pedagogy. This book addresses many of the key issues and challenges in decolonizing the African school curriculum. It highlights important philosophical arguments on the challenges and possibilities of achieving these goals in a meaningful manner.

An in-depth account and model of antiracist professional development for white practicing teachers.

At a time of growing evidence of racism across many countries and cultures, Creating an Anti-Racist Culture in the Early Years will help those working with young children recognise racism, name it for what it is and help their young pupils understand that difference is nothing to be feared.

According to veteran educator Vernita Mayfield, teachers and school leaders need to learn how to recognize culturally embedded narratives about racial hierarchy and dismantle the systems of privilege and the institutions that perpetuate them with knowledge, action, and advocacy. Cultural Competence Now provides a structure to begin meaningful conversations about race, culture, bias, privilege, and power within the time constraints of an ordinary school.

Culturally Responsive Teaching and Learning in Higher Education provides comprehensive research on culturally responsive teaching and the impact of culture on teaching and contextualizes issues related to cultural diversity and inequity in education.

Designing Culturally Competent Programming for PK-20 Classrooms is a comprehensive research publication that explores strategies and best practices for designing culturally competent curricula and serves as a courier for stakeholders fostering inclusive and forward-thinking opportunities in PK-20 classrooms, highlighting a wide range of topics such as ethics, leadership, and organizational development.

In pieces both poignant and personal, Banks shares some of his most groundbreaking and innovative work. Diversity, Transformative Knowledge, and Civic Education aims to unpack the "citizenship-education dilemma," whereby education programs strive to teach students democratic ideals and values within social, economic, political, and educational contexts that contradict justice, equality, and human rights.

Empowering Multiculturalism and Peacebuilding in Schools provides comprehensive research on peacebuilding and multiculturalism in terms of educational organizations as well as the skills that need to be taught to students in order to promote peaceful interaction and inclusivity. Featuring a wide range of topics such as cyberbullying, restorative instruction, and intercultural education...

Implementing Culturally Responsive Practices in Education looks to increase educators' knowledge and skillsets to obtain a better understanding of working with students from different cultural, linguistic, and economic backgrounds.

International Perspectives on Modern Developments in Early Childhood Education identifies ways of intertwining key areas of early childhood education, including international approaches, intercultural education, bilingual/plurilingual education, and the role of play and toys as means for meaningful intercultural and multilingual learning.

This volume builds upon emergent understandings about educational leadership and policy in hopes of continuing to refine our understanding of what effective leadership means in linguistically and culturally diverse school contexts. The volume seeks to entrench a deeper understanding of the broader leadership policies and practices that promote the success of linguistically and culturally diverse students, while also recognizing that effective leadership can be highly dependent on context.

This book provides educational stakeholders with culturally relevant and affirming techniques for utilizing multicultural literature as a pedagogical tool in social studies, mathematics, science, and reading.

Bringing together an inspirational group of educators, this book provides key insights into what it means to implement social justice ideals with young children.

"In this collection, Canadian scholars articulate a response to their collective concerns about the impact of global policy on teacher education, provoking a far-reaching dialogue about teacher education in and for our times."

Suddenly Diverse is an ethnographic account of two school districts in the Midwest responding to rapidly changing demographics at their schools. It is based on observations and in-depth interviews with school board members and superintendents, as well as staff, community members, and other stakeholders in each district: one serving "Lakeside," a predominately working class, conservative community and the other serving "Fairview," a more affluent, liberal community.

The chapters are grouped according to six different themes: respect for divergent learning styles; inclusion and exclusion; technology and social action; affective considerations; reflection for critical consciousness; and safe spaces and resistance.

In Unconscious Bias in Schools, two seasoned educators describe the phenomenon of unconscious racial bias and how it negatively affects the work of educators and students in schools. In order to address this bias, the authors argue, educators must first be aware of the racialized context in which we live. Through personal anecdotes and real-life scenarios, Unconscious Bias in Schools provides education leaders with an essential roadmap for addressing these issues directly.