"In 2013, the Stanford University Libraries acquired the photographic archive, including copyright, of activist photographer Bob Fitch of Watsonville, California. Fitch is best known for his work that captured iconic images of major figures of the Civil Rights Movement and peace and social justice movements, such as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Cesar Chavez, and Dorothy Day."
"The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston have embarked on a project to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years: The American Archive of Public Broadcasting. The American people have made a huge investment in public radio and television over many decades, calculated at more than $10 billion. The American Archive will ensure that this rich source for American political, social, and cultural history and creativity will be saved and made available once again to future generations."
Search the comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Early American newspapers, series I, 1690-1876, and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838, House and Senate journals, series I, 1789-1817, Senate executive journals, series I, 1789-1866 and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980
C19 indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919. Collections expand with each release of the database. You may search the entire index and thus all the resources contained within it, or limit your search to one of the individual resources included in the database.
"Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders form the mainstay of this corpus. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art."--'About the database' page.
This first release of Early Encounters in North America (EENA) contains approximately 10,250 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
Collection of "primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II." Topics covered include the administration of refugee camps across Europe including England, Germany, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia; displaced Persons Assembly Centre reports; Jewish Relief Unit field reports; British Military Government in Germany; Belsen DP Camp; Maclean Mission in Italy; Politics of the Refugee Crisis; and, strengthening of the Zionist cause.
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
This digital collection from the Wiener Library in London offers searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, small publications and rare serials reflecting Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war, life in the concentration camps, in hiding, emigration and refugee life. Items are arranged in five categories: over 1,200 eyewitness accounts, about 4,000 photographs, over 400 Nazi propaganda materials (many of which are very rare), various Wiener Library publications from the 1930s to the 1960s, and the library's biographical index cards.
The Scholar's Edition includes all features of the Basic Edition that have been published since March 2004. It currently includes 72 document projects with 2,100 documents, 28,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,600 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. This edition also includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present. A future release of the Scholar's Edition will also include the full text of the complete five volumes of Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, available for the first time in electronic form.