Introduction to Islamic Art History: Find background information on your artist
Electronic resources for the study of Islamic art and architecture geared for an introductory course.
Reference works online: Bibliographies, encyclopedias, websites and more
- ArchNetAn online community for architects and scholars with a special focus on the Islamic world. It features a digital library with photographs, plans and descriptions of hundreds of buildings and sites, digitized journal articles, reference tools and other publications.
- Bibliography of art and architecture in the Islamic worldFollowing the tradition and style of the acclaimed Index Islamicus, the editors have created this new Bibliography of Art and Architecture in the Islamic World. The editors have surveyed and annotated a wide range of books and articles from collected volumes and journals published in all European languages (except Turkish) between 1906 and 2011. This comprehensive bibliography is an indispensable tool for everyone involved in the study of material culture in Muslim societies.
- Digital Library of the Middle EastThe Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world.
- Encyclopedia of IslamThe Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century and of Muslim minorities all over the world. - publisher website.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and ArchitectureAll entries on Islamic art and architecture from the Grove Dictionary of Art, updated and collected in a 3-vol. illustrated reference work.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistorySearching under "islamic art", discover essays and paired art objects from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Covers all periods of art.
- Index IslamicusIndexes articles on Islamic subjects in Western languages published since 1906. After 1976, Index Islamicus began indexing monographs as well as articles. Book reviews have been included since 1993.
- Khamseen: Islamic Art History OnlineContains multimedia content on Islamic art.
- Oxford Art OnlineGreat starting point for finding essays, bibliographies, links to images.
- Oxford bibliographies. Islamic studiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Guide to Research in Islamic Art and ArchitectureFor more information, consult this very comprehensive guide from Harvard.
- Edinburgh Studies in Islamic ArtBrowse the titles in this series to discover current scholarship in this field.
- Discover Islamic Art from the Museum with No FrontiersObjects and monuments from 14 contributing museums. Includes adatabase, virtual exhibitions, short essays, dynastic overviews.
