Guides
Wayfinders for our collections, tools, and servicesMap collections and resources: Show and tell
Show and tell
Introduction
We have many people, both those affiliated and not affiliated with Stanford, using our map and GIS data collections and external resources in dynamic ways, and we are excited to show and tell these projects here.
If you have completed a relevant project to share here, please let us know!
StoryMaps
The following StoryMaps have been created by Stanford affiliates and/or using our map, GIS data, or special collections:
- Conrad Collection: Maps, Charts, & Drawings from Eighteenth- to Nineteenth-Century NetherlandsJulia Leal, Stanford University undergraduate and maps assistant
- Distorted for Accuracy: Early Modern Maps of Urban OsakaYuki Hoshino, Stanford University undergraduate
- Journey of a SeabeeHoover Institution Library & Archives staff
- Language Access Tools for California ElectionsGarrett Jensen and Ali Bloomgarden, Stanford University graduates
- The Merchant's Path: Venice to IstanbulShannon Gifford, Stanford University undergraduate
- Modeling Mesoamerica: Origins and Originality in a Teaching CollectionList of Stanford University students and services involved with this project can be found at the end of the StoryMap
Geospatial Manager Stace Maples teaches EARTHSYS 144: Fundamentals of Geographic Information Science (GIS), which provides an overview of current approaches to the use of spatial data and its creation, capture, management, analysis and presentation in a research context.
For their final projects, the students can use StoryMaps to present their spatial data, analysis, and narrative. Here's what happens:
Fall 2020
- "Being the Fire"Will Ross
- Cultivars of the Stanford FarmHannah Shabb
- An Exploration of Wildfires and COVID-19 FatalityChloe Peterson-Nafziger
- Irrigation Development in Bolivia & Ecosystem ServicesCesar Augusto Lopez
- More Income, Higher Education?Matthew Jumamoy
- Oregon Gray Wolves: Habitat Suitability And RisksDuncan Coleman
- Power Plants and PeopleConner Geery
- A Toad's RoadChristopher Jackson
