The singer-songwriter, someone who writes and performs their own music, is an ever-present and increasingly complex figure in popular music worlds. The Singer-Songwriter Handbook provides a useful resource for student songwriters, active musicians, fans and scholars alike.

Monetizing Entertainment: An Insider's Handbook for Careers in the Entertainment & Music Industry offers a thorough, guided exploration of the current state of the industry, with an emphasis on trends in copyright, digital streaming, and practical advice for developing a career as an artist, technician, or industry executive. This book investigates a variety of topics within the entertainment and music industry, ranging from traditional and emerging business models to intellectual property rights to the creative destruction happening currently.

Has a commercial ever brought you to tears? Has a movie ever inspired you so much you change your way of life? Has the series finale of a television show ever broken your heart? Has a video game ever altered your perception of reality? If you're like most consumers, you answered 'yes' to at least one of those questions. Whether you remember it or not, the music of that ad, film, show or game probably played a big role in influencing your emotional response during that experience. In fact, music is included in media specifically for the purpose of connecting with audiences on a deeper level that visuals alone cannot access. A strong music strategy is fundamental to the success of television, film, brands and video games. Because of higher expectations for audiovisual content, it will take more than clever animation or a celebrity cameo to connect with consumers in an authentic, organic way. By providing audiences with a genuine music experience, whether with an exclusive song through an artist partnership or by featuring new music from an emerging band, you can build a bond that extends far beyond product experience. Music touches us emotionally in a way that words seldom do. We feel it - we remember it. In Return of The Hustle, a leading music and marketing industry insider discusses the diverse audio touchpoints for four key industries and shows how marketers, storytellers, and advertisers can use music to effectively guide audiences along the customer journey from passive consumers to brand advocates. Return of The Hustle provides readers with a blueprint for music strategy that professionals at any level in any industry can use to attract consumers, immerse them into the content, and extend relationships between them and the brand long after the commercial ends or the credits roll. With detailed case studies, exhaustive interviews, and thorough research, Return of the Hustle gives readers the playbook to use the marketing power of music to drive business results.

Can you really be an artist and a businessperson at the same time? Aspiring musicians have been asking this for ages, but in a new world of interconnectivity, the answers are closer than ever before. Jennifer Rosenfeld and Julia Torgovitskaya, founders of iCadenza and Cadenza Artists, are here to share the lessons of their music career coaching business and talent agency with you and help you awaken your business brain. Artists receive a lot of misconceptions about the business side of art: that focusing too much on self-marketing is detrimental to your artistic growth, or that making sacrifices for a big contract is "selling out." Along the way, musicians are taught that they can be an artist or a businessperson, but not both. Jennifer and Julia say that not only is it possible to be both, it's essential for survival in today's music world. Through career guidance and personal wisdom, Awakening Your Business Brain will show you how you can foster a successful music career without sacrificing your dedication to artistry. Jennifer and Julia demystify the music business in a compassionate and encouraging book that is a must-read for any aspiring musician.

With the evolution of the music business and the shifting influence of large record labels, the artist manager is now - more than ever - at the center of an artist's career. Artist managers are tasked with keeping abreast of the music industry and supporting the artists under their management while simultaneously managing their own careers. Including key industry insights, exclusive planning guidance, management tools, and strategies for a successful career, Artist Management for the Music Businesshas the tools to support any new or experienced artist manager. Through its analysis of over a dozen case studies, lessons, and contract examples, author Paul Allen provides a focused look at managing artists' careers. This follow-up to the best-selling second edition features a new chapter on entrepreneurship including detailed information on how to run an artist management enterprise as a business and includes coverage of anticipating risks, reacting to challenges, and basic money management. The chapter also contains additional sections on the effective use of social media, the Web, and handling online promotion. For additional resources, visit the book's website at www.artistmanagementonline.com.

Understanding the Music Business offers students a current overview of the music business. Going beyond what most music business texts offer, Weismann delivers a contemporary approach that addresses the unanswered questions for today's music students, such as, "Is it really possible to make a living as musician?" Understanding the Music Business covers the basics in the first part of the text. This first section deals with the fundamentals of the industry, including recording, music publishing, agents, managers, radio and television, unions, the internet and new technology, and regional and international music markets. However, it is the second half of the text that breaks new ground by covering the career paths of new artists in the industry, the development and need for entrepreneurial skills, and the ways that individuals forge careers in the industry.